Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th January 2012, 14:23   #7961  |  Link
CoRoNe
Registered User
 
CoRoNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 642
I'd like to report a little bug. Initially reported as a MPC-HC bug by someone else, but it looks like to be a Lav Splitter bug instead.
http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/mpc-hc/ticket/1933
__________________
My hobby website
CoRoNe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 14:34   #7962  |  Link
Paladin77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paladin77 View Post
Hi Nev!

I am having issues playing some realmedia files. If I use madVR renderer I get weird diagonal and side green lines. If I revert to EVR I get corruption and sound dropouts. Sample: http://megaupload.com/?d=IQZI23J6

Using latest LAV,madVR, MPC. both lower end system (in sig) and other rig (5650 ATI card).

Thank you so much for you work!

EDIT. Ok initial troubleshooting shows its splitter related. Activating MPC source alleviated the issue. Will test further!
ok It seems LAV splitter doesn't like that specific file. Tried another file and it works well. EVR corrupts and sound drops while madVR I get a nasty diagonal green line.
__________________
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-D3
Processor: AMD FX 8150 Black Edition 8-core @3.6 Ghz.
RAM: G-Skill Ares 16GB dual channel DDR3.
GPU: 2X Crossfire AMD RADEON HD 6850.
OS: Windows 7 Utlimate x64.
Paladin77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 15:08   #7963  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoRoNe View Post
I'd like to report a little bug. Initially reported as a MPC-HC bug by someone else, but it looks like to be a Lav Splitter bug instead.
http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/mpc-hc/ticket/1933
Was a LAV Audio bug, but fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paladin77 View Post
ok It seems LAV splitter doesn't like that specific file. Tried another file and it works well. EVR corrupts and sound drops while madVR I get a nasty diagonal green line.
Fixed with madVR, didn't encounter issues with EVR
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 8th January 2012 at 15:16.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 15:25   #7964  |  Link
AmshTemp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
The installer doesn't check for x64 before installing IntelQuickSyncDecoder.dll.

Code:
Source: bin_x64\IntelQuickSyncDecoder.dll; DestDir: {app}\x64; Flags: ignoreversion restartreplace uninsrestartdelete skipifsourcedoesntexist; Components: lavvideo32
Should have been:
Code:
Source: bin_x64\IntelQuickSyncDecoder.dll; DestDir: {app}\x64; Flags: ignoreversion restartreplace uninsrestartdelete skipifsourcedoesntexist; Components: lavvideo64
AmshTemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 15:36   #7965  |  Link
CoRoNe
Registered User
 
CoRoNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Was a LAV Audio bug, but fixed
Lav Audio has nothing to do with this. It's all about the splitter. It hangs/crashes with 0.44.
__________________
My hobby website
CoRoNe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 15:42   #7966  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoRoNe View Post
Lav Audio has nothing to do with this. It's all about the splitter. It hangs/crashes with 0.44.
Plays just perfectly.
There was a bug that caused it to never output any audio when lav audio was used, which i fixed.
That was also the original bug report.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 8th January 2012 at 15:45.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 16:36   #7967  |  Link
CoRoNe
Registered User
 
CoRoNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 642
You're right, I take it back. Normally I only use MPC-HC, but after having tested the wav-file in Zoom Player and with MONOGRAM GraphStudio, where it plays perfectly fine, I have to conclude that MPC-HC is indeed the culprit, like the guy said.
__________________
My hobby website
CoRoNe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 16:41   #7968  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,739
But, it works fine in MPC-HC for me.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 17:38   #7969  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Possibly, go test it?
I don't use Media Portal, so it might as well have been another error, but an error of that kind was fixed.
OK well I've selected LAV Filters for my LATM AAC decoder in MediaPortal but I don't know when I'll get to test it - I only watch/record Freeview HD channels (which use LATM AAC audio) when my DVB-S2 decoder is in use!

I'll let you know if I get any more problems though.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 18:48   #7970  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
nev, when seking in this VC-1 file using QS the image freezes. It doesn't hang the player, but it doesn't recover either.

http://www.multiupload.com/2403BDXAFT
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 21:40   #7971  |  Link
ajp_anton
Registered User
 
ajp_anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stockholm/Helsinki
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by easyfab View Post
I don't think the GPU is that important because QS is a separate hardware transcoder. For example in encoding tasks with QS, you have almost the same speed with a i5 2300 and a i7 2600
It was the shortest way of saying I don't have a pre-Sandy Bridge CPU, and no additional GPU connected.

