Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd July 2009, 23:28   #1441  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I didn't state that Coreavc has a limitation, just that Cuda does.
Obviously that isn't the issue and was just a guess, as I know the format of the video should play no part in whether an image is displayed by the renderer.
Regardless of the assumption, my first statement is correct.
No, the statement is not correct. CUDA itself doesn't have any such limitations! In fact CUDA kernels can access the complete device memory (1024 MB or even more on modern graphics cards), which is more than enough to store 16 reference frames in 1080p resolution. However most (all?) applications that pretend to use "CUDA" accelerated decoding actually do not implement their own H.264 decoder in CUDA. Instead they simply access the graphic card's "built-in" H.264 decoder through the CUDA interface. And that decoder isn't related to CUDA computing at all! It's a completely separate chip (e.g. VP2) on the graphics board. And since the decoder on that chip is "hardwired", there are inherent limitations, such as a limited MaxDPB size (which limits the number of ref frames that can be supported).
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 22nd July 2009 at 23:48.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 07:28   #1442  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,510
That's interesting to know thanks for the info, perhaps I should have been clearer but my first statement was "That would be due to your decoder"
which as you said was not either outputting mod16 or YV12 and is obviously the cause.

Last edited by ryrynz; 23rd July 2009 at 07:36.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 11:44   #1443  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,154
theres a problem with madVR not displaying 4:3 (mpeg2, 1080i, .ts & mpc-hc) movies correctly (at least on my 5:4 screen). black bars get eliminated and the image is therefore stretched vertically to fill the area where the black bars used to be at top and bottom, resulting in a wrong AR. everything's too slim. occurs in both, window mode and fullscreen.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 11:48   #1444  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 401
There's a bug madVR with mplayerc-hc that bother me. When pause a file, then full-screen the playback, then play, the player will get nothing but black. mplayerc-hc has to be killed by task manager to restart.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 15:38   #1445  |  Link
Matthias Hutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Hi @all,

@Anima123:

I've done some testing: Actually, if playback is paused and restarted with another setting (time, resolution) the player hangs up and needs to be killed via the taskmanager - at least on my PC.
Another bug is that luma upres is resetted to bicubic 50 every time. But I think others already mentioned that.
Besides that I noticed that image parts with strong color saturation get blacked out with the default Bradford color transform on my wide gammut monitor.

/Edit: Output-Primaries[x,y]: 0.667 0.333 0.159 0.704 0.150 0.051 0.333 0.347

Regards, Matt

Last edited by Matthias Hutter; 24th July 2009 at 16:07.
Matthias Hutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 17:37   #1446  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthias Hutter View Post
Besides that I noticed that image parts with strong color saturation get blacked out with the default Bradford color transform on my wide gammut monitor.
There is no defaults in cr3dlut, so, please let me know what have you used. Can you also post an image of what's happenning?
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2009, 20:02   #1447  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
There is no defaults in cr3dlut, so, please let me know what have you used. Can you also post an image of what's happenning?
I haven't checkmarked the 3dlut option, is this what you mean?

can make screenshot tomorrow evening.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2009, 01:40   #1448  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
I haven't checkmarked the 3dlut option, is this what you mean?
If you haven't checkmarked the 3dlut option, then you're not using the 3dlut...
The problem should come from other thing...
Please post also the cr3dlut version that you are using.
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2009, 16:00   #1449  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
I haven't checkmarked the 3dlut option, is this what you mean?

can make screenshot tomorrow evening.
here they are:

mpc & madvr window




mpc & madvr fullscreen




VLC



Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
Please post also the cr3dlut version that you are using.
how can I find that out, which of the files do I have to check how?

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 25th July 2009 at 16:13.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2009, 16:25   #1450  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 506
I hope madshi has time to read this thread occasionally, to log these bug reports.
Have you switched to a different render, like overlay?

Or MPC could be at fault for the squeezing of your video. When mpc-hc does something really bad like this, I delete the registry key (instructions at mpc-hc wiki) to reset the software.

Also, for immediate enjoyment, you can widen the aspect ratio using mpc-hc command "num pad 6".
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2009, 16:25   #1451  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 506
ot - btw, do you like the new vlc?
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2009, 18:55   #1452  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
I hope madshi has time to read this thread occasionally, to log these bug reports.
Have you switched to a different render, like overlay?
hm, it looks the same with overlay, but its fine with haali and evr.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
ot - btw, do you like the new vlc?
dunno, I never really use it to watch anything.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 01:14   #1453  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Thunderbolt8, are you Matthias Hutter? My request was for him. I don't see the saturation problem in your pics, can you point it?
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 09:24   #1454  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,154
whoever matthias hutter may be, its not me

I don't know about any saturation problem as well, only about the wrong AR I can see in those screenshots
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 11:28   #1455  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
I don't know about any saturation problem as well, only about the wrong AR I can see in those screenshots
So, just forget my replys about cr3dlut, I was replying to Matthias Hutter.
About your AR problems, sorry, but I can't help you...
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 13:39   #1456  |  Link
Matthias Hutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
There is no defaults in cr3dlut, so, please let me know what have you used. Can you also post an image of what's happenning?
If I don't specify Chromatic_Adaptation or set Chromatic_Adaptation 2 (Readme says "Use Bradford Transform"), then the colour problems occur.
With the third option (Kries model), the problem doesn't exists, but there is quite much banding. The problematic 3dlut parameters are as follows:

Code:
Input_Bit_Depth          8
Input_Video_Format       HD   YCbCr
Output_Bit_Depth         16
Output_Video_Format      HD   RGB_PC
Chromatic_Adaptation     2
Output_Primaries         9 0.667 0.333 0.159 0.704 0.150 0.051 0.333 0.3470.333 0.347
Sample image:

(such extreme examples are rare)
If you want to reproduce it, try colors.ytp (madTestPatternSource):

If its just me, I would still be happy if you could tell me how to fix it

Last edited by Matthias Hutter; 27th July 2009 at 13:42.
Matthias Hutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 00:53   #1457  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthias Hutter View Post
If its just me, I would still be happy if you could tell me how to fix it
Matthias,
You forgot to tell me which cr3dlut version you are using. The v2.1 had a problem similar to this that was fixed in v2.2.
Can you please verify it?
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 10:40   #1458  |  Link
Matthias Hutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
@yesgrey3 Yeah, I was using 2.1 - didn't know there was a newer version, i just used the one shipped with madVR 0.10
The Problem seems fixed now - I need further testing though.

Regards, Matthias
Matthias Hutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 12:51   #1459  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthias Hutter View Post
i just used the one shipped with madVR 0.10
Yes, madshi has been out for a while. I've released v2.2 just to fix that problem (someone else has also reported it), but since it was after madVR 0.10, it does not contain it. People who uses cr3dlut should get v2.2 instead of using the version shipped with madVR 0.10.
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 14:01   #1460  |  Link
Matthias Hutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Yeah, your right. A new bug-fixing madVR release would also be very nice.
Thanks!
Matthias Hutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.