Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th March 2008, 07:33   #1  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,248
Possible reason for "no plugin list"?

Greetings.

A reinstall of Windows fixed it - but I am curious which reason could have disabled AviSynth for one of the users of the german doom9/Gleitz board. He tried to load a simple 2-line script (LoadPlugin, *Source) and got the following error message:

Code:
Avisynth open failure:
LoadPlugin: unable to get plugin list $Plugins$, loading "Plugin.dll"
(X:\00.avs, line 3)
Could you guess into the blue what might be able to destroy AviSynth's ability to build a plugins list? A CPFH (codec pack from hell), a "non-plugin" in the autoload folder, missing access permissions, ... ?
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008, 13:01   #2  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
The relevant piece of code, line 69, plugins.cpp
Code:
    env->SetGlobalVar("$Plugins$", env->SaveString((const char*)plugins, max_plugins*sizeof(HMODULE)));
    try {
        loaded_plugins = (HMODULE*)env->GetVar("$Plugins$").AsString();
    }
    catch(...) { // probably should be IScriptEnvironment::NotFound
      if (!quiet)
        env->ThrowError("LoadPlugin: unable to get plugin list $Plugins$, loading \"%s\"", filename);
      return false;
    }
Best guess, the SetGlobalVar failed a malloc due to no memory so the subsequent GetVar threw a NotFound.

Else corrupt copy Avisynth.dll on disk or in memory.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008, 18:19   #3  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,248
Thanks for a guess. Maybe a "SetMemoryMax()" could have helped, maybe not... he already installed a new Windows.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008, 22:00   #4  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH
"SetMemoryMax()"
No that just controls the size of the Video Buffers pool.

A corrupt Avisynth.dll or some other system .dll is most likely.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 20:18   #5  |  Link
Kiichi
Registered User
 
Kiichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 10
Sorry for interrupt... I faced this problem today on newly installed windows system.

My hardware: Dell XPS M1330 Laptop computer with 2GB RAM.
I partitioned HDD and installed two OS: Japanese WinXP and Vista.

First is JWinXP, I installed all hotfix and some other applications (such as Firefox, foobar2000...) then installed avisynth 2.5.7 and latest MeGUI (megui online updated to newest state), but when I try to use AVS builder of MeGUI I got this error
Quote:
Avisynth script error: loadPlugin: unable to get plugin list $Plugins$, loading c:\program files\avisynth2.5\plugins\vsfilter.dll
Not only vsfilter but TDeint, DGDecode... all DLLs are unable to load.
(I downloaded AviSynth and MeGUI directly from SourceForge, I think the file is not broken.

After a couple tries to uninstall/reinstall AVIsynth and MeGUI I gave up and turn to install a new Windows Vista to test. This time AVISynth is the first 3rd party application I installed. After I installed MeGUI, it can work to read AVS and show the right result. But after a few windows update hotfix installed, I got the same error..... I don't know what's wrong with it. But I really need to get rid of this issue before I can normally use this computer.
Kiichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2008, 22:13   #6  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
On reading the code again, I beleive it cannot be SetGlobalVar failing a malloc, that would cause a GPF, therefore it must be some form of corruption.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiichi
... But after a few windows update hotfix installed, I got the same error ...
And this indicates that some other component is involved.

Try emptying your Plugins directory, in case an Autoloaded plugin is screwing over the $Plugins$ data area.

With an empty plugins directory, are you able to run a simple script with only just "Version()" in it?

If possible use system restore to roll back the hotfixes to see if it starts working again. If it does then manually install the hotfixes a few at a time (Make system restore checkpoints before each upgrade) to identify the Hotfix that breaks things.

Also try the 2.5.8 alpha release.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 09:24   #7  |  Link
Kiichi
Registered User
 
Kiichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 10
Hello IanB,

I think I've find the root cause.

1. I deleted AVISynth2.5/plugins directory
2. Reinstall AVISynth 2.5.8 a2
3. Write test.avs with Version() function --> OK.
4. Install MeGUI and online update --> Open d2v file OK.
5. Install DirectVobSub 2.38 (vsfilter.dll , date 2008-3-6, comes from K-Lite Codec Pack 3.85) --> $Plugins$ trashed.

Replace vsfilter.dll by an older version (date 2007-6-8, from older K-lite) solves my problem.

Now avisynth works under JWinXP and WinVista.
Kiichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 10:29   #8  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,248
See - Codec Packs are Evil. -- The reliable source for vsfilter.dll should be http://sf.net/projects/guliverkli
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2008, 17:49   #9  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,529
Not true, the latest released version of vsfilter there has several known and long-fixed bugs, including a thread hang on most dual-core architectures! A better option is the files from guliverkli2 or mpc-hc projects.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 13:07   #10  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,248
Good...

Let's check if those also support again the once disabled Fade-In/Out (which still worked in the AviSynth 2.0x plugin of VobSub 2.23).
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 17:54   #11  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,234
Had the same problem myself, actually it was driving me nuts! luckily I came across this thread, the culprit is indeed vsfilter.dll

I would have never have thought to change that since it was working before with the same filters, but anyways!
burfadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2008, 22:28   #12  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,462
Trying out VSfilter.dll today, actually renamed to VSfilter.vdf w/VdubM, latest version 962,560 bytes says 1.0.1.4 in Properties. Sometime after I'd copied this vsfilter.dll into the Avisynth plugins directory I got this error on an .avs file I'd been opening successfully all day:

Avisynth open failure:
LoadPlugin: unable to get plugin list $Plugins$, loading "c:\program files\dgavcdec\dgavcdecode.dll

I renamed the vsfilter.dll to .junk and Avisynth (2.58a) cruised again. Thinking maybe the free-codecs download I'd used was corrupt, I went to the guliverkli2 project site and DL'ed it there--same thing, no worky. Then I tried previous version from 20070918 and Avisynth likes it.

