Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th October 2011, 17:39   #1  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,814
mencoder aac encodering (without faac) ?

Using the standard mencoder version that comes with ubuntu, faac is not included in mencoder,..

when using:
Code:
mencoder -lavdopts threads=8 -mc 0 -noskip -aid 1  -ovc frameno -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=aac:abitrate=128 -o "test__aid_1__18_11_43_591_01.aac" "test.avi"
I get the following info:
"WARNING: OUTPUT FILE FORMAT IS _AVI_. See -of help."
and an avi, if I use:

Code:
mencoder -lavdopts threads=8 -mc 0 -noskip -aid 1  -ovc frameno -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=aac:abitrate=128 -of rawaudio -o "test__aid_1__18_11_43_591_01.aac" "test.avi"
I get an aac file without the adts headers,.. (-> can't mux it with mp4box, can't playback it with anything :/)

(-of lavf -lavfopts format=mp4 also creates a not usable file,..)

Does anybody know what I'm doing wrong, or is mencoder not capable to produce a proper aac output file?

Cu Selur

Ps.: I know I could use eac3to or ffmpeg, but I want to know if this is possible with mencoder.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2011, 19:00   #2  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,393
afaik, if this is the same encoder as in ffmpeg, then it is indeed borken. ( i'am currently using it with ffmpeg and mp4 files are cool as it seems, check the redvan script posted here http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=162621 )
__________________
certain other member
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2011, 19:35   #3  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,814
I know, I also use ffmpeg (as another option) and know that it works there,..
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.