Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Decrypting

Old 6th May 2008, 03:20   #1  |  Link
gvegastiger

New to decrypting..couple of questions

Hey guys, I'm a noob looking for some advice. Let me first tell you what I'm trying to do and then ask some specific questions. I'm not just asking a generic question about what's the best software but which software are specific features for my purposes. I hope this isn't breaking any forum rules (I don't think it is).

I'm at the beginning stages of taking my 40ish or so DVDs in my personal collection (just SD stuff) and making a backup as well as serving them up to my Tivo in On Demand fashion. Tivo S2's read mpegs and mpegs only, so in order to get my movies there, I just need to rename the VOB file ext to mpg.

Here's what I'm trying to find and am not sure which combination would work best.

1) Free would be great
2) Something that rips my DVDs that may have new encryption methods (DVD Decryptor won't work for me bc its unsupported now)
3) Something that will rip only the main title into 1 VOB file. (which is why DVDFab Decryptor won't work for me)
4) Something that allows me to compress the VOB file while it rips (ala DVDShrink)

Now for the questions. I tried DVDShrink and it did ok, however the files it creates skip when playing on my Tivo. I had to run them through the Quickstream Fix on VideoRedo to clean them up.
Is there a better ripping software that wouldnt require me to clean up the VOB file before serving it up to the Tivo and that rips into one VOB file?
Or
Is there a free software tool similar to VideoReDo's Quickstream fix that I could use instead? I liked VideoReDo's tool however I don't want to pay $50 for that one aspect of the software.