Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st February 2010, 21:43   #1  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
How to config ffdshow/LAV and reclock for HD audio,

Last edited on: twenty-ninth of October 2011:

LAV Filters+ReClock Bitexact streaming via MPC-HC:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...20#post1534720


Previous edit:thirtieth of May 2010: Solveig mkv Splitter usage in MPC-HC

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...36#post1403836[/COLOR]


Hi guys,

I've decided to open a new thread to show how to config ffdshow and reclock on MPC-HC otherwise it might be lost amongs the other posts.

So the aim is to get LPCM passthrough and to get bitstreaming for the other lossy, lossless SD and HD audio formats over ffdshow.

After the configuration you will get:

LPCM,
Flac, THD,
DTSHD-MA,
DD+ (haven't checked yet so not sure for now)
DTSHD-HR,
DD,
DTS.

In none of those cases, Window's mixer will not interfere at all.


What we need:

ReClock 1.8.6.7
ffdshow rev 3351
MadFlac
MPC-HC 1779 x86
DX enduser runtime

Caution: Install ffdshow and reclock and MadFlac before MPC-HC. If you change ffdshow or reclock version by time first uninstall MPC and reinstall it after the installation of the others.

Here is my config:

Vista32/Ati5770 over HDMI to my Denon 1910.(with tully's override)

Seven64/Ati 5770 over HDMI to my Denon.(with tully's override)

Seven64/Clarkdale(i3 540/H55) over HDMI to my Denon.

nVidia 9600GT+(i3 540/H55) combo over HDMI to my Denon.

Ati 5*** series users: i'd advise you not to use Realtek but original Ati drivers.

For Denon, Sony or some Onkyo owners may need tully's override with their Ati cards:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post18138259

Clarkdale owners wouldn't need any override btw.

Even i don't have a Xonar card, it is reported it's working with ArcSoft Audio Renderer.

FOR VISTA USERS: Install and register MPC-Audio Renderer. MPC-HC is gonna use this renderer on bitstreaming. All the setup is the same as 7 btw.


Here we go:

MPC-HC Config:









FfdShow Config: (Thanks to albain lots of times)

ffdshow > Codec:

Leave the default setup as is except flac. If you want to use MadFlac decoder, select flac > disabled.



ffdshow > output:



You should only change "Output for uncompressed or decoded streams" option while PCM streaming (if it's inside an m2ts container) in according to the source file (16 or 24 bits). For bitstreaming you don't need to re-config anything at all.
BTW, you don't need to change the bitrate of the audio everytime when you are able to connect it directly to ReClock; since ReClock automatically selects what the source file is but you may need Haali this time (Cause Gabest needs an additional LPCM decoder) if it is inside an m2ts container.
In this case just untick "MPEG ts/ps/pva" option under "internal filters" of MPC-HC and Haali will be automatically selected.



ReClock config: (Thanks to James indeed)

ReClock config for bitstreaming:

Over Direct Sound: (Bitstream without ReClock)

In this case, ReClock doesn't interfare in bitstreaming.

You should adjust "advanced settings" like this:



Audio Settings:




Over WASAPI Exclusive or WaveOut: (Bitstream with ReClock)

In this case ReClock does bitstreaming via WASAPI or WaveOut.

You should adjust "advanced settings" for both like this:



Audio Settings:

via WASAPI:



via WaveOut:



WASAPI in operate:



WaveOut in operate:




ReClock config for streaming PCM or FLAC:

Over WASAPI Exclusive: (Streaming or bitexact streaming with ReClock)

Offline Config:



Inline Config:

Non-bitexact streaming:

Leave ReClock properties as is and in this case molested PCM/Flac streaming by ReClock will be trasmitted to your AVR without 7/Vista mixer's interfaring.
This is a WASAPI Exclusive mode for sure but it is not bitexact. (ReClock icon is green)



Bitexact streaming:

Config inline properties of ReClock and "select original speed", "locked" and "slave reference to audio".
In this case, ReClock transmits unmolasted decoded pcm/flac stream to your AVR. And this is gonna WASAPI exclusive-bitexact(bitperfect) mode. (ReClock icon is yellow)




LPCM bitperfect streaming over ReClock -inside m2ts or mkv-:


16 bit LPCM bitperfect streaming :



24 bit LPCM bitperfect streaming :




Flac bitperfect streaming over ReClock:

Flac, even it is a lossless format, can not be streamed as bitstream since none of the commercial AVRs can decode (or lets say uncomppress) it.
So flac inside an mkv container is decoded in PC by Madflac and we get bitperfect streaming over Reclock.




