Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th August 2010, 18:47   #9061  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick9461 View Post
The latest version of DVDFab(7.0.9.0) failed on Star Trek Season 2 Disk 1, I will try 'The Da Vinci Code' next.
From my recollections none of the Star Trek series discs have PiP, and therefore not DTS Express. They do have branching versions to pick up the old or new graphics.

I have tried:
The Mummy
Mummy Returns
Terminator 2 - Ultimate
Terminator Salvation

All worked so far.
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 19:01   #9062  |  Link
A.Fenderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 212
I'm pretty sure some of the Star Trek TOS discs have DTS Express while others don't--it may break down by season, not sure.
A.Fenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 19:24   #9063  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Fenderson View Post
I'm pretty sure some of the Star Trek TOS discs have DTS Express while others don't--it may break down by season, not sure.
I've done them all with bd-rb and if they had dts express it couldn't have been done.

Just checked my Region B ST S2D1 and it has DTS-HD MA 7.1 and Dolby 2.0.

I also understood that DTS-Express was only used for PiP.
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 23:44   #9064  |  Link
nick9461
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Star Trek US version Season 2 Disk 1 has pip with DTS Express - for Episode Amok Time only. The other disks also have pip for only one episode per disk.

Back to DVDFab, it failed with the Da Vinci Code. The pip is there but no sound.

I have other movies with DTS Express, but I have wasted too much time on this. Must have been a prank, or someone is mental.
nick9461 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 08:10   #9065  |  Link
rippn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick9461 View Post
The latest version of DVDFab(7.0.9.0) failed on Star Trek Season 2 Disk 1, I will try 'The Da Vinci Code' next.
So far I've done:

Perfect:

Green Zone (U Control PiP)
Groundhog Day (Standard PiP)
Repo Men (U Control PiP)
Sherlock Holmes (Maximum Movie Mode)

Issues:

Clash of the Titans (Maximum Movie Mode) (works great in my JVC player, PS3 all video stops starts stops starts, in power dvd it shows a weird scrambled window where the pip should be and in total media theater 3 it really acts weird like it's rewinding 5 frames then going forward 10, none of this happens with the retail copy)

Twilight (Standard PiP) (works great but turns on a subtitle when showing the school sign, even when PiP is off, I posted on their forums about this, I believe it has to do with the program removing UOPs even when this is turned off)

I'm currently redoing Clash of the Titans and doing Terminator Salvation.

But I think jdobbs would probably prefer we didn't talk about dvdfab as this is the DVD/BD Rebuilder forum.

Last edited by rippn; 7th August 2010 at 09:05.
rippn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 08:16   #9066  |  Link
rippn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick9461 View Post
Star Trek US version Season 2 Disk 1 has pip with DTS Express - for Episode Amok Time only. The other disks also have pip for only one episode per disk.

Back to DVDFab, it failed with the Da Vinci Code. The pip is there but no sound.

I have other movies with DTS Express, but I have wasted too much time on this. Must have been a prank, or someone is mental.
If your testing in a software player and running sound out of a SPDIF/TOSlink/Digital Out, especially in powerdvd, you need to change the sound output mode to "DTS Mixing" in order to hear the sound in PiP even on retail copies.

Last edited by rippn; 7th August 2010 at 08:25.
rippn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 10:42   #9067  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 576
Okay - I have checked the discs in detail and DVDFab isn't handling DTS Express - it's just throwing it away like bd-rb. When I compared the streams from 'The Mummy' with TsMuxer, the original gives the usual message about an unsupported track, whereas the new one doesn't. There are no extra tracks (they haven't converted it to another 'non-compliant' format), so given all the limitations of DVDFab, it's not going to help with these types of disc.
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 13:13   #9068  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmih
But I think jdobbs would probably prefer we didn't talk about dvdfab as this is the DVD/BD Rebuilder forum.
I just don't see the point. Even if it did handle DTS Express -- that wouldn't change the fact that it would still have to be processed by BD-RB.

Let's stay on-topic with BD-RB.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 18:21   #9069  |  Link
AGKnotUser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 162
For 34.06 and earlier: New settings not saved to old project file

If I try to save new settings to an existing Project file, the settings don't get saved. I have to delete the existing file to save the new settings.
AGKnotUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 19:46   #9070  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I just don't see the point. Even if it did handle DTS Express -- that wouldn't change the fact that it would still have to be processed by BD-RB.

Let's stay on-topic with BD-RB.
I think that the person who mentioned it thought it might give you an insight how to do it if they (dvdfab) were successful. However, if it worked it would only have needed bd-rb to go to bd-5/9, as they do bd-25 as full disc - only anything lower is avchd.
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 02:28   #9071  |  Link
discoballs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 6
The Descent Part 2

Have a problem with full backup of The Descent Part 2. Bd rebuilder selects Aud_001 LPCM Multi-Ch English so as I wanted Aud_002 DTS-HD XLL Multi-Ch English I changed the selection to that and the sound goes out of sync all the way through. Tried 001 LPCM and the sound is in sync. Have tried a few different versions and all the same. This is the 1st of 60+ to have problems. Any ideas?
discoballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 13:49   #9072  |  Link
8ternity
Registered User
 
8ternity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At Home
Posts: 403
Hello,

I've got to report for the version 34.06 a major error for conversion of SHERLOCK HOLMES. The exported project all makes mosaics to all bonus features. I have to report also that the conversion with the version 34.04 works #1.

Here snapshot and detailed informations:





Too much caracters to paste here has a code... so i upload a txt file that can be downloaded for both conversion (34.04 and 34.06 conversion)

http://rapidshare.com/files/41174146...4_and_3406.txt
__________________
PC; 7.5 on 7.9 (Windows Experience Rating) on the lower rating.

