Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th August 2007, 10:28   #1  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
FFmpeg/Mplayer supports E-AC-3 format now...

Since revision 15103, FFmpeg supports entirely E-AC-3 format.

To play your evo files with mplayer >>

Use this command line :
Code:
mplayer -demuxer lavf -fps 30000/1001 -ac ffeac3 input.evo
and don't forget to tweak the codecs.conf file. Just add this :
Code:
audiocodec ffeac3
    info "FFmpeg EAC3"
    status buggy
    format 0x0
    driver ffmpeg
    dll "E-AC3"
fps value can be tuned according to your video stream. (either 29.970 or 30000/1001, 23.976, 24000/1001, etc...)

To transcode your audio streams with FFmpeg >>
  • E-AC3 to AC3 @384 kbps (Stereo with the native AC3 encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec ac3 -ab 384k -ac 2 -y output.ac3
  • E-AC3 to AC3 @448 kbps (5.1 with the native AC3 encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec ac3 -ab 448k -ac 6 -y output.ac3
  • E-AC3 to AC3 @384 kbps (Stereo with Aften):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec pcm_s16le -ac 2 -f wav - | aften -b 384 - output.ac3
  • E-AC3 to AC3 @448 kbps (5.1 with Aften):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec pcm_s16le -ac 6 -f wav - | aften -b 448 -chmap 1 - output.ac3
  • E-AC3 to LC-AAC @192 kbps (Stereo with FAAC Encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec libfaac -ac 2 -ab 192k -y output.aac
  • E-AC3 to LC-AAC @256 kbps (Multichannel with FAAC Encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec libfaac -ac 6 -ab 256k -y output.aac
  • E-AC3 to HE-AAC @256 kbps (Multichannel with enc_aacplus encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec pcm_s16le -ac 6 -f wav - | enc_aacPlus - output.aac --cbr 256000
  • E-AC3 to HE-AAC @Q 0.20 (Stereo with Nero Digital Encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec pcm_s16le -ac 2 -f wav - | neroAacEnc -ignorelength -q 0.20 -if - -of output.m4a
  • E-AC3 to HE-AAC v2 @Q 0.20 (Stereo with Nero Digital Encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec pcm_s16le -ac 2 -f wav - | neroAacEnc -ignorelength -q 0.20 -hev2 -if - -of output.m4a
  • E-AC3 to HE-AAC @128 kbps (Multichannel with Nero Digital Encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec pcm_s16le -ac 6 -f wav - | neroAacEnc -ignorelength -br 128000 -if - -of output.m4a
  • E-AC3 to Ogg Vorbis @Q50 (Stereo with libvorbis):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec vorbis -ac 2 -aq 50 -y output.ogg
  • E-AC3 to MP3 @128 kbps (Stereo with LAME encoder):
    Code:
    ffmpeg -i input.evo -vn -acodec libmp3lame -ac 2 -ab 128k -y output.mp3

/!\ If your input files contain multiple audio streams, you need to add -map 0:x (where x is the stream desired)

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 31st August 2008 at 08:49.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 15:41   #2  |  Link
fbd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
I just compiled and uploaded FFmpeg and Mplayer to play with the E-AC3 decoder from the GSoC. Feel free to test it. Keep in mind that it's not fully completed yet. So, If you want to to help developpers, please submit samples and several explanations.
Thanks Kurtnoise.
Could you compile the same files with --enable-libfaac in the ./configure please?
fbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2007, 17:45   #3  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
done...
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2007, 08:22   #4  |  Link
fbd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 37
Thanks kurtnoise but there is a error message : "zlib1.dll est introuvable"....
fbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2007, 12:14   #5  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
mmh...static vs shared lib.

Should be ok now.



Slight OT : in my last build, there is also the matroska muxer included.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 08:37   #6  |  Link
fbd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 37
Thanks kurtnoise, it's ok with the new build
fbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 17:16   #7  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Hi

I have been waiting forever to try out E-AC3 with MPlayer, thanks a lot!

What do I have to do to try the E-AC3 patch on my Intel Mac?

I usually compile the source snapshot from the MPlayer homepage, but it's not included there yet, is it?

Hope you can help
/Martin
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 17:35   #8  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
Nope, it's not included yet in the trunk...you have to use the files from the GSoC subversion directory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayla View Post
What do I have to do to try the E-AC3 patch on my Intel Mac?
  • svn co svn://svn.mplayerhq.hu/soc/eac3 eac3_ff
  • svn co svn://svn.mplayerhq.hu/mplayer/trunk mplayer
  • Copy ffmpeg.patch from eac3_ff folder to your mplayer folder
  • patch -p0 < ffmpeg.patch
  • Copy the others files from eac3_ff folder to mplayer/libavcodec/ folder
  • ./configure && make && make install

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 22nd August 2007 at 19:19.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 18:34   #9  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks a lot for helping out!

I'm a bit of a newbie and haven't used "svn" before.

I followed the link: http://svn.mplayerhq.hu/soc/eac3 - But I can't see a file called "eac3_ff"?

Could you maybe explain it more step by step for a beginner like me?


I know how to compile mplayer on my mac, I just need to know how to get the files and what to do with them first.

Thanks again..
Martin
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 18:43   #10  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Update 2:

I think I got the files downloaded, but when I run the ./patch command you wrote I get this error:

iMac:~/mplayer martin$ ./patch -p0 < ffmpeg.patch
-bash: ./patch: No such file or directory

Any idea what I do wrong?