Bitstreaming dtshd, thd -inside m2ts or mkv-:

m2ts:




mkv:




Comparison of Haali with Gabest's MPEG or Matroska Source:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...97#post1382497


m2ts with Gabest:

LPCM:

Gabest MPEG Source needs a decoder like ffdshow or internal LPCM decoder.

THD:
It can bitstream over ffdshow.

DTSHD:
It can bitstream over ffdshow.

m2ts with Haali:

LPCM:
Haali will be directly linked to ReClock and stream the audio. It doesn't need any additional LPCM decder.


THD:
It can transfer only core ac3.

DTSHD:
No audio output at all.



mkv with Gabest:

LPCM:
LPCM works with ReClock directly without an additional decoder.

THD:
It can bitstream over ffdshow.

DTSHD:
It can bitstream over ffdshow.


mkv with Haali:

LPCM:
Haali will be directly linked to ReClock and stream the audio. It doesn't need any additional LPCM decoder.

THD:
Gives blue light and no problem in bitsreaming THD inside mkv.

DTSHD:
Gives blue light but it's problematic: lots of drop-outs in video and audio.







EDIT: So as to clarify the confusion;

Formats:

Uncompressed LPCM: this is the pure audio uncompressed.
Lossless FLAC, THD and DTSHD-MA: Those are similar to zipped uncompreesed audio; there is no loss when they are unzipped. Those are lossless HD formats.
Lossy DD+ and DTSHD-HR: those are lossy compressed HD audio formats.
Lossy DD and DTS: those are compressed SD audio formats.


ReClocK:

Normally ReClock, by it's author James has been constucted to PAL speedup of NTSC films.
But by time James was forced to apply WASAPI exlusive mode to ReClock Audio Renderer (i must admit it was me one of those who forced him to do this, thx James one more time)
So ReClock has been using almost for a year as a WASAPI renderer as well, as it is adjusted right.
ReClock send PCM to Windows mixer when it is used for PAL speedup or NTSC slowdown reasons.
Or ReClock send touched PCM stream directly to your AVR over HDMI (WASAPI exclusive mode) when it's used for passthrough stream.
Or ReClock transmits unmolested PCM /flac stream directly over HDMI (WASAPI exclusive bitexact mode) when it's used for passthrough unmolested stream. (bitexact-bitperfect)

FfdShow Tryouts by Albain:

Albain has been trying to get the best results in bitstreaming of lossless and lossy HD-SD formats for months; thanks a lot to him for his hard work.
FFDShow tryouts by Albain gives us free bitstreaming via both Ati 5*** series and Xonar cards and Clarkdale.
Ffdshow directly pass undecoded bitstream to your AVR to be decoded over there. So the quality is up to your AVR's decoder capability which is supposed to be better than any SW decoder.






_ _ _ _ _ _ _
Attached Files
File Type: txt backup ffdshow+reclock.txt (5.4 KB, 520 views)
File Type: txt current.txt (8.3 KB, 184 views)
File Type: txt current_latest_0425.txt (9.5 KB, 171 views)

Last edited by rica; 4th November 2011 at 22:54. Reason: test with Lav Filters.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 00:04   #2  |  Link
dbone1026
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 211
Thanks for the guide. Couple quick question:

1. You show that for External Filters there are no filters. However, to get MPC HC to bitstream properly on my 5670 I needed to add ffdshow Audio Decoder (set to Prefer) and Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder (set to Block). Is this not necessary when using ReClock?

