Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th July 2012, 23:43   #1  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Encoding lagarith from the commandline

Could somebody suggest a 64bit compatible way of encoding a file to lagarith from the command line?

Like ffmpeg would be good, but it doesn't encode, it only decodes.
Preferably an exe/bat file (and not scripts or avisynth)
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2012, 18:51   #2  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,494
why do you need lagarith?
ffv1 offers similar compression efficiency and it is available in ffmpeg
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2012, 18:59   #3  |  Link
SassBot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Maybe because Lagarith is faster to decode than FFV1?
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2012, 20:38   #4  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
why do you need lagarith?
ffv1 offers similar compression efficiency and it is available in ffmpeg

Does it compress as good? I've heard lagarith is a far better.

However I also need something with a directshow codec (that works on 64 bit Windows 7) - lagarith has that, does ffv1?
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2012, 20:39   #5  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by SassBot View Post
Maybe because Lagarith is faster to decode than FFV1?
That too
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2012, 23:31   #6  |  Link
spawnbsd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foofaraw View Post
Does it compress as good? I've heard lagarith is a far better.
No, using FFV1 with arithmetic coding (-coder ac) is much better compression than Lagarith; though as mentioned the decode speed is far worse.
spawnbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 00:58   #7  |  Link
mastrboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 288
One way i can think of is saving virtual dub processing settings and loading them via the command line for vdub.exe, but can't say for sure this will work with 64bit though... And virtualdub can't save/encode to any other container than avi, so a remux would be needed later if that is not your wanted container.
mastrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 03:12   #8  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnbsd View Post
No, using FFV1 with arithmetic coding (-coder ac) is much better compression than Lagarith; though as mentioned the decode speed is far worse.
Ok, might try it if there is a directshow interface.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mastrboy View Post
One way i can think of is saving virtual dub processing settings and loading them via the command line for vdub.exe, but can't say for sure this will work with 64bit though... And virtualdub can't save/encode to any other container than avi, so a remux would be needed later if that is not your wanted container.
Yeah, that seems to work. And avi is fine for now
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 03:20   #9  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Btw, for those who know: Can FFV1 be destructive depending on arguments, or is it always lossless ?
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 10:01   #10  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,494
ffv1 is lossless obviously. it is also available via ffdshow (encoder and decoder)
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 17:00   #11  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
ffv1 is lossless obviously.
Huffy is obviously lossless, but has a setting that can make it lossy. So there is nothing obvious about anything. Especially since there seems to be 50 different settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
it is also available via ffdshow (encoder and decoder)
Indeed, and its output crashes Media Player Classic.
But the files do seem small
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 17:44   #12  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,494
Quote:
So there is nothing obvious about anything. Especially since there seems to be 50 different settings
where do you see those 50 different settings??? Lossless is lossless. Period.


Quote:
Indeed, and its output crashes Media Player Classic.
it does not crash on my machine. Tested on 1920x1080 24fps source

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 31st July 2012 at 18:03.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 17:53   #13  |  Link
SassBot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Lossless is lossless. Period.
That's easily falsified. Choose a colorspace that involves color subsampling the input and it's no longer lossless. Either way, his question had to do with if there were settings to make the codec lossy to improve compression. All you had to say was "no".
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 18:08   #14  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,494
Quote:
That's easily falsified. Choose a colorspace that involves color subsampling the input and it's no longer lossless.
most sources is already 4:2:0 so default colorspace YV12 won't hurt quality. Unless he is pro and he has access to 4:2:2 footage.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 18:10   #15  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by SassBot View Post
That's easily falsified. Choose a colorspace that involves color subsampling the input and it's no longer lossless. Either way, his question had to do with if there were settings to make the codec lossy to improve compression. All you had to say was "no".
Could you suggest to me what would be a good colorspace to use?

It supports YV12,444P,422P,411P,410P,RGB32, but I take it from your reply that none of those colorspaces use subsampling. What is the difference?

Also, for "Coder Type" spawnbsd suggested AC (VLC seems grainy) ?
"Context Model" small or large?

Also, are there resolution limits?

Last edited by Foofaraw; 31st July 2012 at 18:12.
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 18:12   #16  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,494
Quote:
Could you suggest to me what would be a good colorspace to use?
the same as source

Quote:
Also, for "Coder Type" spawnbsd suggested AC (VLC seems grainy) ?
AC offers slightly higher compression but it will be slower obviously

Quote:
"Context Model" small or large?
small is faster but large may offer higher compression. Your choice.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 31st July 2012 at 18:15.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 18:17   #17  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foofaraw View Post
Indeed, and its output crashes Media Player Classic.
Just tested: ffdshow ffvh and ffv1 are working stable.
And no crashes in MPC HC.
Somethings burked on your side.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 20:01   #18  |  Link
SassBot
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
most sources is already 4:2:0 so default colorspace YV12 won't hurt quality. Unless he is pro and he has access to 4:2:2 footage.
Not if he's using this for lossless of encoding screen capture footage or the output of a capture card that can be in YUY2. You presume his source is YV12 to begin with but that may not be the case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foofaraw View Post
Could you suggest to me what would be a good colorspace to use?

It supports YV12,444P,422P,411P,410P,RGB32, but I take it from your reply that none of those colorspaces use subsampling. What is the difference?
What is the source of your input file?

Last edited by SassBot; 31st July 2012 at 20:04.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2012, 22:09   #19  |  Link
Foofaraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Just tested: ffdshow ffvh and ffv1 are working stable.
And no crashes in MPC HC.
Somethings burked on your side.
Plays fine in Windows Media Player, VLC, VirtualDub



Quote:
Originally Posted by SassBot View Post
What is the source of your input file?
It varies. It can be 3d rendered (no settings for color space), it can be camcorder, and sometimes external sources (don't know what space they might be in)

I might add that ultra high commercial quality is not required - as long as it looks sensible on a TV via HDMI its probably fine

I tried running something through vdub and it says input was YUV420 and output became RGB888 - i couldn't really tell the difference.

Last edited by Foofaraw; 1st August 2012 at 03:19.
Foofaraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2012, 09:09   #20  |  Link
Bloax
The speed of stupid
 
Bloax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foofaraw View Post
I tried running something through vdub and it says input was YUV420 and output became RGB888 - i couldn't really tell the difference.
That's because RGB24 is a fully precise colorspace (if we're talking 8-bit anyways).

The input format (YUV420/YV12) has a halved color resolution, for example. You won't see a difference going from YV12->RGB24, but you might be able to spot the difference in RGB24->YV12.
Bloax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.