Anyway, updated drivers and it works now. Didn't think it would make a difference since ffdshow used to work before.
ajp_anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2012, 22:38   #7972  |  Link
egur
QuickSync Decoder author
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlit, Israel
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajp_anton View Post
It seems that when using QS on any video (h264 or mpeg2, don't have vc1) in mkv or mpg with any splitter and any renderer gives a chaotic frame order. GPU is HD3000 (only).
I've seen this before.
Do you have Lucid Virtu installed and and playing using the 64 bit version?
If so, then it's a lucid Virtu bug. Somehow it's mixing the frame order. 32 bit was fine (on 64 bit OS).
__________________
Eric Gur,
Processor Application Engineer for Overclocking and CPU technologies
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
egur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 02:23   #7973  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,927
@nev
ftp://132.185.142.44/video/maybefina...romo-tr1500.ts plays way to slow (8 FPS) compared to VLC

also can you please add wma lossless to lav audios selection (WMAL) option so that it wont try to playback streams with it and fallback to wmaudio decoder accordingly http://roundup.libav.org/issue421 putting wmaudio decoder above lav audio works too but it's not the correct way of handling it
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 9th January 2012 at 04:12.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 12:01   #7974  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
I've reinstalled filters and it works now.

It's quite funny- DNxHD encoder is multithreaded, but decoder not. ProRes is opposite
Where are the ProRes and DNxHD codecs available ?

Quote:
Here is something strange:
I've made AVI Prores file and it works fine except when it's loaded to some software directly it gets decoded in one thread.
When I load same AVI through avisynth (directshow source) than it works fine- all cores are working and speed is good.
Why?
Are you running an MT version from Avisynth ?
I have this often with lossless codecs, where the VfW codec is multithreaded, but the Dshow (Libav, FFmpeg) version is not.
Also the VfW is often more optimized then the Dshow version. (UTVideo, Lagarith,...)
Because you're using directshowsource, you 're basically using the Dshow version, so the speed difference is not clear to me;
the avisynth way should not be noticeble faster unless using MT version....
Quote:
Can we also have dithering as an option?
I think ditthering is not dependent from the codec, you probably have already dithering if you're using Lav-video.
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 12:17   #7975  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,739
Intra-only codecs are usually very easy to multi-thread in decoding, because every frame is "stand-alone" and doesn't have to wait for the previous reference frames to be decoded.
Multi-threaded decoding was just recently added to ffmpegs UtVideo decoder. Adding the same for DNxHD would probably be rather easy, someone just has to do it.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 9th January 2012 at 12:19.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 17:34   #7976  |  Link
egur
QuickSync Decoder author
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlit, Israel
Posts: 916
QS decoder rev20 is committed.
Changes are:
Added MT copy. A mild performance gain. Added flag to disable it
Fixed bad seeking in VC1 (nev's report). On every seek in every codec, the entire session is destroyed. Works smoothly.
Added flag to report a corrupted frame (what MSDK reports).
Cosmetics.

FYI, I'm not building a version myself ATM, I want to address 2 other issues.
One of them is VC1 decoder sends the same buffer over and over with different time stamps which breaks my code.
__________________
Eric Gur,
Processor Application Engineer for Overclocking and CPU technologies
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.

Last edited by egur; 9th January 2012 at 19:09.
egur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 18:19   #7977  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat357 View Post
Where are the ProRes and DNxHD codecs available ?


Are you running an MT version from Avisynth ?
I have this often with lossless codecs, where the VfW codec is multithreaded, but the Dshow (Libav, FFmpeg) version is not.
Also the VfW is often more optimized then the Dshow version. (UTVideo, Lagarith,...)
Because you're using directshowsource, you 're basically using the Dshow version, so the speed difference is not clear to me;
the avisynth way should not be noticeble faster unless using MT version....

I think ditthering is not dependent from the codec, you probably have already dithering if you're using Lav-video.
LAV decoder supports ProRes and DNxHD.

Problem is opposite what you described.

I wrap ProRes into AVI and when it's loaded to some application- eg Premiere it works slow.
If I load it through avisynth (directshowsource) using fake AVI (virtual file system for avisynth) than it's fine- all cores are used. Not sure why it's happening.

Last edited by kolak; 9th January 2012 at 20:26.
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 18:50   #7978  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by egur View Post
QS decoder rev19 is committed.
Changes are:
Added MT copy. A mild performance gain. Added flag to disable it
Fixed bad seeking in VC1 (nev's report). On every seek in every codec, the entire session is destroyed. Works smoothly.
Added flag to report a corrupted frame (what MSDK reports).
Cosmetics.

FYI, I'm not building a version myself ATM, I want to address 2 other issues.
One of them is VC1 decoder sends the same buffer over and over with different time stamps which breaks my code.
Looks like you forgot to commit some new files to the repository . Will test it as soon as you upload these.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 19:10   #7979  |  Link
egur
QuickSync Decoder author
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlit, Israel
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Looks like you forgot to commit some new files to the repository . Will test it as soon as you upload these.
Working too hard lately...
Rev 20 has the files
__________________
Eric Gur,
Processor Application Engineer for Overclocking and CPU technologies
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
egur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2012, 20:08   #7980  |  Link
Cyber-Mav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
i dont get hardware acceleration on xvid standard definition files. gpu = gtx560 ti.
Cyber-Mav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.