Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2009, 16:41   #181  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
It is said in FFDShow comments that this option could be used to connect to Cyberlink DVD audio filters

I believe that this is functional but nobody seems to use it or knows about it.

And I guess that you are right about LPCM encoding through HDMI.
In the docs I supplied to you there is a dedicated doc on LPCM formatting (doc #3).

I guess I'll have to get into it but I'd rather have dumper logs too
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 16:51   #182  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Well, that's weird. Does HDMI support 32bit float LPCM!? I thought it only supported 16bit and 24bit cardinal LPCM?
PDVD9 is sending 32 bit for LPCM 48/24 or higher.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 17:13   #183  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Do we know whether the OS and audio drivers leave "LPCM 16" data alone or whether they process it? E.g. does the OS volume control affect "LPCM 16" ffdshow output?
Good point; i will check it for PDVD as weel
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 19:10   #184  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Is there an existing software player outputting LPCM ?
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 19:14   #185  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 602
Hi
Good question
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 19:23   #186  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Otherwise, someone asked a question about when the HD audio branch will be committed to the trunk

The answer is quite simple : once HD audio bitstream will work on Vista.

For that I am waiting for PDVD9 dumper logs on Vista to get the right media structures. Rica is on his way to provide them

About LPCM, there is in my opinion too much work to make it work so this will be done later after the merge.
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 19:26   #187  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 602
Sorry that i can't help for now
But when i log on TMT and Xonar before it was on Vista, so why it doesn't work ? i'm lost lol
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 20:07   #188  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastiii View Post
Sorry that i can't help for now
But when i log on TMT and Xonar before it was on Vista, so why it doesn't work ? i'm lost lol
No problem, let's say a little prayer for your AVR :-)
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 20:08   #189  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 602
Yes, yes i hope with all my finger
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 20:18   #190  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
Is there an existing software player outputting LPCM ?
PDVD 9 does. Playing a 96/24 track now. Interestingly, it does not output LPCM 48/16 but runs it through Windows Mixer. Anything higher, it outputs the LPCM though.

Last edited by whurlston; 8th December 2009 at 20:21.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 20:25   #191  |  Link
Browncoat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 19
Quote:
I am waiting for PDVD9 dumper logs on Vista to get the right media structures.
Don't think it is helpfull, just in case. PDVD9+dumper with Auzentech on Vista x86 (before crash).

DTS HD MA
http://www.mediafire.com/?n1iey4ufmxy

Dolby TrueHD
http://www.mediafire.com/?jizzz5gedhj

Don't forget about Auzen
Browncoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 20:57   #192  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Browncoat View Post
Don't think it is helpfull, just in case. PDVD9+dumper with Auzentech on Vista x86 (before crash).

DTS HD MA
http://www.mediafire.com/?n1iey4ufmxy

Dolby TrueHD
http://www.mediafire.com/?jizzz5gedhj

Don't forget about Auzen
The last media type sent is WAVE_FORMAT_DOLBY_AC3_SPDIF.
Maybe (and probably) this is not this one which is used but this is the last one I can see.

And with this you get HD audio bitstream ?

Normally if PDVD has updated with the new patch his media types for the ATI, auzentech should have updated his drivers too ?
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 21:04   #193  |  Link
Browncoat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 19
Quote:
And with this you get HD audio bitstream ?
Not with dumper (crash...). Without dumper everything OK.

Quote:
auzentech should have updated his drivers too ?
There is no driver update for Auzen. AFAIK there are no problems with Auzent+PDVD last patch. I'll check that by myself later.

EDIT
Now i have PDVD build 2320. Bitstreaming works well on Seven x64. Logs from Vista x86 will be tomorrow (i don't think there will be any difference). It's time to go to bed now ))

Last edited by Browncoat; 8th December 2009 at 22:29.
Browncoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2009, 23:15   #194  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
OK albain and friends.

I'm here but i'm afraid i don't have good news for you.

I found those forced debugs are useless; because:

I have to open PDVD to see its PID which changes in every restarting of the application. (needed for dpinpurr)

When i mount an ISO, PDVD starts and "loading BD" slidebar stops at 98% and application crashes.

And i need to see the settings page of PDVD so as to check HD audio bitstreaming option everytime (or at least open that page and click to "OK") to get DTSHD or THD bitstreaming otherwise PDVD, at the beginning, starts decoding to PCM as default. (and unfortunately crash happens before the possibility of setup bitstreaming option.)

