Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th March 2009, 22:29   #1  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
ShaPLAY - Free DVD-AUDIO software player

Hello everybody,

I wrote a small application for playing DVD-AUDIO discs (MLP/PCM, watermarked/not watermarked) from generic AUDIO_TS folder or mounted ISO (from v0.5a - directly from ISO image), based on DVDAExplorer (beta3 sources).

Is it right forum to discuss?

I don't want to be banned here as spammer, I just want to share with people who need it a small app that do only one thing - plays DVD-A discs.

UPDATE: 02/04/2009 - v0.3a.
I checked it myself on XP, MCE2005, clear Vista32 and Vista 64, EVEN WITHOUT FFDSHOW. Reported Win7 work.
UPDATE: 13/04/2009 - v0.4a.
Some new features, a lot of fixes.
UPDATE: 27/05/2009 - v0.5a.
New features (gapless playback, ISO support, ReClock settings), some fixes.

Link is below.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...26#post1261226

Changes log:
v0.3a - 02.04.2009
[*] Version numeration changed: v0.0.3.0a -> v0.3a
[*] File compiled as 'Release' for removing debug info/reducing size
[+] Added: DLL-interface support for remotes (open source)
[+] Added: Working RemoteControl.dll example for Microsoft MCE Remote 2.0

[+] Added: OPEN button (select AUDIO_TS.IFO file for start)
[+] Added: STOP button
[*] Fixed: Now you can enter the path to root DVD-A folder, to AUDIO_TS folder or directly to AUDIO_TS.IFO file
[*] Fixed: Possible crash when ffdshow tries to read data after graph end
[*] Fixed: Extended characters limit in edit box for DVDA path
[*] Fixed: Crash at disc eject. But native Windows' message still appears

v0.4a - 13.04.2009
[+] Added: Indicating 0:00 at track startup
[+] Added: Time stamps in extended logging
[+] Added: Autostart of the disc when using Open button
[+] Added: Direct connection to 'DirectSound Renderer', w/o DirectShow-filters
[+] Added: Eject button
[+] Added: Turning on/off DVDA-disc info logging (now on default=off)
[+] Added: Possible to change GUID of DirectShow Renderer (in cfg file)
[+] Added: Simple volume control in DS-graph (logarithmic scale)
[+] Added: Statusbar with some track data, track info is removed from caption
[+] Added: Internal queue for pressed buttons
[+] Added: '<<' (Prev Title) and '>>' (Next Title) buttons
[+] Added: Setting for "Don't resume after Next/Prev"
[+] Added: Tooltips for some buttons
[+] Added: RemoteControl.DLL for MCE now sends CMD_CLOSE by button 'Info'
[*] Fixed: Skip of last 2-3 seconds on some tracks
[*] Fixed: Problem while loading from cfg folder name with spaces
[*] Fixed: Pauses between tracks are minimized (now from 150 to 400ms)
[*] Fixed: CMD_CLOSE from remotes was not working
[*] Fixed: Possible crash with WaveParser+BuildFullGraph
[*] Fixed: Crash on slow CPU when pressing NEXT/PREV
[*] Fixed: PAUSE/RESUME button do not changes state after NEXT/PREV
[*] Fixed: Crash on small tracks (1-2 sec)
[*] Fixed: Crash when pressing Next/Prev several times

v0.5a - 27.05.2009
[*] Fixed: Background colors on some elements
[*] Fixed: Main window customization
[*] Fixed: Added bit/freq info to standard logging
[*] Fixed: Video titles now are skipped now
[*] Fixed: Ctrl-A shortcut now works in edit box
[*] Fixed: 'Enter' key in edit box now starts playback
[+] Added: Separate 'Settings' window
[+] Added: Settings for ReClock support (testing only, use v1.8.4.4+)
[+] Added: New setting: Skip of 166.4/192kHz tracks
[+] Added: Controls for Logging, ExtendedLogging and GUID settings
[+] Added: ISO-images support (EXPERIMENTAL)
[+] Added: Disc information window
[+] Added: New setting: Linearize volume control (default is logarithmic)
[+] Added: Gapless playback of title
Attached Files
File Type: txt ShaPLAY_0_5a.txt (15.3 KB, 937 views)

Last edited by Shadson; 28th May 2009 at 16:17.
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 22:48   #2  |  Link
Cyber-Mav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
this is the correct forum. so what have you made then?? do some screenshots on here to show us the interface and the features it offers. you got stiff competition from few other software thats is already around.
Cyber-Mav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 23:13   #3  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber-Mav View Post
you got stiff competition from few other software thats is already around.
for DVD-A
both windvd/pdvd downsample to 16/48 AFAIK? only the Creative player does full blown resolution, but only on their crappy cards of course

I always have to convert to FLAC...