Last edited by 8ternity; 8th August 2010 at 13:52.
8ternity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 14:00   #9073  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGKnotUser View Post
If I try to save new settings to an existing Project file, the settings don't get saved. I have to delete the existing file to save the new settings.
Hmmm, don't think I've done any work there, but I'll check it out.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 14:02   #9074  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by discoballs View Post
Have a problem with full backup of The Descent Part 2. Bd rebuilder selects Aud_001 LPCM Multi-Ch English so as I wanted Aud_002 DTS-HD XLL Multi-Ch English I changed the selection to that and the sound goes out of sync all the way through. Tried 001 LPCM and the sound is in sync. Have tried a few different versions and all the same. This is the 1st of 60+ to have problems. Any ideas?
I'm not familiar with that one. I'll see if I can find it.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 14:04   #9075  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8ternity View Post
Hello,

I've got to report for the version 34.06 a major error for conversion of SHERLOCK HOLMES. The exported project all makes mosaics to all bonus features. I have to report also that the conversion with the version 34.04 works #1.

Here snapshot and detailed informations:





Too much caracters to paste here has a code... so i upload a txt file that can be downloaded for both conversion (34.04 and 34.06 conversion)

http://rapidshare.com/files/41174146...4_and_3406.txt
Interesting. I did the US version of "Sherlock Holmes" with no issue whatsoever. It sure looks like a playback/frameserving issue. You may want to try reinstalling BD-RB and all helper apps from scratch.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 18:20   #9076  |  Link
KarstenS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 61
I have a little problem with Monters vs. Aliens. I reencoded it as full disk. For main movie I selected one audio track: german dd 5.1 (there is only one german track). Rebuilding run fine. Now, when I want to play this, it plays, but I get crackled sound. I get the german sound and the audio comment at same time, but it sounds like changing between them frame by frame.

Sorry. Deleted the log already. Should check the movie before deleting them. I know.
KarstenS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 18:33   #9077  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarstenS View Post
I have a little problem with Monters vs. Aliens. I reencoded it as full disk. For main movie I selected one audio track: german dd 5.1 (there is only one german track). Rebuilding run fine. Now, when I want to play this, it plays, but I get crackled sound. I get the german sound and the audio comment at same time, but it sounds like changing between them frame by frame.

Sorry. Deleted the log already. Should check the movie before deleting them. I know.
What are you playing back the movie with, software player like TMT3, PowerDVD or standalone or PS3?
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 18:38   #9078  |  Link
KarstenS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 61
TMT3. But that should not matter. As I selected only one audio track to keep in the main movie file, there should be no audio comment at all.

I can post my settings, if it helps:

Code:
[Options]
MODE=0
ENCODE_QUALITY=2
ONEPASS_ENCODING=0
AUTO_QUALITY=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=deu;eng;ger;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
SD_CONVERT=1
COLOR_BOOST=0
RESIZE_1080=0
DEINTERLACE=0
DTS_REENCODE=0
AC3_REENCODE=0
AC3_640=1
AC3_192=0
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=1
AVCHD=0
REMOVE_WORKFILES=1
FULL_AVCHD=0
REMOVE_OUTPUT=0
AUDIO_TRACK_LIMIT=1
SUBTITLE_TRACK_LIMIT=1
CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=15000
OPEN_GOP=1
MOVIE_ONLY_LOOP=1
USE_FILTERS=0
TARGET_SIZE=15000
SHUTDOWN_SLEEP=1
[Paths]
SOURCE_PATH=E:\
WORKING_PATH=D:\Video\
Drive E is the BD-ROM.

And the Inspect:

Code:
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter:  Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3516, not recommended version
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.34.0.6, Ok
- X264:  Ok
- AFTEN:  Ok
- FAAC:  Ok
- MP4BOX:  Ok
- WAVI:  Ok
- TSMUXER:  Ok
KarstenS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 19:24   #9079  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
This is definately an issue with TMT3! Does your backup also have PiP?
If you have PowerDVD, and could use IMGBurn to create an image of your backup, then load that image with Virtual clone or Daemon and play it with PowerDVD you will find there is no problem.
Better yet, if you could burn it to disc and play it on a standalone, you will also find no audio issues.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 19:33   #9080  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarstenS View Post
TMT3. But that should not matter. As I selected only one audio track to keep in the main movie file, there should be no audio comment at all.

I can post my settings, if it helps:

Code:
[Options]
MODE=0
ENCODE_QUALITY=2
ONEPASS_ENCODING=0
AUTO_QUALITY=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=deu;eng;ger;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
SD_CONVERT=1
COLOR_BOOST=0
RESIZE_1080=0
DEINTERLACE=0
DTS_REENCODE=0
AC3_REENCODE=0
AC3_640=1
AC3_192=0
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=1
AVCHD=0
REMOVE_WORKFILES=1
FULL_AVCHD=0
REMOVE_OUTPUT=0
AUDIO_TRACK_LIMIT=1
SUBTITLE_TRACK_LIMIT=1
CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=15000
OPEN_GOP=1
MOVIE_ONLY_LOOP=1
USE_FILTERS=0
TARGET_SIZE=15000
SHUTDOWN_SLEEP=1
[Paths]
SOURCE_PATH=E:\
WORKING_PATH=D:\Video\
Drive E is the BD-ROM.

And the Inspect:

Code:
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter:  Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3516, not recommended version
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.34.0.6, Ok
- X264:  Ok
- AFTEN:  Ok
- FAAC:  Ok
- MP4BOX:  Ok
- WAVI:  Ok
- TSMUXER:  Ok
Your FFDSHOW is not a correct version. That might cause problem for Bd-Rebuilder.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.