Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > IFO/VOB Editors

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th January 2009, 00:44   #1  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
New PgcEdit help file

In preparation of version 9.2 being released soon, the help file has been updated (after 4 years!).

Please download it here. Unzip it and pop it in the "Doc" subfolder of your PgcEdit folder. Don't forget to "unblock" it in the properties.

In version 9.2, you will be able to call Help with Ctrl-Shift-H

Thanks to r0lZ for this excellent program and to Wombler for his fine work, on graphics in particular. Also, many thanks to mpucoder for his permission to reproduce some of his information in the appendices.

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.

Last edited by blutach; 23rd February 2009 at 16:01. Reason: Added emphasis on unblocking
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 04:06   #2  |  Link
wiseant
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 143
Greatly appreciated - thank you
wiseant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 09:23   #3  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutach View Post
In preparation of version 9.2 being released soon, the help file has been updated (after 4 years!).

Please download it here. Unzip it and pop it in the "Doc" subfolder of your PgcEdit folder.

In version 9.2, you will be able to call Help with Ctrl-Shift-H

Thanks to r0lZ for this excellent program and to Wombler for his fine work, on graphics in particular. Also, many thanks to mpucoder for his permission to reproduce some of his information in the appendices.

Regards
Thanks Blu!

I've said this to you privately on a number of occasions but it really is a genuine pleasure working with you and I've been glad to be a part of this.

As they say in Aussieland good onya mate!

Thanks also to the guys on this forum for their thanks. Much appreciated.


Wombler

Last edited by Wombler; 27th January 2009 at 09:26.
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 10:31   #4  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,022
A big thank also from me!
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 11:17   #5  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
@blutach

I've just downloaded this to have a look at here.

Some of the small icons for the menu sections no longer work and are now displayed as black squares.

Specifically the Preview, DVD, PGC & Scratchbook menus.

Very easily fixed no doubt.


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 14:21   #6  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
Hmmm - they look alright to me. ANyone else got problems seeing the icons in the PgcEdit's menus section?

Remember, you'll need to unblock it from the properties sheet for things to display (to get round the DEP thingo).

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.

Last edited by blutach; 27th January 2009 at 14:25.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 15:11   #7  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
I've already unblocked it and it still displays as per the attached.

Weird the way it's only certain icons though.

Name:  Image1.png
Views: 664
Size:  5.5 KB


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 20:23   #8  |  Link
M_Knox
Custom user
 
M_Knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 70
When I open the help file, Internet Explorer asks me to install Turkish language support for the help file to be displayed correctly (I cancel this message and the help file is displayed correctly). I looked inside the CHM and found out, that it has "iso-8859-3" encoding. Are you using any of the South European characters?
__________________
M.O.R.R.I.S.: Mechanical Obedient Replicant Responsible for Infiltration and Sabotage
morris#rarlab*com
M_Knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 20:48   #9  |  Link
M_Knox
Custom user
 
M_Knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 70
@blutach
I found out, that the icons that fail to display correctly on Wombler's system are full pictures, i.e. they do not contain transparent pixels. All the other icons contain at least one transparent pixel. I don't have a slightest idea why it is so, though.
__________________
M.O.R.R.I.S.: Mechanical Obedient Replicant Responsible for Infiltration and Sabotage
morris#rarlab*com
M_Knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 20:48   #10  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
The original was done up in Microsoft Word which I set for UK English.

When we'd reached a certain stage Blutach split it up into separate sections and compiled it as the CHM file.

So as far as the compiled version goes I've no idea but there's no reason I'm aware of for it to be using any strange characters.

I've re-downloaded the file now I'm at home and it works fine here so I'm still uncertain as to what's causing this.

Maybe it's just an issue with my machine in work.


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 20:55   #11  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Knox View Post
@blutach
I found out, that the icons that fail to display correctly on Wombler's system are full pictures, i.e. they do not contain transparent pixels. All the other icons contain at least one transparent pixel. I don't have a slightest idea why it is so, though.
Interesting.

I'm only after checking them to see if the colour depth or anything else I could see was different but I'd never have thought of that one.

Can't think what difference that would make though and they're all prepared in the same software with the same techniques.

Maybe they've been inserted slightly differently or something.

