Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd October 2007, 18:14   #1  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
madFlac - new DirectShow FLAC source filter + decoder

madFlac v1.10

http://madshi.net/madFlac.rar

This is a DirectShow source + decoder filter for FLAC files. It should work with any FLAC files you can throw at it and give out bit perfect results. Supported are both external standalone FLAC files and FLAC tracks inside of containers (e.g. MKV). Please let me know if you find any problems.

Enjoy!

Last edited by madshi; 3rd January 2011 at 11:08.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 19:47   #2  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,144
very nice,thank!
any estimation when v2.4 might come?

edit: tiny cosmetics: readme says install.bat, while its register.bat

p.s. any info about cpu usage or something like that? is it better in this field as coreflac or ffdshow audio for example?

edit: have some playback problems with that flac file Ive written about in the eac3to thread. this time madflac wont play the 5.1 dd+ -> flac file (24-bit) inside that .mkv, which played back just fine with coreflac or ffdshow audio. the video is there, but theres absolutely no sound to be heard. when I take that critical 2.0 dd+ -> flac commentary file, which accelerated the fps to 40 with ffdshow audio and coreflac, there are just clicking noises and mpc crashes soon after.
does playback only work with files outside .mka/.mkv ?

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 3rd October 2007 at 20:04.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2007, 21:48   #3  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
any estimation when v2.4 might come?
I've no idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
edit: tiny cosmetics: readme says install.bat, while its register.bat
Ooops.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
p.s. any info about cpu usage or something like that? is it better in this field as coreflac or ffdshow audio for example?
Haven't compared that yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
edit: have some playback problems with that flac file Ive written about in the eac3to thread. this time madflac wont play the 5.1 dd+ -> flac file (24-bit) inside that .mkv, which played back just fine with coreflac or ffdshow audio. the video is there, but theres absolutely no sound to be heard. when I take that critical 2.0 dd+ -> flac commentary file, which accelerated the fps to 40 with ffdshow audio and coreflac, there are just clicking noises and mpc crashes soon after.
does playback only work with files outside .mka/.mkv ?
madFlac is only meant for external files. FLAC files inside of any containers are not supported by madFlac.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 11:39   #4  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
THX!

Nice work...-.until now i used illiminable FLAC Source/Decoder.

But it wont decode 24bit Flac (only muxed in mka).
For FALC in Container i use ffdshow ,works perfect.

Is it possible to connect with AC3 Filter at the End in the decodig chain ? I use it to Output AC3 640 SPDIF
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 12:03   #5  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Is there a way to just enable the source filter?
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 14:52   #6  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
Is it possible to connect with AC3 Filter at the End in the decodig chain ? I use it to Output AC3 640 SPDIF
Should be no problem. Well, at least I'm not doing anything to disallow that.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 14:53   #7  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inventive Software View Post
Is there a way to just enable the source filter?
It's a combined source/decoder filter. Currently you cannot disable the decoder. What would you need that for?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 17:52   #8  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
For people that want to use ffdshow, probably with conversion or down-mixing filters, or another decoder.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 17:59   #9  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inventive Software View Post
For people that want to use ffdshow, probably with conversion or down-mixing filters, or another decoder.
madFlac's decoding is bit perfect (as it should be for a lossless codec). Because of that I see no reason to use another decoder. You can still use ffdshow's "raw" audio processing to do down-mixing, conversion and other stuff. FWIW, ffdshow currently cannot handle 8 audio channels (sound gets distorted). So for 8 channel FLACs ffdshow wouldn't work, anyway.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 18:02   #10  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
madFlac v1.1 released

http://madshi.net/madFlac.rar

Code:
* BASS libraries replaced with libFlac
* seeking works now for > 4GB files, too
As far as I can see, the filter should now be "perfect" for external FLAC files. Please let me know if you find any problems.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 18:08   #11  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Cheers, will test later on.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 18:33   #12  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,144
tested v1.1 with my speedy gonzales problem commentary track, placed it with same filename outside the movie .mkv as .flac, used commandline mpc with /dub command, but mpc just crashes then with

AppName: mplayerc.exe AppVer: 6.4.9.1 ModName: coreflacdecoder.ax
ModVer: 0.4.0.46 Offset: 00014e34

edit: allright, crash was caused by coreflacdecoder, which was still active until I unregistrered it, despite all block setting.
still, also with v1.1 those stupid clicks in the commentary track :S

just noticed when playing back that commentary track in .mka with normal media player it reported the same length as the movie track, but the time elapses quite some bit faster. could it be possible that the commentary track was recored with a different number of fps and this might be the reason why he accelerates the video? is there a way to slow it down to 23.976fps then, without having it to sound stupid?

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 4th October 2007 at 18:41.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 18:50   #13  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
@madshi

Ive Problems with madflac

Ive no correct channel decoding on 5.1 /6.1 FLAC .
FFdshow and illiminabel works perfect. But with madflac ive no Center Channel...i tried all System/Soundcard Speaker Settings, all the same
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 22:24   #14  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
still, also with v1.1 those stupid clicks in the commentary track :S
Are you sure that the commentary track is ok? Maybe there's something wrong with that track?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
just noticed when playing back that commentary track in .mka with normal media player it reported the same length as the movie track, but the time elapses quite some bit faster. could it be possible that the commentary track was recored with a different number of fps and this might be the reason why he accelerates the video? is there a way to slow it down to 23.976fps then, without having it to sound stupid?
How fast does the track play with madFlac? If the speed is ok with madFlac, the problem must be related to the mka container somehow.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2007, 22:26   #15  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
@madshi

Ive Problems with madflac

Ive no correct channel decoding on 5.1 /6.1 FLAC .
FFdshow and illiminabel works perfect. But with madflac ive no Center Channel...i tried all System/Soundcard Speaker Settings, all the same
That's strange. It seems to work for me. At least I've forced the ffdshow raw audio decoder into the chain and it shows that there's some action on the center channel (see "volume" page, check the bottom most checkbox).
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2007, 01:15   #16  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Checked with an AviSynth script that loads 6 FLAC files representing 6 channels, and all are fine.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2007, 08:24   #17  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inventive Software View Post
Checked with an AviSynth script that loads 6 FLAC files representing 6 channels, and all are fine.
Thanks!

So the question is why it doesn't seem to work for ACrowley?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2007, 11:28   #18  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Mine is 6 seperate FLAC files, his is probably a 5.1 channel FLAC file. It may well be the way it's encoded.

Is it possible to swap the channels in such a file, like with AviSynth, and losslessly encode again?
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2007, 11:43   #19  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inventive Software View Post
Is it possible to swap the channels in such a file, like with AviSynth, and losslessly encode again?
Yes, you can do e.g. "eac3to source.flac dest.flac -0,1,2,3,5,4" to swap the last two channels.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2007, 16:24   #20  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
...the encoded FLAC Files are Ok....all Channels present . Thats not the Problem, only the decoding with madflac is wrong.

Friend of mine has the same Problem And the PC on my work too
FLAC Output with madflac analog Output has no center channel
Illiminable ffdhow and CoreFLAC are working , i m sure its not a Problem caused by my Setup

Very interesting :

When i add ffdshow Audiio Processor behind madflac the Output is OK !
Without ffdshow Center Channel isnt present (i can hear itvery silent in L R )

Last edited by ACrowley; 5th October 2007 at 17:30.
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.