Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th June 2009, 01:55   #1  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
DG NV tools beta: Multiple file support

Here is a full beta for my NV tools with multiple file support. All 3 indexers are included (AVC, MPG, VC1) and the decoder DLL supports all of them.

I would appreciate your beta testing and reporting any irregularities you may find.

http://neuron2.net/misc/NVbeta1.zip

[Note: To use these tools you need a supported Nvidia graphics adapter and your existing license.]

Last edited by Guest; 7th June 2009 at 01:58.
Guest is offline  
Old 7th June 2009, 02:21   #2  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Excellent. I will get to testing these immediately. Thank you
Inspector.Gadget is offline  
Old 7th June 2009, 05:13   #3  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,266
Tested AVC. Seems to be working fine.

edit: forgot to mention that there's no more pauses while indexing.
__________________
http://www.7-zip.org/

Last edited by Audionut; 7th June 2009 at 09:06.
Audionut is offline  
Old 7th June 2009, 09:53   #4  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,355
I tested AVC and VC-1. Both seem to work ok.

Note on VC-1 "Play" and "Preview": The first few frames are blocky. I guess this is just a cosmetic issue?
Sharc is offline  
Old 7th June 2009, 13:31   #5  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
From the user's manual:

Quote:
The Play/Preview commands decode and display all frames from the starting point, i.e., they do not suppress orphaned frames. if any, at the start of the GOP. So you may see macroblocking on the first few frames of a Play/Preview operation if your stream has open GOPs. Note that this is purely a display matter in DGVC1IndexNV; it never occurs in the frame-served video or in demultiplexed video files. While such frames could have been suppressed, DGVC1IndexNV is intended for analysis and not playback; it can be useful to operate this way because one can easily identify open GOPs in the stream. Note that when navigating on the timeline, orphaned frames are suppressed.

Last edited by Guest; 7th June 2009 at 14:15.
Guest is offline  
Old 7th June 2009, 14:14   #6  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,355
Very clear .... sorry....
Sharc is offline  
Old 8th June 2009, 07:44   #7  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Don, CUVIDServer executable is missing in your current package...

btw
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 8th June 2009, 11:31   #8  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 832
very interesting, thought u had made a single app called nv tools instead of 3 seperate ones, would have been incredible having 1 program, but its still nice that you've added multiple file support
hajj_3 is online now  
Old 8th June 2009, 13:36   #9  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise View Post
CUVIDServer executable is missing in your current package
Added. Thank you.
Guest is offline  
Old 8th June 2009, 13:38   #10  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajj_3 View Post
very interesting, thought u had made a single app called nv tools instead of 3 seperate ones, would have been incredible having 1 program, but its still nice that you've added multiple file support
The frame server DLLs have indeed been combined into one and the merger of the indexers is still on the agenda. Some things can't happen overnight.
Guest is offline  
Old 9th June 2009, 07:34   #11  |  Link
trex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Somehow, i cannot get the new version to work.
I use a template as follows:


loadplugin("...\DGDecodeNV.dll")
avcsource("__vid__")

When I start the avs-file, there is a error saying "no such function avcsource on line 2"

This is really strange, because I never had such problems.

Trex
trex is offline  
Old 9th June 2009, 09:07   #12  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
DGSource(...)
Kurtnoise is offline  
Old 9th June 2009, 09:46   #13  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by trex View Post
there is a error saying "no such function avcsource on line 2"
Don making sure we're on the ball and reading the manuals.
__________________
http://www.7-zip.org/
Audionut is offline  
Old 9th June 2009, 12:48   #14  |  Link
trex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Kurtnoise

Thanks for pointing that out.
Reading the included help files, I had the impression that avcsource() was still the command to be used.

Cheers, trex
trex is offline  
Old 9th June 2009, 13:22   #15  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by trex View Post
Reading the included help files, I had the impression that avcsource() was still the command to be used.
What part of which help file gave you that impression?
Guest is offline  
Old 9th June 2009, 19:41   #16  |  Link
trex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Hello Neuron

The following part:


AVS Template

DGAVCIndexNV can automatically generate an Avisynth script for serving your project. It requires you to specify a template file, such as the following one:

loadplugin("...\DGDecodeNV.dll")
loadplugin("...\Decomb.dll")
avcsource("__vid__")
fielddeinterlace()



Cheers, trex
trex is offline  
Old 10th June 2009, 00:05   #17  |  Link
Turtleggjp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 225
Thanks for the multiple file support. I'm trying out a transcoding of my video camera's footage right now.