Update:

I installed SVN on my mac but when running the line you wrote: svn co http://svn.mplayerhq.hu/soc/eac3 eac3_ff


I get this error:

iMac:~ martin$ /usr/local/bin/svn co http://svn.mplayerhq.hu/soc/eac3/ eac3_ff
svn: PROPFIND request failed on '/soc/eac3'
svn: PROPFIND of '/soc/eac3': 301 Moved Permanently (http://svn.mplayerhq.hu)

Last edited by Ayla; 22nd August 2007 at 18:56.
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 19:18   #11  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
my fault...use this command line instead : svn co svn://svn.mplayerhq.hu/soc/eac3 xxxx

where xxxx is your name folder to store these files. I called it eac3_ff in the how-to but you can specify what you want.

Quote:
iMac:~/mplayer martin$ ./patch -p0 < ffmpeg.patch
-bash: ./patch: No such file or directory

Any idea what I do wrong?
remove the ./

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 22nd August 2007 at 19:23.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 19:24   #12  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
my fault...use this command line instead : svn co svn://svn.mplayerhq.hu/soc/eac3 xxxx

where xxxx is your name folder to store these files. I called it eac3_ff in the how-to but you can specify what you want.


remove the ./
when running the patch the command i get this:

iMac:~/mplayer-export-2007-08-22 martin$ patch -p0 < ffmpeg.patch
patching file libavcodec/ac3_parser.c
patching file libavcodec/Makefile
patching file libavcodec/aac_ac3_parser.c
patching file libavcodec/aac_ac3_parser.h
patching file libavcodec/aac_parser.c
patching file libavcodec/allcodecs.c
patching file libavcodec/avcodec.h
Hunk #2 FAILED at 2781.
1 out of 2 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file libavcodec/avcodec.h.rej
patching file libavcodec/allcodecs.h
patching file libavcodec/ac3enc.c
can't find file to patch at input line 175
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: ffmpeg.c
|===================================================================
|--- ffmpeg.c (wersja 10118)
|+++ ffmpeg.c (kopia robocza)
--------------------------
File to patch:



Can you help me once again?
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 19:30   #13  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
yeah... it's because the FFmpeg maintainers have changed something in the trunk. That's why you have this.

Wait a minute...I'm creating a new patch.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 19:38   #14  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
great

Let me know what to do when you're ready!

And what to download?
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 20:08   #15  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
http://kurtnoise.free.fr/index.php?d...yer_eac3.patch

First remove your mplayer folder, then :

1/ Grab the last mplayer from the subversion trunk : svn co svn://svn.mplayerhq.hu/mplayer/trunk mplayer
2/ cd mplayer and put mplayer_eac3.patch in the libavcodec directory.
3/ Apply the patch : patch -p0 < mplayer_eac3.patch

Should be ok...

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 24th August 2007 at 10:36.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 20:26   #16  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
http://kurtnoise.free.fr/index.php?d...yer_eac3.patch

First remove your mplayer folder, then :

1/ Grab the last mplayer from the subversion trunk : svn co svn://svn.mplayerhq.hu/mplayer/trunk mplayer
2/ cd mplayer
3/ Apply the patch : patch -p0 < mplayer_eac3.patch

Should be ok...
It tells me this when I run the patch command now:

iMac:~ martin$ cd mplayer/
iMac:~/mplayer martin$ patch -p0 < mplayer_eac3.patch
can't find file to patch at input line 5
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|Index: aac_ac3_parser.c
|===================================================================
|--- aac_ac3_parser.c (revision 10186)
|+++ aac_ac3_parser.c (working copy)
--------------------------
File to patch:



Not right?


If I run ./configure and make afterwards I get this compile error:

ac3enc.c: In function 'bit_alloc':
ac3enc.c:482: error: too few arguments to function 'ff_ac3_bit_alloc_calc_bap'
make[1]: *** [ac3enc.o] Error 1
make: *** [libavcodec/libavcodec.a] Error 2
iMac:~/mplayer martin$

Last edited by Ayla; 22nd August 2007 at 21:13.
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2007, 23:26   #17  |  Link
DJN8B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
Hi Kurtnoise13,

When I try to execute your compiled mplayer I get an error saying "libfontconfig-1.dll not found. Any ideas?

Apologies for the simple question.
DJN8B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 07:41   #18  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
@ayla : where did you put mplayer_eac3.patch file ? in which folder ?

@DJN8B: yeah, sorry...last time I compiled mplayer with shared libs. That's why you have this notice. Try googling to find this dll (GTK+ runtime or something). Or you can wait in a few hours when I'm back home. I'll recompile it with static libs.

edit: ok...new build is up now.

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 23rd August 2007 at 14:10.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2007, 18:19   #19  |  Link
Ayla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise13 View Post
@ayla : where did you put mplayer_eac3.patch file ? in which folder ?
I put the patch in the mplayer folder (the trunk folder that is created when I download with svn).

Isn't that correct?

Could you tell me once again what to do step by step, I don't know what's wrong?

Do you have to copy all the files from the eac3 folder downloaded with SVN and do you have to copy them before you patch or after?

The files I have are:

ac3.c
ac3.h
ac3dec.c
ac3dec.h
ac3tab.c
ac3tab.h
checkout.sh
eac3.h
eac3dec.c
mplayer_eac3.patch


PS. Do you have MSN Kurtnoise13? Thanks

Last edited by Ayla; 23rd August 2007 at 18:37.
Ayla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2007, 09:03   #20  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
Just (re)read again my post #15...

Anyway, you don't have to copy any files just apply the patch. That should be ok. Otherwise I don't know why...
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.