Last edited by leeperry; 14th March 2009 at 00:06.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 23:43   #4  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber-Mav View Post
you got stiff competition from few other software thats is already around.
Mmm, can you count more than 3 software players? I did my player, because I dont like monsters like PowerDVD or WinDVD, and I can't use Creative player - my HTPC equipped with Realtek HDA-chip.

So, what we have:
Just a player. The version is seems to be very deep alpha, but it works for me almost always.
NO DOWNSAMPLING, NO POST-PROCESSING.


Just use Open button or type the path to folder with AUDIO_TS folder, or directly to AUDIO_TS, or to AUDIO_TS.IFO file and press START.

You can download software here (version 0.5a):
http://rapidshare.de/files/47331468/...Y_0_5.zip.html

Also you don't need ffdshow_tryout (beginning from v0.0.2.1), but I still recommend to use it, daily SVN builds will be ok:
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.net/download.php

Ffdshow can be just installed, not set as a default decoder, but you have to set "uncompressed codec" in ffdshow to "all supported":

You don't need MLP decoder, the player does MLP->WAV decoding itself.

During the playback the status in ffdshow will looks like:


Settings windows:


Tested on ~30 discs (mostly MLP 5.1, but also several PCM 2.0) in XP SP2, MCE2005 SP2, Vista32 SP1 and Vista64 SP1. Reported correct work in Win7. I use ffdshow build 2637.

Again:
pre-release. But it works, really.

Small readme:
inside archive.

Enjoy!

Last edited by Shadson; 28th May 2009 at 16:16.
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2009, 00:04   #5  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,417
will look into it, will save me the hassle of converting to FLAC

leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2009, 07:18   #6  |  Link
wozio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Krakow, Poland
Posts: 141
Maybe writing directshow source filter would be better? Something like dvd navigator filter for playing dvd video discs?

Then all application could use it instead of having to use standalone application.
wozio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 08:59   #7  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
works with my metallica black album on windows 7

but crashes when the song changes

Last edited by gurubhai; 17th March 2009 at 09:02.
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 08:21   #8  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurubhai View Post
works with my metallica black album on windows 7
but crashes when the song changes
Strange. Black Album doesn't work for me. It is the only such album. But DVDAExplorer also can not extract WAV from it, so I can not count it as a bug. But it strange, that it works.

Win7 is not tested. Super that it works. As I wrote above, I will try to change DirectShow playing behavior in order to fix bug with freezes during track changes. May by in Win7 it not freezes but crashes. Will see later (hope, this weekend).
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 10:45   #9  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
ok, found the reason for crash.

It crashes if I change the ffdshow mixer setting from stereo to 5.1 ( once started the song plays fine in 5.1 till the next song comes and then it crashes ).

same with 'dark side of moon'

looking forward for proper 5.1 support and better menu support.
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 12:25   #10  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
5.1 works 100% - I use it on my HTPC (ShaPLAY -> ffdshow -> HDMI -> Onkyo 576).
It is not a good idea to change mixer setting during playback, try to set all ffdshow preferences BEFORE starting ShaPLAY (Start->Programs->ffdshow->Audio decoder configuration).

When the track finishes, it crash, I understood. But if you start playing track 1 and than press NEXT?

PS: Menu support never come. May be collection editor for your DVDA collection, but not more.
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2009, 16:44   #11  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
if I set it to 5.1 before starting then shaplay crashes while starting
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 11:32   #12  |  Link
Buggle
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Does this also work with super audio discs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 12:41   #13  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
No. As I know, you can play SACD only via analog output and pure digital coping/playing is not possible.

ShaPLAY UPDATED TO VERSION 0.0.2.2a. PLEASE USE LINK ABOVE.

Last edited by Shadson; 21st March 2009 at 23:21.
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2009, 07:48   #14  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
awesome work, shadson
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2009, 09:23   #15  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Can somebody report correct work in other than XP32 systems?
Vista32? XP64? Vista64?
With/or without ffdshow?

UPDATED: Vista32 confirmed OK (clear Vista SP1 after installation, ShaPLAY v0.0.2.2a, w/o ffdshow)
UPDATED: Vista64 tested OK (clear Vista x64 SP1 after installation, ShaPLAY v0.0.2.2a, w/o ffdshow)

Last edited by Shadson; 25th March 2009 at 13:17.
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2009, 13:27   #16  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
will it be possible to implement remember ffdshow setting and audio folder paths ?
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2009, 13:30   #17  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Yeah. next release.
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2009, 13:11   #18  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
^^waiting impatiently
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009, 20:08   #19  |  Link
Shadson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
You got it. And even more. It must work everywhere.
Download from the link above and enjoy the music!
Shadson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2009, 19:31   #20  |  Link
gurubhai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 18
works fine in windows seven 32 bit build 7057 ( haven't tried with ffdsdhow yet though)
gurubhai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvd-audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.