Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th February 2008, 03:57   #1  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Encoding a ripped Blu-ray to x264?

Can anyone point me towards how to encode my ripped Blu-ray movie? I'm currently ripping 300 to my hard drive (at a blazing 2.6 MB/s -- Pretty sure that's not normal) and I'd like to convert it when I'm finished ripping it.

Only problem is I don't know what to use to demux it to pass it off to avisynth.
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 04:02   #2  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Graphedit can handle Blu-rays fine.

A warning about 300: if you want to retain the grain, you need Prestige or similar, its basically impossible without it. And you'll need at least 10 megabits or so.

If you don't want to retain the grain, it'll look atrocious unless you use a good denoiser on it, like motion-compensated DFTtest. My script for 300:

SetMemoryMax(512)
directshowsource("part0020.grf",audio=false).ConvertToYV12()
Crop(0,(1080-800)/2,0,-(1080-800)/2)
source=last
vf1=source.mvanalyse(pel=2,blksize=16,isb=false,idx=1,overlap=8,sharp=2,truemotion=false)
#vf2=source.mvanalyse(pel=2,blksize=16,isb=false,idx=1,delta=2,overlap=8,sharp=2,truemotion=false)
vb1=source.mvanalyse(pel=2,blksize=16,isb=true,idx=1,overlap=8,sharp=2,truemotion=false)
#vb2=source.mvanalyse(pel=2,blksize=16,isb=true,idx=1,delta=2,overlap=8,sharp=2,truemotion=false)
interleave(mvcompensate(source,vf1,idx=1,thSCD1=1200),source,mvcompensate(source,vb1,idx=1,thSCD1=1200))
dfttest(sigma=2.5,tbsize=3,sbsize=24,sosize=18)
selectevery(3,1)
Spline36Resize(1280,720)
TTempSmoothF(strength=3,maxr=7)
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 04:18   #3  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Nope, no intentions of retaining the grain. I have my handy Temporal Degrain function ready (which runs painfully slow at 1 fps on SD resolutions) to kill off the grain.

How would I go about setting up the graph to decode 300?

Edit: Figured it out Thanks!

Last edited by Sagekilla; 15th February 2008 at 04:31.
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 04:41   #4  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Woops, ended up running into trouble again.. I dropped a m2ts file onto graphedit, saved the file and loaded it thru directshowsource --> virtualdubmod is telling me "GRF file does not have a compatible open video pin."
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 04:43   #5  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagekilla View Post
Woops, ended up running into trouble again.. I dropped a m2ts file onto graphedit, saved the file and loaded it thru directshowsource --> virtualdubmod is telling me "GRF file does not have a compatible open video pin."
Remove the renderer from the graph
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 06:36   #6  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,373
Haali Media Splitter -> ffdshow
Thats all you need for the graph (assuming you have ffdshow set to decode AVC).
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 20:56   #7  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Thanks, already have this set up.

On another note: is there any way to have my m2ts file decoded by my GPU (A 7900 GT)? Was just wondering if I could, seeing as a GPU decoding the VC-1/H.264/MPEG-2 stream would help me out A LOT.
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 21:13   #8  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
nVidia's PureVideo
Ranguvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 23:32   #9  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,927
Nope that isn't working as GPU accelleration (DXVA) under Windows is only working on a Overlay,VMR or EVR (Vista) rendering interface and not into a file, Nvidias PureVideo Decoder will just fallback to Software Rendering when saving into a file (you can also not use Nvidias Motion Adaptive Deinterlacing this way).
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th February 2008 at 23:38.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2008, 23:36   #10  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Ah ok, thanks CruNcher and everyone else for helping me get into HD ripping
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.