Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd January 2009, 21:16   #841  |  Link
ultratoto14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 112
Ok thanks
ultratoto14 is offline  
Old 3rd January 2009, 13:23   #842  |  Link
crypto
@DVBPortal
 
crypto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Yes. You need to resize anamorphic video in your Avisynth script.
Or, from the quality aspect, it would be better to keep it this way and flag the recode as anamorphic.
crypto is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 11:38   #843  |  Link
jonathonsunshine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
the following were my results from encoding a 1080p avc stream croppped at resized to 1280x528 (via avisynth). I did it the three different ways that I know, of dgAVCdec , dgAVCdecNV and finally, wrapping the stream in the matroska container and loading it with directshowsource

The stream was 20 seconds and had an average bitrate of 30 and a max of 41

I am encoding with 2gb ddr2 ram, 1066mhz, a Intel CPU, Q6600 / GeForce 8800GS 384mb DDR3 ram.

1st pass 2nd pass

dgAVCdec 100a26
14.61 fps 7.55 fps

dgAVCdecNV 108
23.76 fps 8.11 fps

ffdshow-libav
19.73 fps 7.65 fps

to be quite frank, I was really expecting a bit more...

So um... I'm not a programmer but are there any plans for down the line, having the GPU handle cropping and resizing as well ?

I took the encoded 1280x528 steam, indexed and encoded it the three different ways without any resizing and got the following results.

1st pass 2nd pass

dgAVCdec 100a26
26.52 fps 9.98 fps

dgAVCdecNV 108
30.19 fps 10.14 fps

ffdshow-libav
26.96 fps 10.00 fps


So it would appear to me that offsetting the decoding of the stream itself bears very little benefit but if it could be used also to handle resizing of the image, then that would result in a 30% speed increase.

On another note, (and I did 1st do a search of the thread for "saver" and didn't find anything but i'm sure this has point has been raised before), I have had to disable the screensaver.

Last edited by jonathonsunshine; 4th January 2009 at 11:42. Reason: i had a nice little table made up of the different FPS, but on the board, all the spaces were taken out.
jonathonsunshine is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 13:25   #844  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,408
@jonathonsunshine: "to be quite frank, I was really expecting a bit more..." Why? Decoding normally is not the major work that needs to be done during reencoding to h264. If you use high speed settings with (--me hex, --subme 1,..) speed difference might be higher, since decoding speed will become a greater factor.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 14:16   #845  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
If you use high speed settings with (--me hex, --subme 1,..) speed difference might be higher, since decoding speed will become a greater factor.
As can be seen from the first pass encoding times. Much greater difference.
Audionut is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 14:24   #846  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
I've noticed two small errors in DGAVCIndex (and NV) User Manuals, in the DGV Format section:
1-"DGAVCIndexProjectFile" should be "DGAVCIndexFile" or "DGAVCIndexFileNV"
2-"AUD 80,c0" should be "AUDIO 80,c0"
yesgrey is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 14:46   #847  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
The d2v files included the colorimetry info. Is this information also included in the dga files? It's shown in the info dialog during the project creation, but I cannot find it in the dga file...
yesgrey is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 15:07   #848  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathonsunshine View Post
dgAVCdec 100a26
Why are you using such and old version?

http://neuron2.net/dgavcdec/dgavcdec108.zip

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathonsunshine View Post
to be quite frank, I was really expecting a bit more...
Well Frank, it might serve you well to read this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
On some machines there may be a small performance improvement, but the main purpose of using CUDA is to get correct decoding for the streams that are not handled by libavcodec, and to access some of the post-processing capabilities of CUDA.
rack04 is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 16:02   #849  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
And to get a VC-1 source filter that supports random access.
Guest is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 16:09   #850  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathonsunshine View Post
I'm not a programmer but are there any plans for down the line, having the GPU handle cropping and resizing as well?
Thanks for your test results and the information about screensavers. I will ask Nvidia about your question above.
Guest is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 16:09   #851  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
I've noticed two small errors in DGAVCIndex (and NV) User Manuals
Thank you for pointing these out.
Guest is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 16:10   #852  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey3 View Post
The d2v files included the colorimetry info. Is this information also included in the dga files? It's shown in the info dialog during the project creation, but I cannot find it in the dga file...
It's not in the DGA file but it is in the log file.
Guest is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 17:27   #853  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
It's not in the DGA file but it is in the log file.
Thanks. I think it would be safer to also put it in the dga, in case we delete the log... but ok, I just have to be carefull and only delete the log after all the work has been done.
yesgrey is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 18:39   #854  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 784
has development started on an ATI version of this app yet neuron or are you waiting for their equivalent of CUDA to improve or waiting for API's that will allow you to create an ATI version?

This app is looking very nice indeed.
hajj_3 is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 19:04   #855  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajj_3 View Post
has development started on an ATI version of this app yet neuron or are you waiting for their equivalent of CUDA to improve or waiting for API's that will allow you to create an ATI version?
How do you expect me to do anything in the absence of an API?
Guest is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 19:17   #856  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 784
ahh, didnt realise they hadn't released the API's, are they planning to release them or have they not released any info about their plans with API's?
hajj_3 is offline  
Old 4th January 2009, 19:22   #857  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Off topic for this thread and you'd have to ask them. I am not privy to their business plan.
Guest is offline  
Old 6th January 2009, 09:24   #858  |  Link
Chefkoch_ico
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 143
regarding license.

I just donated and got the license.

I am going to return my new graphics card and get a different one ("Point of View" vs EVGA, both 9600GT) since its too loud and the fan not controlable. Not automatic or by software.

Do I need a new license for it afterwards?

Best regards
Chefkoch_ico is offline  
Old 6th January 2009, 14:49   #859  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
You won't need a new license.

BTW, my BFG 9600GT was making noise too, but it was a subtle "chirping". It turned out to be a small piezoelectric speaker intended to alarm an undervoltage condition. I'm sure there was no undervoltage. Anyway, I just covered the little exit hole of the speaker and it's inaudible now.
Guest is offline  
Old 9th January 2009, 21:39   #860  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Version 1.0.9

1. Added support for the new audio types found on BluRay disks.

2. Improved the audio delay calculation.

3. Removed the Treat I as IDR option as it is now always enabled.

4. Machine ID now not tied to system partition, so machine ID changes will be rare.

5. Updated the CUVID server to 1.0.3.

http://neuron2.net/dgavcdecnv/dgavcdecnv.html

Last edited by Guest; 10th January 2009 at 17:29.
Guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.