Question: Would you be willing to implement some sort of simple audio sync correction when working with multiple files? I already have to do this with my video camera's footage, and although my method does work, it is pretty lengthy and complicated to do. This is mainly because I rely on a couple of different tools give me the information I need (number of audio and video frames in each clip). Once you have this information (which your indexer should be able to calculate on the fly while indexing), it's fairly simple to decide when to toss out an audio frame at the end of one clip and when not to. If you could do this, it would certainly help out owners of AVCHD camcorders who want to just simply join several of their clips together without re-encoding the video and audio. Thanks!

Matt

EDIT: My transcode just finished, and the sync actually looks pretty good. Are you already doing some sync correction with multiple files?

Last edited by Turtleggjp; 10th June 2009 at 00:25.
Turtleggjp is offline  
Old 10th June 2009, 05:21   #18  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
No, I'm not doing anything special between files. If you can create the issue let me know and we'll see what can be done.

@trex

Thank you. I will fix the documents.
Guest is offline  
Old 10th June 2009, 16:59   #19  |  Link
Turtleggjp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 225
Ok, I'm going to be doing some experiments with my latest trip's footage (49 clips). I'll let you know how the sync comes out.

BTW, the automatic sorting of the clips turned out to be unhelpful for this particular set of clips because they start out going from 00976.m2ts to 00999.m2ts, and then go from 00116.m2ts to 00141.m2ts. When I tried to add them in this order, it sorted them all when I added the second group. I then had to move the 900 series of clips one at a time to the top. This situation sometimes come up for me especially if I change memory cards during the trip, as my camcorder uses numbers for the clips based on what card is in there. I'm guessing you are sorting the clips because Windows does not always give them to the program in order, so that's great. However, it would be better if it only sorted the clips that are being added and not the entire list of clips, so that way if you need to add them in a strange order like I did this time, it is easy to do so. Thanks

Matt

EDIT: Ok, it is definitely not in sync, just as I expected. It appeared to be before because I was having trouble playing back a 59.94 fps XviD file. The audio was drifting ahead by quite a bit, so if I played it for a short time to check the sync in a certain area, it was drifting far enough ahead to correct the sync problem in the source file making it look right! When I let it play from the beginning, the audio was about 8 seconds ahead of the video after 18 minutes. According to my calculations, the audio should be about 672ms behind by the end of the clip. Once I corrected this issue by switching MPC-HC to use the standalone XviD decoder instead of it's own internal XviD decoder, I confirmed that this was indeed the case.

I was going to post an example of how I correct the sync, but I may have just discovered a slight bug in it. I'll look into this and report back later.

EDIT2: The bug turned out to be irrelevant. Here is a sample of my calculations. The data in the first two columns is what needs to be discovered about each clip. The rest are calculations based on that data. In this case, my video frame rate is 29.97 fps and each audio frame (Dolby Digital 2.0 256kbps) is 32ms. All times are give in seconds.

Code:
Video 	Audio 	Total	Audio 	Video 		Excess 		Adjust For	Excess Audio	Round	Actual	Total	Actual	Total		Excess		
Frames	Frames	Video	Time	Time		Audio		Error		Frames			Audio	Audio	Time	Video Time	Audio
												
675	704	675	22.528	22.52252252	0.005477477	0.005477477	0.171171171	0	704	704	22.528	22.52252252	0.005477477	
495	517	1170	16.544	16.51651652	0.027483483	0.032960961	1.03003003	1	516	1220	39.04	39.03903904	0.000960961	
390	407	1560	13.024	13.01301301	0.010986987	0.011947948	0.373373373	0	407	1627	52.064	52.05205205	0.011947948	
645	673	2205	21.536	21.52152152	0.014478478	0.026426426	0.825825826	1	672	2299	73.568	73.57357357	-0.005573574	
735	767	2940	24.544	24.52452452	0.019475475	0.013901902	0.434434434	0	767	3066	98.112	98.0980981	0.013901902	
1185	1236	4125	39.552	39.53953954	0.01246046	0.026362362	0.823823824	1	1235	4301	137.632	137.6376376	-0.005637638
When the number in the "round" column is not zero, an audio frame needs to be dropped in order to maintain sync. Since the difference between the audio and video tracks has exceeded half an audio frame (16ms), dropping 1 frame will cause the sync to now be no worse than -16ms.

I got this information from my Excel spreadsheet that I use to calculate the sync info. If you would like to see this as well, I'd be happy to post it. Also, if you would like to see the clips that these results came from, I can upload them too. The six clips from the above sample total 269MB.

Last edited by Turtleggjp; 11th June 2009 at 19:38.
Turtleggjp is offline  
Old 15th June 2009, 17:50   #20  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
@Turtleggjp: what about to concatenate all your files w/ TsMuxer to recreate a m2ts file ?

@Neuron2: I'd like to submit you a feature request: to be able to select multi-ranges. Sometimes, we can have some ads somewhere in the input file (like TS files from recordings) and to avoid loading it many times that'd be great to trim such things with these tools...
Kurtnoise is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.