Something broke going to the 20080306 2.38 package. Sure glad I didn't have to Restore, or (worse) reload Windows to find this! Whew...
laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2008, 00:17   #13  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
Okay, I finally worked out what is happening. The varTable is being corrupted. Specifically in this instance a variable has had the memory holding it's name free'd, so the internal strcmp() GPF's. I still can't find what is setting the variable in the first place, but when someone does find it, it is going to need an env->SaveString().
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2008, 20:37   #14  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,503
So what we know is VSFilter 2007-09-18 is OK and VSFilter 2008-03-06 introduced a critical bug breaking AviSynth's plugin auto loading and many applications who depend on it.

It's almost three months old. I assume the programmer who introduced the critical bug isn't aware that there is a bug so we have to find out who introduced the bug so we can submit a bug report. Once it's fixed the codec pack authors have to be notified.

Last edited by stax76; 24th May 2008 at 20:44.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2008, 22:41   #15  |  Link
Casimir666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 455
Hello,
The problem came from a line added in the AviSynth plugin initialization :

extern "C" __declspec(dllexport) const char* __stdcall AvisynthPluginInit2(IScriptEnvironment* env)
{
env->AddFunction("VobSub", "cs", VobSubCreateS, 0);
env->AddFunction("TextSub", "cs", TextSubCreateS, 0);
env->AddFunction("TextSub", "csi", TextSubCreateSI, 0);
env->AddFunction("TextSub", "csif", TextSubCreateSIF, 0);
env->AddFunction("TextSubSwapUV", "b", TextSubSwapUV, 0);
env->AddFunction("MaskSub", "siifi", MaskSubCreateSIIFI, 0);
// env->SetVar("RGBA",false);
return(NULL);
}

I have commented the "env->SetVar("RGBA",false) and now there is no more access violation, but since i'm not the author of the original patch i don't know what this line do. This line also exist for AviSynth1 plugin. Should it be removed to? Any AviSynth expert informations about this appreciated

The binary is available here for test perpose : http://www.zshare.net/download/125239838e4379f8/

Can you tell me if it's works?
__________________
Tired of tearing?
Try this Media Player Classic mod : http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net
Casimir666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2008, 23:45   #16  |  Link
gzarkadas
Registered User
 
gzarkadas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 100011110010001000001 10000011111111000001
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casimir666 View Post
...
This line ...Should it be removed to? ...
Try the suggestion of IanB (see post #13 in this thread) and change the line to:
Code:
env->SetVar(env->SaveString("RGBA"), false);
Do not simply remove it; most probably some of the functions that you add depend on it (although at a first sight the line should probably calling env->SetGlobalVar and not env->SetVar; however only the source has the answer and I haven't read the source ).
__________________
AVSLib, a free extension library for Avisynth. Current version: 1.1.0 (beta), 14/05/2007.
[ Home page | Download page ]
gzarkadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 22:12   #17  |  Link
Casimir666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzarkadas View Post
Try the suggestion of IanB (see post #13 in this thread) and change the line to:
Code:
env->SetVar(env->SaveString("RGBA"), false);
Do not simply remove it; most probably some of the functions that you add depend on it (although at a first sight the line should probably calling env->SetGlobalVar and not env->SetVar; however only the source has the answer and I haven't read the source ).
Ok it's done :
http://www.zshare.net/download/125690394d66d037/

Can someone do some additionnals tests with this VSFilter before I commit the modification?
__________________
Tired of tearing?
Try this Media Player Classic mod : http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net
Casimir666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2008, 22:56   #18  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,503
Quote:
Can someone do some additionnals tests with this VSFilter before I commit the modification?
Works here, I'm about to release a new stable StaxRip version and wonder which version to use for it, currently a very old version is used:

Code:
Public Class VSFilterPackage
    Inherits AviSynthPluginPackage

    Public Sub New()
        Name = "VSFilter"
        Filename = "VSFilter.dll"
        Description = "VSFilter is a AviSynth plugin for adding hardcoded subtitles. Furthermore it's a DirectShow Filter to display optional subtitles."
        Version = "2.37"
        VersionDate = New DateTime(2005, 11, 25)
        Website = "http://sourceforge.net/projects/guliverkli"
        DownloadFilename = "VSFilter_2.37.zip"
        TreeFolder = "AviSynth Plugins"
        FilterNames = New String() {"VobSub", "TextSub"}
    End Sub

    Public Overrides Function Install() As Boolean
        Dim ret = MyBase.Install()

        If File.Exists(Path) Then
            Process.Start("regsvr32", "/s """ + Path + """")
        End If

        Return ret
    End Function
End Class
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 23:08   #19  |  Link
Casimir666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 455
This is from mpc-hc repository : http://sourceforge.net/projects/mpc-hc/

Basically it's original Gabest filter and several patches posted on Guliverlki project. I have made no modification myself in this filter.
__________________
Tired of tearing?
Try this Media Player Classic mod : http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net
Casimir666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2008, 15:47   #20  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casimir666 View Post
Ok it's done :
http://www.zshare.net/download/125690394d66d037/

Can someone do some additionnals tests with this VSFilter before I commit the modification?
I did a short test and it fixed the auto load error for me, thx!
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.