Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Old 23rd September 2009, 05:38   #1  |  Link
ConsciousEffect

AVI Import Filter error: (unknown) (80040154)

Hi im a newbie to dvdripping/encoding, after watching a few tutorials on avisynth/virtualdub on youtube i decided to attempt to follow the steps of one of them for a first try. So I ripped my Return of the King DVD into vob files using dvddecrypter and loaded them up in dgindex set it to forced film mode and saved my d2v project file, i then made this avisynth script

MPEG2Source("C:\Files\vid_test\rotk test\ROTK.d2v", cpu=6)

saved it as a .avs and proceed to open the newest version of virtualdub64 and attempted to load the .avs file but received this error message

AVI Import Filter error: (unknown) (80040154)

from the information i was able to find with google apparently i need to "register my filter in vista" with a command called regsvr32, this is as far as i am able to get, the dialogue box that pops up when I type that command in may as well be in a foreign language, and it starts talking about servers and stuff i have no idea where servers come into this picture, im quite confused and i wish virtualdub would just work! but uh any help would be appreciated, and thanks for you time guys, peace.

Last edited by ConsciousEffect; 23rd September 2009 at 05:47.
ConsciousEffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2009, 08:15   #2  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти

You should stick to 32-bit everything. Your error comes from attempting to load a 32-bit filter into a 64-bit program, which won't ever work. You'd have to compile your own copy of DGDecode to get a 64-bit version (or use squid_80's very old one), the vast majority of plugins aren't. The speed difference is marginal.