Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Old 1st March 2009, 15:41   #1  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer

non-ringing Lanczos scaling

Hey guys,

anyone interested in non-ringing Lanczos4 scaling?

Unfortunately I'm not an Avisynth developer, so I can only describe the algorithm, maybe someone else experienced with Avisynth can implement it.

(Caution: The following explanation is targeted at developers who know how Lanczos scaling works inside.)

---------------

First of all the contributors need to be sorted. The contributor which is nearest to the "center" (usually gets the highest weight) should be first in the list etc. The list should be sorted for distance to the center and not for weight. The sorted contributor list makes it easy to apply special processing to the "main contributors".

Code:
upscaling:
main contributors = first 2 contributors in the sorted list

downscaling:
main contributors = first "trunc(scale ratio) + 1" contribs
E.g. for 1.9x downscaling the main contributors are the first 2 contributors in the sorted list. For 2.0x downscaling the first 3.

Now calculate each destination value by using the usual Lanczos4 scaling, but additionally calculate the lowest and highest values of the main contributors. If the calculated destination value lies outside of the main contributors' value range, make sure that the destination value is modified to fit into range.