Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd May 2011, 09:17   #1  |  Link
Alex-Kid
Antronio's DV ambassador
 
Alex-Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 111
Recommended intermediate HD codec

I have a football match capture in HD (1920x1080i, 30fps) that I want to edit to make it highlights. I need to save it to an intermediate file to apply graphics and transitions and then save it as MKV. I use DGAVCDecDI to decode the file, so I can use Avisynth to process it.

So my question is ¿what codec would you recommend to work as an intermediate one without losing too much quality? My upper limit is 145 Mbps (I thought of DNxHD, but afaik there are no DS codecs).

Saludos

By ALEX-KID
Alex-Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2011, 09:24   #2  |  Link
Sagittaire
Testeur de codecs
 
Sagittaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France
Posts: 2,415
there are many lossless codec. Anyway if you want lossy codec with really light loss try MPEG4 ASP (XviD or DivX) with only Iframe and at quant 1 ...
__________________
Le Sagittaire ... ;-)

1- Ateme AVC or x264
2- VP7 or RV10 only for anime
3- XviD, DivX or WMV9
Sagittaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2011, 07:27   #3  |  Link
Alex-Kid
Antronio's DV ambassador
 
Alex-Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 111
Thanks for your recommendation Sagittaire.

I finally used XviD as you told me, but it was kinda slow, even using avisource. I got about 6-12 fps in my C2Q Q6600. It would have been good to use a codec like DV for SD video, which is fast and it has very little loss. I tested Lagarith with HD video, and it's fast (20 fps), but less efficient (245 mbps!). Maybe there is a good HD codec, fast, good quality I-frame based, bitrate efficient (120-150 mbps@1080i) and DirectShow/VFW compatible somewhere in Internet.

Saludos

By ALEX-KID
Alex-Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2011, 13:17   #4  |  Link
3ds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
One of the best loosless codec is IMHO Lagarith: http://lags.leetcode.net/codec.html
3ds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2011, 05:53   #5  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
based on what you've said of your workflow, you would do well to install AVFS (avisynth virtual file system) and pop the resulting uncompressed (and taking zero real space) file in your editing software to do cuts, fades, etc.

then export from there into anything you want.

this would be the fastest i think, bearing in mind i think it's your hard disk that's slowing things up, not your CPU.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2011, 10:01   #6  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,375
cineform maybe http://www.cineform.com/products.php
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2011, 10:21   #7  |  Link
Daiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 68
How about UTVideo? It's ridiculously fast to seek so you'd expect it to be pretty ideal for editing purposes.
__________________
Where did neuron1 go? | Doom10
Daiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2011, 14:11   #8  |  Link
TheRyuu
warpsharpened
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daiz View Post
How about UTVideo? It's ridiculously fast to seek so you'd expect it to be pretty ideal for editing purposes.
This.
TheRyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2011, 14:56   #9  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRyuu View Post
This.
Yeah, I was about to suggest the same codec as well. No experience with HD filesize requirements but the speed of decoding is excellent, especially on multicore CPUs.
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2011, 06:47   #10  |  Link
Alex-Kid
Antronio's DV ambassador
 
Alex-Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 111
Thank you all for your suggestions.

I know there are several lossless codecs, and using them would be optimal, but space (specially on HD video) is an issue on my system. CineForm doesn't have DS support AFAIK. My sources are loaded with DGAVCDecDi plugin, which has some problems when seeking on H.264 broadcast captures. I think AVFS could be my option if the script mounted works as a true uncompressed file when trimming it. I'll post results as soon as I have some time to test. If not, I think I'll have to buy a larger HDD.

Saludos

By ALEX-KID
Alex-Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2011, 11:16   #11  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,375
also: http://www.matrox.com/video/en/suppo...es/version1.0/
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2011, 12:48   #12  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,188
Matrox is the worse crap out there...slow.

From free ones UTVideo is amazing- unmatched speed. You can edit 4K on good PC It's lossless so bitrates are more than 200Mbit for HD.

If you can pay than Cineform or Canopus codecs (HQX- many bitrate settings), which you can get by buying Edius or cheap Edius Neo.


Andrew

Last edited by kolak; 31st May 2011 at 23:45.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2011, 13:01   #13  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,375
Quote:
From free ones UTVideo is amazing- unmatched speed
and the latest version is? (drums) some cute links? (drums)
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2011, 13:19   #14  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by smok3 View Post
and the latest version is? (drums) some cute links? (drums)
Ever heard of functions? Or Google?
The codec has even its own thread on this very forum...
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2011, 14:51   #15  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,244
@Alex-Kid
I use x264 as intermediate codec for AVCHD files (camcorder)
Code:
x264.exe "script.avs" --tff --bitrate 50000 --vbv-bufsize 5000 --vbv-maxrate 50000  --preset superfast --tune fastdecode --keyint 1 --output "video.264"
It is not lossless (above cmd) ofcourse but still gives very good quality. During conversion from 24Mbps 1920x1080i I get ~37 fps on my Q6600@3ghz. If you are not satisfied with quality you can always increase bitrate
(--bitrate 75000 --vbv-bufsize 7500 --vbv-maxrate 75000)

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 19th May 2011 at 14:56.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2011, 14:57   #16  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,679
Why bufsize only a tenth of bitrate/maxrate? Why vbv at all?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2011, 15:07   #17  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,244
Quote:
Why bufsize only a tenth of bitrate/maxrate? Why vbv at all?
Why would you use larger buffer size for intra only mode? At the begining I was using even 2000 but I had problems with buffer underflow.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2011, 15:10   #18  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,679
So, why use vbv at all?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2011, 15:15   #19  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 6,244
Quote:
So, why use vbv at all?
To reduce decoding lag? In theory --vbv-bufsize 2000 should be enough for 1 frame (--vbv-maxrate 50000 / 25fps) but it is not (buffer underflow). So I decidede to use buffer for 2.5 frames

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 19th May 2011 at 15:19.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2011, 15:22   #20  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,679
There's significant decoding lag on i-fame-only encodes?
Don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to criticize you - just trying to understand the reasoning behind your settings.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
codec, hdtv, intermediate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.