Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th January 2002, 05:23   #1  |  Link
StubbyWL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Resolution

I've read and seen that the "best" resolution depends on the movie. But on morpheus I have seen most are 340 by 240 or 352 by 240 or 360 by 240, and they are approximately the same size in megabytes as the ones I have ripped on my own at 720 by 480 the quality is much worse in full screen than the smaller resolutions. Is it generally better to go with smaller resolution and greater bitrate?? Or am I just retarded. Thank you for any help.
__________________
StubbyWL
StubbyWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2002, 05:35   #2  |  Link
cofferscuffs
uber-toddler!
 
cofferscuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: munkee land whoosh!
Posts: 627
Smaller resolution = less detail
Bigger resolution = more detail

However, it also depends on bitrate and how it is resized. In Gknot it's easier to tell the perfect resolution because of the pixels*frame counter. But without it I would stick around to 640x? roughly - might take several different encodes to get the right setting though. If going for 2CD's you can be much more liberal with the resizing though.
__________________
cC.
cofferscuffs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2002, 06:52   #3  |  Link
wmansir
Moderator
 
wmansir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,920
Also keep in mind that 352x240 is the VCD resolution, so many of these divx movies could have started as VCDs and then been converted to divx. VCD is popular with TV caps, and also because you don't have to worry about interlacing at these low resolutions.
wmansir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2002, 20:06   #4  |  Link
StubbyWL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Ok thanks, but I just noticed, I use DVD2Avi and there is a clip/resize option that just clips... Is there a way to resize in DVD2Avi or do I need another program to do the same function as DVD2Avi and be able to resize the output video?? If I do, could you name one that would be good??
__________________
StubbyWL
StubbyWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.