Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th March 2008, 06:39   #1  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Tutorial: Scenarist HDMV/BDA Menus

This is a very basic guide to get you started. There may be holes for now so if it doesn't work post and let me know.

***VIDEO TUTORIAL ADDED***
Video tutorial: http://www.sendspace.com/file/auvnux

Requirements:

Scenarist HDMV/BDA
Photo editor (i.e Photoshop)

Not required but handy:

Video Editor


All images must be indexed color PNG ith 256 max colors.
Your Video playlist must have a primary stream video. If you want a still background you must use the Scenarist Utility Still Image Encoder to encode an image into a movie.



Creating Interactive Graphics (Menus)

If you know how to do it from Scenarist Designer you can skip this step and a few of them below such as adding button states.
If you don't know how to use Scenarist Designer but want too look here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=135757

OR

1. In the Data Tree, right-click and choose New > Graphic Asset.
2. Select IG, then click OK.
3. Select you videos settings or a still image background. Click OK.
4. Change the number of the certain assets you want (i.e. 2 pages) and rename the assets if it suits you. Click OK.
5. The IG should now be in the Data Tree.


Adding Content to IGs and changing properties.

1. Expand your IG completely.
2. Select your IG and set the Acquisition Point in its property window.
3. Select the Display Set and change your values of the appropriate settings. (The definitions start on page 87 of the PDF documentation.)
4. You can set your pallet if you wish.
5. Select the page(s) of your project and set the UO Options. (UO = Permissions for certain options such as skipping an opening trailer or warning.)
6. Finish setting the Page property values.
7. Select your BOG (Button Overlap Group) and selet your default visible button.
8. Next double-click your button(s) and input your images for the button states. You can have up to 256 images per state that form an animation. Check
"repeat" if you want the animation to repeat.
9. Now you can place the button on your Page by double-clicking the page in the data-tree. Then place it by dragging it or editing the Position property.
10. If you need a background image for button placement you can right-click in the IG eduitor and select background.
11. Next choose "Use Image" in the BackColor dialog box. There are zoom buttons on the toolbar to view the whole menu at once.
12. Select you button one again and select where the "cursor / selection" goes when an arrow key is pressed (button refs).

Encoding Your IG

1. Right-click your IG and select Encode.
2. The IG icon should change slightly.


Adding your IG to your project.

1. Create a new Clip and double-click it. Change the type to an Interactive Graphic Menu in the Clip Editor.
2. Drag your IG from the data-tree to the IG track in the Clip Editor.
3. Right-click your playlist you are adding the IG to and choose New > SubPath > Interactive Graphics Menu.
4. Double-click the PlayList. Drag the IG Clip from the Data Tree onto the IG SubPath track in the Data Editor.
5. Move to next section.

Adding navigation commands.

1. Go to the Scenario Editor and add a movie object to the First Play and Top-menu.
2. Drag your Menu playlist to the MO (movie object)
3. Now you can add other MO(s) free of the first play and top menu by right-clicking an empty space in the scenario editor.
4. Add playlists to and MO(s) you created.
5. Now on the toolbar find the "Connect" button and select the correct command to connect the button to the other playlists. (It won't connect with the wrong command.)
6. Try muxing and testing it out.


If you have more experience it is welcome as I figured this out on my own withing the last week or so.

Thank You,

jokin
__________________
jokin

Last edited by jokin; 15th March 2008 at 14:06. Reason: Added Video Tutorial link.
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2008, 08:45   #2  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Cheers I'll be trying this later on, I'll let you know how I get on.
I tried Scenarist Designer but it kept on giving me errors, but then again I wasn't using 'indexed color PNG' just your regular ol' pngs.

Last edited by B4tm4n; 11th March 2008 at 09:59.
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2008, 12:04   #3  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
I wish there was an easy way to get the chapter menu I am building to play about 5-10s of video of each chapter everytime it is highlighted. Or at a minimum make an icon from the playmark like scenarist does when you place the playmark.
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2008, 13:38   #4  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Quote:
Adding your IG to your project.

1. Create a new Clip and double-click it. Change the type to an Interactive Graphic Menu in the Clip Editor.
2. Drag your IG from the data-tree to the IG track in the Clip Editor.
3. Right-click your playlist you are adding the IG to and choose New > SubPath > Interactive Graphics Menu.
4. Double-click the PlayList. Drag the IG Clip from the Data Tree onto the IG SubPath track in the Data Editor.
5. Move to next section.
I'm getting stuck at point 4, it won't let me drag the IG clip to the sub path.
If it wouldn't be to much trouble I would appreciate some screen shots to go with the tutorial, I've been trying this for a few days and can't see where I'm going wrong.