2. You mention "Finally when you open an LPCM source, ReClock will never ask any question anymore but when you open any other compressed source you will see this popup window and simply tick "No not this time" box." By clicking "No not this time" for a compressed source won't this box pop up every time you play a DTS(MA) or TrueHD track?
__________________
Cheers,
Damian

Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net
dbone1026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 00:15   #3  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Thanks for the guide. Couple quick question:

1. You show that for External Filters there are no filters. However, to get MPC HC to bitstream properly on my 5670 I needed to add ffdshow Audio Decoder (set to Prefer) and Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder (set to Block). Is this not necessary when using ReClock?

2. You mention "Finally when you open an LPCM source, ReClock will never ask any question anymore but when you open any other compressed source you will see this popup window and simply tick "No not this time" box." By clicking "No not this time" for a compressed source won't this box pop up every time you play a DTS(MA) or TrueHD track?
You're welcome.

1) In my previous posts, i suggested it should be selected as an external filter. But i suppose MPC-HC selects it by default and you can't select it anymore under external filters. It's not up to ReClock.

2) You will see this popup window whenever you open a DTSHD-MA and THD cause they are lossless formats not pure PCM.
And you will see the same popup with DD+, DTSHD-HR and DD, DTS as well for sure.

Last edited by rica; 2nd February 2010 at 01:18.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 02:35   #4  |  Link
davinleeds
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 37
Thanks Rica, this really helps.
davinleeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 17:02   #5  |  Link
joikd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
LPCM was the last unknown for me (how to set up), so thanks again!

Which MPEG-2 decoder is the best to use for best PQ? I notice that you don't have one checked, and there seems to be 4 or 5 different MPEG-2 deocders to choose from between MPC-HC and FFDShow.
joikd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2010, 20:57   #6  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post
LPCM was the last unknown for me (how to set up), so thanks again!

Which MPEG-2 decoder is the best to use for best PQ? I notice that you don't have one checked, and there seems to be 4 or 5 different MPEG-2 deocders to choose from between MPC-HC and FFDShow.
That would be subjective saying "this decoder is the best".
MPC-HC will select the default MPEG-2 decoder if any other filter wasn't selected under external filters.

In my case i see this graph behind the MPC-HC: (source "Ultraviolet" BD)


Last edited by rica; 2nd February 2010 at 21:02.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 01:40   #7  |  Link
joikd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
I spoke too soon. With the settings in the guide, LPCM works perfectly. But, TrueHD & DTS-MA do not work--I get no sound. When I check the filters while the blu-ray iso is playing, it does not show MPC Audio Renderer, which is the only setting that works. In MPC, if I change the audio renderer from Reclock to MPC Audio Renderer it works fine, but then LPCM does not work.

Any help would be appreciated.
joikd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 14:13   #8  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post
I spoke too soon. With the settings in the guide, LPCM works perfectly. But, TrueHD & DTS-MA do not work--I get no sound. When I check the filters while the blu-ray iso is playing, it does not show MPC Audio Renderer, which is the only setting that works. In MPC, if I change the audio renderer from Reclock to MPC Audio Renderer it works fine, but then LPCM does not work.

Any help would be appreciated.
I think you are on Vista?
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 15:33   #9  |  Link
kjoy064
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Hi Rica,

using the settings above i get the dts-HD MA on my receiver and the sound is good but the picture is very choppy, if i select yes on the reclock the video works in normal speed but no sound. any ideas? this is using a mkv file.
kjoy064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 16:06   #10  |  Link
mackworth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
New to this bitstreaming stuff. What do you need LPCM for? If you don't need LPCM, do you need reclock?
mackworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 16:18   #11  |  Link
joikd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
I think you are on Vista?
Sorry--should have listed everything.

