Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd March 2013, 07:31   #14321  |  Link
itsonlyjustincase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 152
Hi could you help me ? I have run CCLEANER and uninstalled all codecs. Then when i try to install LAV filters (last version) only the 64 bits are present (i verify with Win7DSFilterTweaker_5.7). It seems my win 8 pro (official) doesn't allow me to install 32 bits codecs anymore :s even if there is no error at the installation
itsonlyjustincase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 09:32   #14322  |  Link
marc99
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspeh View Post
Good Question

Can any experts answer this as i'm looking to upgrade my XP machines to Win 8 and was thinking of getting the N version as well as it doesn't have any Media player installed.Or would i be better getting the standard Windows 8 pro version for the WMV9 DMO decoder WMV3 and VC-1 option ???
"Windows Media Feature Pack for Windows 7 N and for Windows 7 KN.
The Media Feature Pack for N and KN versions of Windows 8 will install Media Player and related technologies on a computer running Windows 8 N or Windows 8 KN editions."
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30685
__________________
Windows 7 RC 64bit, NVidia GF8600GT 190.38
marc99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 10:09   #14323  |  Link
Aspeh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12


Thanks for the reply's but it's not what i ment or what i think Blexley was asking either.

At the bottom of Lav Filters video configuration is Use Microsoft WMV9 DMO decoder WMV3 and VC-1

Would it be better to have Windows Media Player installed to use this Lav option?
Aspeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 11:27   #14324  |  Link
itsonlyjustincase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsonlyjustincase View Post
Hi could you help me ? I have run CCLEANER and uninstalled all codecs. Then when i try to install LAV filters (last version) only the 64 bits are present (i verify with Win7DSFilterTweaker_5.7). It seems my win 8 pro (official) doesn't allow me to install 32 bits codecs anymore :s even if there is no error at the installation
Someone ?
itsonlyjustincase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 20:30   #14325  |  Link
Tornado15550
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
I've heard that LAV dithers 10bit/14bit video (from a Hi10P or Hi444P file) down to 8bit.
Is this true?
Tornado15550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 20:37   #14326  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,737
Only if its required, because your renderer doesn't support 10-bit content for example. Untouched is always preferred, but not always possible. If you use madVR, you should get untouched.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 21:59   #14327  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,449
afair libav supports Dxtory codec for some time now.
Could you add support for it in LAV, nev?
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 22:21   #14328  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,737
Sample?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 23:20   #14329  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,449
Tomorrow, got not enough upload bandwidth today.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 10:05   #14330  |  Link
blexley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspeh View Post


Thanks for the reply's but it's not what i ment or what i think Blexley was asking either.

At the bottom of Lav Filters video configuration is Use Microsoft WMV9 DMO decoder WMV3 and VC-1

Would it be better to have Windows Media Player installed to use this Lav option?
Thankyou Aspeh that is exactly what i'm trying to get an answer for aswell.

Nevcairiel is always saying that Win XP is a problem yet when asked about a Lav filters setting for Windows 8 he rudely ignores people.

Go figure.
blexley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 10:16   #14331  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by blexley View Post
Nevcairiel is always saying that Win XP is a problem yet when asked about a Lav filters setting for Windows 8 he rudely ignores people.
Or maybe he simply doesn't know the answer because he's not using Windows 8 N?

I remember reading that Windows 7 N does indeed not have the codecs in addition to not having the media player, so I would not get the N version. I don't know if this applies to Windows 8 as well.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 10:25   #14332  |  Link
blexley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
That still doesn't answer the question as that is not what is being asked.

Is it better to use that option if available or is it not needed ?

If it's not needed or doesn't give any advantage over Lav filters for WMV9 DMO decoder WMV3 and VC-1 then you don't need mediaplayer installed.

A developer doesn't need a version of windows installed to know if an option is best used or not because knowing if it's best used or not then the rest can be worked out by ourselfs.?

Thanks
blexley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 10:45   #14333  |  Link
Superb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 364
Geez.
If you have the DMO Decoder installed -> The option will work.
If you don't have the DMO Decoder installed -> Initializing the decoder will fail.

http://code.google.com/p/lavfilters/source/browse/decoder/LAVVideo/decoders/wmv9.cpp
Code:
  hr = CoCreateInstance(CLSID_CWMVDecMediaObject, NULL, CLSCTX_INPROC_SERVER, IID_IMediaObject, (void **)&m_pDMO);
  if (FAILED(hr)) {
    DbgLog((LOG_TRACE, 10, L"-> Failed to create DMO object"));
    return hr;
  }
Will it fall back to software? Probably. Didn't have a closer look at the code.

No one owes you any answers, and therefor it isn't rude to ignore you. Welcome to the internet.
Also, support given by nev in this thread is much better than MANY open source developers I've seen on the net... so don't b!tch. :P

Last edited by Superb; 3rd March 2013 at 10:47.
Superb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 10:46   #14334  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superb View Post
Will it fall back to software? Probably. Didn't have a closer look at the code.
This is also "software". And no, there is no fallback. It'll refuse connection if the option is enabled and init fails.

In any case, LAVs default settings are the recommended settings (why would anything else be default?), you can figure it out from there.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 3rd March 2013 at 10:49.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 10:47   #14335  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,464
Just because he develops LAV Filters does not mean he magically knows whether Windows 8 N has the things needed for these LAV Video options. You didn't ask whether these were "best used" or not. If Nev didn't think they were needed he wouldn't have added the function to LAV Video to utilize them and definitely wouldn't have activated them by default.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 11:11   #14336  |  Link
Aspeh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 12
I'm not sure if you guys are just naturally rude and obnoxious or it's a case of Asperges.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
In any case, LAVs default settings are the recommended settings (why would anything else be default?), you can figure it out from there.
How can anybody know apart from you if LAV can decode DMO without microsoft codecs and if this would be the default option if installed on a version of windows without mediaplyer.

Ridiculous to expect us to buy Windows 8 N to find out when you could just simply answer if Lav Filters prefers to use Windows Media DMO or not and without it if it would limit media playback.

No need for anyone to be a complete ass over it like media is some sort of leet club.
Aspeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 11:16   #14337  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,737
If it didn't have any advantages, it wouldn't be the default.
So concluding from that, disabling it does give you disadvantages.

Obviously this option only works if the DMO decoder is present in your system. If this is the case on a "N" install? I don't know. Feel free to find out and report your findings.

You're the one being rude, there is no magic secrets here, just logical conclusions anyone can arrive at.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 11:21   #14338  |  Link
blexley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 36
It doesn't say anywhere and you gave no indication that enabled was the default setting and was recommended.

That is what was being asked.

Sheeeeesh
blexley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 11:35   #14339  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,449
Here is one Dxtory sample:
http://www36.zippyshare.com/v/60688661/file.html

There can be also different colorspaces and compression.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2013, 12:01   #14340  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Here is one Dxtory sample:
http://www36.zippyshare.com/v/60688661/file.html

There can be also different colorspaces and compression.
It doesn't seem like the decoder likes this file, i get a lot of errors and no image.
It appears it uses a variant of the codec not supported yet.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 3rd March 2013 at 12:05.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.