Cheers.
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2008, 15:48   #5  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Make sure the clip you made for the IG menu actually has the menu in it. It wont give you a popup error if it doesn't add it.

Also make sure subpath is set as interactive graphics menu.

I will try to get screenshots up by tommorrow.
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 00:10   #6  |  Link
Jimi Hendrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks to every one You guys are really helpful !!!!!!
Jimi Hendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 10:40   #7  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Flash Tutorial added to original post.
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 11:17   #8  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokin View Post
Flash Tutorial added to original post.

Cheers for this, much appreciated.

I've just re-re-re-read your tutorial and I think I know what I was doing wrong, when you say 'Right-click your playlist you are adding the IG to' I was right clicking and adding it to my main movie playlist. I think I've worked out the movie and menu are in seperate playlist.

Last edited by B4tm4n; 15th March 2008 at 11:34.
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 13:57   #9  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by B4tm4n View Post
Cheers for this, much appreciated.

I've just re-re-re-read your tutorial and I think I know what I was doing wrong, when you say 'Right-click your playlist you are adding the IG to' I was right clicking and adding it to my main movie playlist. I think I've worked out the movie and menu are in seperate playlist.
Sorry for the delay. Tutorial should be up soon. Went away from flash as it was eating memory.

Your movie will be one playlist. The Menu must have a primary video stream though so you will need a video stream encoded for your menu background. I just made a PNG in photoshop and ran it through the Still Image Encoder. The tutorial vid will show you how to loop it.
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 14:06   #10  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Video Tutorial Added
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2008, 14:16   #11  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Thanks, downloaded and awaiting some free time later.
I have all my assets video backgrounds ,etc. just was having trouble putting it together.
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2008, 19:23   #12  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Thanks alot jokin I've got the menus working.
I feel like an idiot, my next problem seems to be I can't get the main movie to play on the press of a button.
Whenever I press a menu button thats linked to the main movie it just gos to the start of the menu again.

I've only got one button linked at the moment, and its supposed to play the main movie.
I've gone through all the combos it will allow me to link to the other title ( I've tried this with a movie object aswell).

My last attempt was with a jumptitle command, I feel I'm missing something really simple but can't see it.
What nav commands am I supposed to use ?

Cheers.
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2008, 21:26   #13  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,686
Great video tutorial! Could use some background music though
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2008, 22:29   #14  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by B4tm4n View Post
Thanks alot jokin I've got the menus working.
I feel like an idiot, my next problem seems to be I can't get the main movie to play on the press of a button.
Whenever I press a menu button thats linked to the main movie it just gos to the start of the menu again.

I've only got one button linked at the moment, and its supposed to play the main movie.
I've gone through all the combos it will allow me to link to the other title ( I've tried this with a movie object aswell).

My last attempt was with a jumptitle command, I feel I'm missing something really simple but can't see it.
What nav commands am I supposed to use ?

Cheers.
Try a JumpObject > MO Entried > "MO"
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2008, 22:51   #15  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokin View Post
Try a JumpObject > MO Entried > "MO"
Tried that and get an error.
Quote:
Error : Spec Error : Button Object validated by STN_table() in a PlayItem cannot have JumpObject and SetNVTimer command. Play (ID:936)
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 01:27   #16  |  Link
jokin
Dwight Schrute's homeboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Office
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by B4tm4n View Post
Tried that and get an error.
Click you Play Item and then go to Navicommand Editor and remove the SetNVtimer command.

Let me know how it goes.
__________________
jokin
jokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2008, 11:29   #17  |  Link
B4tm4n
Caped Crusader
 
B4tm4n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by jokin View Post
Click you Play Item and then go to Navicommand Editor and remove the SetNVtimer command.

Let me know how it goes.
I did have a search for the setNVtimer command and couldn't find it, I'm firing up my the software and have another look.
What does the setNVtimer do , google revealed 0 results on this error.



edit/
Nope can't find this setNVtimer command anywhere.

Last edited by B4tm4n; 19th March 2008 at 11:50.
B4tm4n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2008, 02:50   #18  |  Link
musky5789
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 32
Hi all,
I tried to make a menu last night and everthing went well, but when i play back the bdmv folder in power dvd the ig (buttons) flash on and off every 5 seconds. They do work if you press the button, can any tell me why they are flashing on and off????

thanks


...got it play item has to be set to still mode!!!!

Last edited by musky5789; 22nd March 2008 at 14:56.
musky5789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.