--Windows 7 x86
--ATI 5750
--Catalyst 10.2 beta (video drivers only)
--Realtek ATI HDMI 2.39
--Tulli's Denon EDID
--ReClock 1.8.6.2
--ffdshow rev 3251
--MPC-HC 1586 x86

Last edited by joikd; 5th February 2010 at 16:21.
joikd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 20:50   #12  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post
I spoke too soon. With the settings in the guide, LPCM works perfectly. But, TrueHD & DTS-MA do not work--I get no sound. When I check the filters while the blu-ray iso is playing, it does not show MPC Audio Renderer, which is the only setting that works. In MPC, if I change the audio renderer from Reclock to MPC Audio Renderer it works fine, but then LPCM does not work.

Any help would be appreciated.
Check out your filters:




Quote:
Originally Posted by kjoy064 View Post
Hi Rica,

using the settings above i get the dts-HD MA on my receiver and the sound is good but the picture is very choppy, if i select yes on the reclock the video works in normal speed but no sound. any ideas? this is using a mkv file.
You never get bitstreaming from compressed formats when you say "yes" to ReClock. Reclock is for pure LPCM..

For the video, weird; what video decoder are you using? Are you sure "DXVA" selected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mackworth View Post
New to this bitstreaming stuff. What do you need LPCM for? If you don't need LPCM, do you need reclock?
If you don't need LPCM, you don't need ReClock; it is for LPCM audio streaming. (i don't mean the other features of ReClock.)

Last edited by rica; 5th February 2010 at 21:21.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2010, 18:09   #13  |  Link
mochevolete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 97
Hi, thanks for the tutorial,
now I have Bitstreaming on everything but ... not with Reclock installed,
if I have Reclock installed ffdshow does not work as primary audio decoder, some strange Microsoft DTV decoder comes in and nothing works.
I set up Reclock as shown but something does not "plugs in" properly
Win 7 x86
ATi 5670
Catalyst 10.1
latest ffdshow and MPC-HC

Nik
mochevolete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2010, 21:11   #14  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by mochevolete View Post
Hi, thanks for the tutorial,
now I have Bitstreaming on everything but ... not with Reclock installed,
if I have Reclock installed ffdshow does not work as primary audio decoder, some strange Microsoft DTV decoder comes in and nothing works.
I set up Reclock as shown but something does not "plugs in" properly
Win 7 x86
ATi 5670
Catalyst 10.1
latest ffdshow and MPC-HC

Nik
Go to view > Options > External Filters > add filter and select ffdshow audio decoder and set it to "prefer"
Restart MPC-HC and try again.

BTW, afaik 56** users prefer to install Realtek 239 drivers over Ati drivers. (btw i suggest original drivers for 5700 series.)

Last edited by rica; 6th February 2010 at 22:29.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 00:31   #15  |  Link
kjoy064
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
OK fixed my problem by ticking the Matroska box under source filters
kjoy064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 01:12   #16  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjoy064 View Post
OK fixed my problem by ticking the Matroska box under source filters
It's good.
But if you don't have problematic Haali loaded, MPC-HC would automatically select matroska splitter
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 09:08   #17  |  Link
mochevolete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
Go to view > Options > External Filters > add filter and select ffdshow audio decoder and set it to "prefer"
Restart MPC-HC and try again.
already tried

it's clear that Reclock breaks something in the chain
mochevolete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 12:31   #18  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by mochevolete View Post
already tried

it's clear that Reclock breaks something in the chain
Weird!

Do you have DirectX End-User Runtime?

And can you connect to remote graph and take a screen shot?

Start playing your disc or iso with MPC-HC.
Open GraphStudio.
Menu > File > Connect to remote graph.
Open the graph; now you should see the graph behind MPC-HC.
Take a SS and pls add here.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 21:22   #19  |  Link
mochevolete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 97
thanks for your support rica,
I'm unable to get the SS thru graphstudio ...
Connect to remote graph, click on Connect (on the MPC line), the little windows close and ... nothing happens

the DX runtime was installed yesterday to avoid the error that MPC gives the very first time it starts

Nik

Last edited by mochevolete; 7th February 2010 at 21:26.
mochevolete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 21:42   #20  |  Link
mochevolete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 97
ok, the trick was in Reclock:


but Im not sure if with the tick in the lower part I'm bypassing Reclock
mochevolete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.