Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th August 2008, 23:05   #1  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,170
"x264 stopped working" (Windows 2008)

In Windows Server 2008, I'm getting this error after a few hours when when transcoding with RipBot264, which uses x264: "x264 stopped working" (see further below). I'm trying to update the x264 version bundled with RipBot264, but when I do that, RipBot264 immediately exits.

Apart from the obvious question whether someone has encountered this error too, is there a special 'bundled' version of x264 or something that I'm unaware of? I'd like tp update the version, hoping maybe that will make the error go away.

Thanks.


--------------
Product
x264.exe

Problem
Stopped working

Date
8/16/2008 3:08 PM

Status
Report Sent

Problem signature
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: x264.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 48338a8c
Fault Module Name: x264.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 48338a8c
Exception Code: c000001d
Exception Offset: 0002f5d9
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.400.8
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: fd00
Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
Additional Information 3: fd00
Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160

Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID: 887741298
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 02:16   #2  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Vanilla, unpatched builds can be found at http://x264.nl/, and patched ones can be found in the Patches thread in this subforum, among other places. I highly recommend patched builds if you have half a clue what you're doing with them; it seems there are always excellent features like Psy RDO, the new b-frame decision, etc. Or you could compile your own
Ranguvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 02:46   #3  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
hardware problems?
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 02:58   #4  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Exception Code: c000001d
seems to correspond to STATUS_ILLEGAL_INSTRUCTION
so maybe server 2008 (similar base as vista) has some compatibility issues from the build...
would need to compile your own version and test this
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 03:12   #5  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemuri-_9 View Post
so maybe server 2008 (similar base as vista) has some compatibility issues from the build...
"Illegal Instruction" sounds more like a CPU compatibility problem. But "getting this error after a few hours" definitely sounds like a hardware (overheat) problem...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 03:33   #6  |  Link
Shinigami-Sama
Solaris: burnt by the Sun
 
Shinigami-Sama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: /etc/default/moo
Posts: 1,923
maybe some of the ASM is is changed to be privilaged(sounds like an MS thing to do)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjust View Post
interlacing and telecining should have been but a memory long ago.. unfortunately still just another bizarre weapon in the industries war on image quality.
Shinigami-Sama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 03:39   #7  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinigami-Sama View Post
maybe some of the ASM is is changed to be privilaged(sounds like an MS thing to do)
Whether a specific instruction is privileged or not is defined by the CPU Architecture, not by the OS. So M$ cannot change that, only Intel can
The OS kernel only handles the interrupt that will be triggered by the CPU when an unprivileged process tries to call a privileged instruction.

Also it would be unlikely that the "problematic" ASM code is never executed for several hours and then suddenly it is...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 19th August 2008 at 04:00.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 04:13   #8  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,174
Most common cause of crashes is system instability caused by overheating or bad memory/power supply, avisynth using too much memory, or bad avisynth plugins. Check the ripbot264 threads for specific details on updating x264, in case it uses some customized variation.

To check a hardware problem, leave wprime running all day, and install tempurature monitors if you can. For the second, watch task manager every so often to see if memory use in x264.exe keeps climbing. For the last, you have to debug it to find out exactly where it's crashing out, which .dll or .exe it's in.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.