Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th July 2009, 01:38   #1  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Interlaced DVD playback

As I stated in a recent thread, I'm working through to encode my Anime collection and I came across a DVD that gives me those horizontal line/interlacing right from the raw DVD playback (that doesn't seem right to me). I tried playing it under WMP, VLC, and Nero Showtime under Windows XP. I ripped the main movie with DVDFab and the interlacing was still present.

I was wondering if there is a way to eliminate the interlacing's visual effect before I encode the video, or is that something Ripbot264 can take care of?
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 02:48   #2  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Most encoder GUIs offer deinterlacing options. Ripbot264 should do it, though I haven't ever used it. What MPEG-2 decoder are you using in your Directshow playback software? FFdshow doesn't automatically deinterlace true interlaced DVD content (versus throwing away pulldown flags) so unless you need to also do postprocessing on DVD playback you're probably better off for ease of use with the Microsoft, Cyberlink, etc. decoders. (Plus you can use DXVA where available).
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 02:57   #3  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
I am using the Combined Community Codec Pack. I just thought that it was strange I was experiencing the visual effect of interlacing straight from DVD playback.

Oh well, Ripbot264 will be done here in 20 minutes so I'll see how it came out.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 03:22   #4  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
That doesn't tell you anything about the actual DECODER you're using (and this is part of the problem with codec packs...). You're either using the ffdshow decoder or Gabest's decoder if the CCCP installation set the merit to default; please find out which using Graphedit etc. If it behaves anything like the built-in MPC decoder, Gabest's should do deinterlacing OK on properly flagged DVD material. That said, you've got no guarantee the material is properly flagged and you may still be using ffdshow.

Uninstall the CCCP and install only the latest ffdshow-tryouts and Haali's Media Splitter. Make sure ffdshow is NOT set to decode MPEG-2. Directshow players including WMP should then use whatever codec is the default on your system. What OS are you running? Do you see the same issues when you use MPC for playback with the internal MPEG-2 filter disabled or enabled? MPC will also show you what filters are in use so you can spot the problem.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 04:08   #5  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Ok, uninstalled CCCP

Installed MPC 6.4.9.0, ffdshow tryouts beta6 rev2527 and Haali Media Splitter 1.9.42.1 and the original ripped VOB files from the DVD play great now! No interlacing issues.

I'm running Windows XP Pro SP3, I ran Graphedit which shows I am currently using the "MainConcept (Adobe2) MPEG Video Decoder"

BTW, the previous Ripbot264 job of the last encode (before CCCP was uninstalled) still contained the interlacing blemishes so, I'll try again under this new configuration.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 06:51   #6  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Well Ripbot264 finished and the final MKV still contains the interlacing blemish.

Also, I stated earlier that the interlacing was not apparent at all if I used MPC to play the raw VOBs however, the interlacing blemish is still very apparent if I use VLC or Showtime to play the VOBs.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 12:27   #7  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Showtime may well be broken, I dunno. VLC, like ffdshow's mpeg-2 decoder, doesn't handle true interlaced DVDs automatically: you must pick a deinterlacing option on playback. That said, I prefer MPC anyway.

Ripbot264 probably requires that you set a deinterlacing option explicitly. Every other GUI I've used requires that; make sure to poke around in every config screen and look for one. Yadif() should be fine for most purposes unless you know you want a greater time/quality tradeoff by e.g. using one of the motion-comp'ed bobbers.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 13:33   #8  |  Link
RunningSkittle
Skittle
 
RunningSkittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 539
are you sure its interlaced and not telecine?
RunningSkittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 16:21   #9  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
yeah, I think it might be Telecine, I need to find a better way of identifying it. (Still seems odd that I'm seeing the Telecine blemish from DVD playback on certain players).

BTW, trying Handbrake's "detelecine" filter.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 19:14   #10  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Well, here's my results:

- Handbrake (using the "detelecine" filter, two-pass, animation profile) produced an MKV with the telecine blemishes gone, however the video playback was stuttering.

- Ripbot264 (using two-pass) produced an MKV that played back very smooth, however the telecine blemish was still very apparent.

- Staxrip (using the "Anime: Good Quality" profile and the "Yadif" filter) produced the same MKV as Handbrake (no telecine blemishes, but stuttering playback)

I can deal with the Ripbot264 MKV and just use a deinterlacing profile (during playback) for a semi-decent solution to the blemishes, but I'd really like to figure out how to solve this if I keep running into the same problem.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 22:38   #11  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Post a sample of your DVD source. ffdshow's video decoder discards soft telecine information so it's likely to be either hard telecine or true inerlaced.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 23:34   #12  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
I'd like to post a video sample, but I think that's going to fall under copyright infringement. It's the anime version of Blood The Last Vampire.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 00:30   #13  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Short samples fall under fair use exceptions to most copyright regimes. Posting them is routine practice for this forum. Worse comes to worse, Doom9 gets a DMCA complaint and deletes the link.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 00:46   #14  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Here are some screenshots, I highlighted the blemishes. Seems to occur in areas of sudden movement. These visual blemishes are consistent whether through VOB or the encoded MKV (unless I play the VOB using MPC).











__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 00:48   #15  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
We need a VIDEO SAMPLE. Screenshots tell us only about particular frames. Cut a VOB with DGIndex and put it on rapidshare or another upload site.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 02:15   #16  |  Link
Revgen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near LA, California, USA
Posts: 1,543
You may have blended fields. This is not uncommon in Anime. You can try this function in avisynth and see what you get.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=138305
__________________
Pirate: Now how would you like to die? Would you like to have your head chopped off or be burned at the stake?

Curly: Burned at the stake!

Moe: Why?

Curly: A hot steak is always better than a cold chop.
Revgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 02:26   #17  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Ok, I uploaded a sample at:

http://rapidshare.com/files/26081809...ample.rar.html

I'm pretty sure it's soft telecined 23.976 source to 29.97 as some of my other Anime was identified in a psuedo-related forum (http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=148233).

@ revgen, thank I'll give it a shot right now!
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 12:03   #18  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,054
It doesn't have blended fields. You work with anime and can't tell when you need a simple IVTC?
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 19:13   #19  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Hmm, I did try the "detelecine"(IVTC?) option in Handbrake's GUI(above) however some of the flick's more expansive scenes (CGI?) produced a very stuttery playback.
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 19:59   #20  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Then you should have posted a sample that includes the "expansive scenes" as well!

So you probably have hybrid film/video.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.