Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Programming and Hacking > Development
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10th July 2012, 20:04   #1  |  Link
sirt
x264 fan

Compile x264 on win 32

Hello,

As I am a perfect noob at compiling x264 for win32, I come with some questions to understand much more what I am doing. First of all, I get the source from there :

http://www.videolan.org/developers/x264.html

Then I save the x264 folder to C:\

I decided to follow that tutorial right there :

http://mediaretriever.blogspot.fr/20...n-windows.html

I followed it step by step and I ended with the "x264.exe" on my top x264 folder demuxed before to C:\ ; but something is unclear to me : the exe created is only 1.50 MB ! Is that normal ? I would have expected it to be 9.8 Mb like the latest one you can download from www.x264.nl ; then, what am I doing wrong ? I guess I should add some diff patches somewhere but I ignore how and from where to get them (excepted Komisar page)
sirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 20:30   #2  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer

x264 can be built-with optional libraries, such as libavcodec/libavformat and ffms2. You probably have built your binary without these, which explains why it's much smaller.

As long as you don't need the built-in libav/ffms2 support, that should be no problem at all. Otherwise you'll have to put the missing libraries in place and re-built x264. The configure script will find and enable them automatically.

BTW: If you don't want to compile those libraries yourself, Komisar provides a quite useful "libpack" for building x264
Old 10th July 2012, 20:51   #3  |  Link
sirt
x264 fan

Thanks Lord, and sorry for having posted this in the wrong place.