But anywway (even i don't thrust them) i add this DTSHDMA bitstreaming??? debug log on Vista:

http://www.mediafire.com/?t4mmjhmiiuj

and a THD bitstreaming???? debug log on Vista:

http://www.mediafire.com/?tdwlktwy0my

BTW, some more info:

LPCM 16 bit never bitstreams on Vista or 7 with PDVD , you can check it with volume slide bar; volume always changes when you move it which means LPCM is decoded to PCM by Cyberlink decoder in PDVD and it's not a bitstream at all.

(volume slide bar or mixer settings never effect anything under the cases:

1) Kernel(XP) or WASAPI (Vista) bitperfect streaming_decoded audio in SW but goes directly to your AVR bypasssing MS mixer.

Or,

2) Bitstream _non-decoded compressed audio directly goes to your AVR bypassing MS mixer.)


While debugging ffdshow we get the right debug log since we open dbgview at the beginning and play ffdshow without any crash.
We need to fix this while debugging PDVD.


The result of my trials for now: (over Ati 5*** series)

ffdshow and PDVD9 bitstream THD, DTSHD-MA, DTSHD-HR very well. (on Vista and 7)
ffdshow and PDVD9 can not bitstream LPCM for now. (on Vista and 7)

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
LPCM 24/48 bitstreaming works via PDVD9; given it a go with Vista and 7/64 while 16 bit doesn't work in any case.
24 or 16 bit LPCM bitstreams dedected as DD by ffdshow for the time being.
I can not give any true debug logs since PDVD application crashes at the beginning.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _

Last edited by rica; 10th December 2009 at 02:04.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2009, 00:03   #195  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,789
That doesn't match my results. 48/16 always goes through the windows audio stuff, but, 48/24 with the non-decoded HD audio option bypasses the windows audio stuff and is for all intents and purposes bitstreamed. When I check the info screen, it's showing that a 48/24 track is being output as 32 bit.
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2009, 00:07   #196  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
That doesn't match my results. 48/16 always goes through the windows audio stuff, but, 48/24 with the non-decoded HD audio option bypasses the windows audio stuff and is for all intents and purposes bitstreamed. When I check the info screen, it's showing that a 48/24 track is being output as 32 bit.
The problem, all LPCM BDs are 48/16 which i belong to.
If you upload a 48/24 LPCM i'll be appreciated.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2009, 00:09   #197  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,789
I'll see what I can do. It definitely won't be tonight. I've been up to my neck in work the past couple days. If someone else has a 48/24 or higher LPCM track that'd be useful. Note that it MUST be in ISO form so that it can be mounted. Rica, I'm sure you know how to take an m2ts or mkv and convert it to ISO, right?
__________________
HTPC1:W10 Creator Edition, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Panasonic 65" 1080p Plasma
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2009, 00:11   #198  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Note that it MUST be in ISO form so that it can be mounted. Rica, I'm sure you know how to take an m2ts or mkv and convert it to ISO, right?


Thanks
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2009, 00:16   #199  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
samuri, are we talking about Ati passthrough? Or Xonar?

And anybody?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
If someone else has a 48/24 or higher LPCM track that'd be useful.

Last edited by rica; 9th December 2009 at 00:45.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2009, 00:42   #200  |  Link
whurlston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
samuri, are we talking about Ati passthrough? Or Xonar?

And anybody?
ATI Passthrough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
That doesn't match my results. 48/16 always goes through the windows audio stuff, but, 48/24 with the non-decoded HD audio option bypasses the windows audio stuff and is for all intents and purposes bitstreamed. When I check the info screen, it's showing that a 48/24 track is being output as 32 bit.
That's my results as well. Renethx has also confirmed this on avsforum. One thing that I noticed though is that even though the PDVD Info screen shows 32 bits, when I connect to the graph and view the pin configuration,, it reports 24 bit (this is the report from a 96/24 2.0 LPCM track):

Code:
20. [  0006]/(Audio Out) -> [CyberLink Audio Renderer (PDVD9) [AR1]]/(Audio Input pin (rendered))
      Major:   MEDIATYPE_Audio
      Subtype: {6AD2A952-9979-4DC4-B6E1-6F3C3137B342}
          bFixedSizeSamples:    FALSE
          bTemporalCompression: FALSE
          lSampleSize:          1
          cbFormat:             18
      Format:  FORMAT_WaveFormatEx
      WAVEFORMATEX:
          wFormatTag:           0xc000 (49152)
          nChannels:            2
          nSamplesPerSec:       96000
          nAvgBytesPerSec:      576000
          nBlockAlign:          6
          wBitsPersample:       24
          cbSize:               0

Last edited by whurlston; 9th December 2009 at 00:47.
whurlston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.