Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd July 2011, 23:29   #1  |  Link
IgorC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,237
New Fraunhofer (FhG) AAC encoder

New Fraunhofer (FhG) AAC encoder

New version of Winamp has it.
winamp.com
IgorC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2011, 23:54   #2  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
They dropped support for Dolby/CT AAC or this is as optional solution? And is avaible CLI wrapper like for CT encoder?
__________________
ChapterGen - manipulate with chapters in various i/o formats, with CLI support
Official website or Doom9 thread
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2011, 18:50   #3  |  Link
IgorC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
They dropped support for Dolby/CT AAC
It seems so.

Quote:
And is avaible CLI wrapper like for CT encoder?
Probably will be later.
IgorC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2011, 08:59   #4  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 134
Thanx for the news. Is it available stand alone? Which lizense is it?
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2011, 12:41   #5  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReinerSchweinlin View Post
Thanx for the news. Is it available stand alone? Which lizense is it?
I think it was licensed by the Winamp developers under a commercial license and is only available from within Winamp (not standalone).

At least it seems to be available without restrictions in the "freeware" edition of Winamp. Unlike their MP3 encoder, which requires the "Pro" edition.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2011, 13:53   #6  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 134
Ah, thanx for the feedback. I will investigate Winamp now, a good AAC Encoder is always welcome
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2011, 17:05   #7  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,569
Changes in Winamp 5.621:
Code:
* Fixed: [enc_fhgaac] Default ADTS bitrate; Writing of gapless data
* Fixed: [enc_fhgaac] HE-AAC compatibility with iTunes
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2011, 01:33   #8  |  Link
IgorC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,237
A CLI wrapper for FhG AAC encoder (winamp's enc_fhgaac.dll)
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...dpost&p=763079
IgorC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 13:34   #9  |  Link
IgorC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,237
New version FhG AAC 3.2.3 is available.

Multichannel is supported too.
IgorC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 14:16   #10  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,569
Changelog:

Quote:
Winamp 5.622
* Fixed: [enc_fhgaac] High bitrate upsampling bug
* Updated: [enc_fhgaac] Fraunhofer AAC Encoder v3.2.3
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 18:11   #11  |  Link
b66pak
Registered User
 
b66pak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)
Posts: 934
up to date CLI wrapper (fhgaacenc-20111104) can be found here...
_
__________________
if you ask a question and somebody give you the correct answer don't forget to leave a "thank you" note...
Visit The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)!
b66pak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 18:57   #12  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by b66pak View Post
up to date CLI wrapper (fhgaacenc-20111104) can be found here...
_
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2011, 10:29   #13  |  Link
mindbomb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 578
just curious, is this good for 5.1 audio?
ie, good channel coupling and what not?

i suspect so, given that FHG did mp3 surround back in the day, right?

Last edited by mindbomb; 15th November 2011 at 01:11.
mindbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2011, 15:34   #14  |  Link
IgorC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,237
The encoder was updated.
In my experience FhG HE-AAC encoder has the highest quality in class of HE-AACs.
IgorC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2011, 15:50   #15  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindbomb View Post
just curious, is this good for 5.1 audio?
ie, good channel coupling and what not?
I asked about AAC channel coupling some time ago on hydrogenaudio, and it turns out that 5.1 AAC is essentially stereo+stereo+mono+mono, meaning that there is no channel coupling between the front and the surround speakers for example. This is a limitation of AAC, though, so it applies to all AAC encoders and not just Fraunhofer.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2011, 18:47   #16  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 134
Thanx for the update Igor.
@sneaker_ger
Oh, this is surprising, does anybody know why it was done this way? It would have been rather easy to implment some channel coupling like in joint-stereo to save a lot of bandwith, or am I mistaken?
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2011, 07:05   #17  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReinerSchweinlin View Post
It would have been rather easy to implment some channel coupling like in joint-stereo to save a lot of bandwith, or am I mistaken?
I'm not an expert, just an average user but I highly doubt that for instance LFE channel could be reasonably well coupled with any other channel in 5.1 configuration. It's been designed to contain only very low frequencies hence its bandwidth can be encoded by lossy codec with use of very low bitrate which allows more bits to be allocated to another kind-of-special channel (for instance center AKA dialog) without the need to mess with any stereo coupling at all.
The conclusion: stereo (Front L & R) + stereo (Surround L+R) + mono (Front Center) + mono (LFE) coupling model seems like optimal for 5.1 AAC encoding to me!
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2011, 12:45   #18  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 134
In most cases, Front and Surround Sound are more independent than the L/R Channels to each other, true. My thinking was: Cpu-Horsepower we have enough, why not simply check for correlations between all channels... There are cases, where it would safe bandwith.
How about variable bitrate? If there is no dialog, is the free bandwith used by other channels when using the FHG Encoder?

Last edited by ReinerSchweinlin; 16th December 2011 at 12:47.
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2011, 17:29   #19  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReinerSchweinlin View Post
Cpu-Horsepower we have enough, why not simply check for correlations between all channels...
We need to think about decoding complexity as well. Just think about embedded/mobile devices with very limited CPU power...

(And keep in mind that AAC first appeared in MPEG-2, to which AAC was added back in 1997)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 16th December 2011 at 17:41.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2011, 19:52   #20  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 134
Thatīs true, didnīt think about that. But on the other hand: Does a mobile phone need surround sound?
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.