Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th August 2009, 01:31   #1  |  Link
paquette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
AviSynth refuses to mix video source and Sup file

I have been having difficulty trying to get SupTitle to work with AviSynth. At first, I believed that the problem (failure of subtitles to appear) was due to SupTitle but Zach Saw, author of SupTitle, has now convinced me that my problem is that AviSynth is not doing the “video mixing” I am asking it to do.

Zach has kindly worked with me on this over the last week even to the point of testing my Sup file at his end. If I play the following avs code in WMP11, I get a black screen with no subtitles from the sup file. Using exactly equivalent code, however, Zach can easily play the subtitles from the same file.

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\SupTitle.dll")
return blankclip(300000, 1920, 1080, "YV12", 24000, 1001, color=$aaaaaa).SupTitle("G:\Video Hold\eng1.sup", false)

blankclip(300000, 1920, 1080, "YV12", 24000, 1001, color=$aaaaaa) , moreover, produces a black screen rather than a gray screen indicating quite clearly that AviSynth is not doing any video mixing for me.

This morning Zack suggested that I enable "Use video mixing renderer" at Tools --> Options --> Performance tab --> Advanced... on WMP11 under Video Acceleration. The only problem is that there is no “Advanced button” on the Performance tab on my WMP11 (Vista64).

A full discussion of our interaction in the subject is at:

http://www.zachsaw.co.cc/forum/viewt...60fd7ec4303b6e

I have been having this problem on two different physical machines!

I would be very grateful for any help in understanding and correcting whatever is going wrong here when AviSynth tries to mix a video source file with a sup subtitles file.

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by paquette; 12th August 2009 at 02:37.
paquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 09:32   #2  |  Link
Gavino
Avisynth language lover
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,379
Maybe there's something wrong with your Avisynth installation.
Can you play a simple script containing just this line?

Version()
Gavino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 16:46   #3  |  Link
paquette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Thanks for the reply!

I get a Windows Media Player cannot play the file error message.

Incidentally, I am using AviSynth 2.5.8 on Vista 64.

Last edited by paquette; 12th August 2009 at 16:49.
paquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2009, 18:15   #4  |  Link
Gavino
Avisynth language lover
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,379
Right, then there is something wrong with your Avisynth installation.

You could try re-installing.
Alternatively, have a look at your plugins folder (on XP, this would normally be C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\Plugins, not sure about Vista). You might have something incompatible in there. Delete (or temporarily move elsewhere) everything except the files
colors_rgb.avsi
DirectShowSource.dll
TCPDeliver.dll

and try again.
Gavino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 00:00   #5  |  Link
paquette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
I reinstalled Avisynth, this time with the lib, SDK etc. file options.

Same error message.

I then tried removing all but the three files you mentioned from the plugins folder--same error message!
paquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 02:31   #6  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
you stated you were on vista x64, be sure to be using the x86 version of windows media player and not the x64 version.

this should be something like
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe

avisynth is x86 and only works with other x86 programs after all.
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2009, 15:11   #7  |  Link
paquette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
Hmm--okay, fair enough! But the original problem that prompted all of this was my attempt to use Zach Saw's SupTitle to mix transcoded video with original forced subtitles (discussion at
http://www.zachsaw.co.cc/forum/viewt...60fd7ec4303b6e ). I tried that on XP 32-bit to rule out this among several other possibilities and it didn't work there either.

Still, worth a shot-- is wmplayer 32-bit available for download from M$, I wonder, and will it install on 64-bit Vista? Does anyone know? A quick inspection of their site suggests the answer is no.

I have VLC on my laptop (I am away from home so I have no access to XP or Vista 32-bit at the moment) which is 32-bit and it won't play avs files at all. Any other suggestions?

Last edited by paquette; 13th August 2009 at 15:34.
paquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2009, 17:22   #8  |  Link
paquette
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 51
No luck

I tried this on 32-bit Vista—still no luck!

Could I be missing some codec(s) that are necessary to do this??
paquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.