I don't have the software to check this but Blutach can probably track this down.


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 21:30   #12  |  Link
M_Knox
Custom user
 
M_Knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 70
@Wombler,

I prepared a small test: http://members.elysium.pl/morris/mis..._icon_test.rar

One CHM is compiled with original icons taken from PgcEdit_help file. The other one is with corrected icons.
__________________
M.O.R.R.I.S.: Mechanical Obedient Replicant Responsible for Infiltration and Sabotage
morris#rarlab*com
M_Knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 21:43   #13  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
That's great, thanks.

I see you've added transparent pixels.

Unfortunately I won't be able to test it until tomorrow though as they both work fine here, but I'll report back then.


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 22:03   #14  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
Many thanks to both of you for your help in tracking down this problem.

Wombler, if there needs to be changes to those little icons, please email me.

@M_Knox, no there are no South European characters. It is as Wombler said. Are you suggesting that I change the headers to 8859-1? BTW: Both your test CHMs work fine here.

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.

Last edited by blutach; 28th January 2009 at 00:18.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 22:06   #15  |  Link
r0lZ
PgcEdit daemon
 
r0lZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wombler View Post
So as far as the compiled version goes I've no idea but there's no reason I'm aware of for it to be using any strange characters.
Maybe that arrows in the menu labels that my system cannot display correctly? I've reported that problem on the beta forum. At a specific stage during the development of the manual, I've also been told to install the support for another language, but I haven't paid attention to that.
However, I see now, on my new clean WinXP installation, that the arrows are displayed correctly, and I have not installed the Turkish language support!

[EDIT] I forgot to say that I have no problem with the icons, against on my new XP system. (I haven't tried on my old system, as it takes ages to boot.)
__________________
r0lZ
PgcEdit homepage (hosted by VideoHelp)
BD3D2MK3D A tool to convert 3D blu-rays to SBS, T&B or FS MKV

Last edited by r0lZ; 27th January 2009 at 22:27.
r0lZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 22:23   #16  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutach View Post
Wombler, if there needs to be changes to those little icons, please email me.
Will do.

If M_Knox's versions work then it's something that's extremely easily fixed.

Although to be honest I can't for the life of me fathom why the lack of transparency could cause any problems but it's the only difference we can find so who knows.


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 22:27   #17  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
I'm glad about the arrows! It seems your reinstall has gone well r0lZ! I know that's a big task.

Thanks to everyone for their feedback.

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 22:33   #18  |  Link
Wombler
Affable Wanderer
 
Wombler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0lZ View Post
Maybe that arrows in the menu labels that my system cannot display correctly? I've reported that problem on the beta forum. At a specific stage during the development of the manual, I've also been told to install the support for another language, but I haven't paid attention to that.
However, I see now, on my new clean WinXP installation, that the arrows are displayed correctly, and I have not installed the Turkish language support!
Hmmm the South European character set contains mainly accented characters and is used in Turkish.

Seems like too much of a coincidence to me although r0lZ's problem may be caused by the headers.

Here are the various character set details.

http://czyborra.com/charsets/iso8859.html


Wombler
Wombler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 01:15   #19  |  Link
M_Knox
Custom user
 
M_Knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by blutach View Post

@M_Knox, no there are no South European characters. It is as Wombler said. Are you suggesting that I change the headers to 8859-1?
I just bursted through all the HTML files and did not find any special character that needed iso-8859-3 charset - that means you can safely change headers to iso-8859-1

To clarify things - I'm using Windows 2000 PL at home, and it was complaining about the Turkish language support missing. On my business laptop I have Windows XP and it does not complain
__________________
M.O.R.R.I.S.: Mechanical Obedient Replicant Responsible for Infiltration and Sabotage
morris#rarlab*com
M_Knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 04:55   #20  |  Link
blutach
Country Member
 
blutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: is everything!
Posts: 6,499
That's probably it - I'm on XP, too. I'll change the headers though and re-upload. I've also added a bit of text to a couple of pages for the web version, which I am keen to have in the compile.

Thanks for your feedback.

A new file has been uploaded - please use the link in post 1.

Regards
__________________
Les

Only use genuine Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden media.
blutach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.