Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th July 2007, 22:25   #1  |  Link
mitsubishi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 416
How can I run an avs from command line without doing anything?

Just run from start to finish, selecting frames, but without an output.

Maybe even returning fps as an added bonus.
mitsubishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 22:43   #2  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,466
I'm not sure if this can help you, but I use this:

avs2avi one.avs -c null -q -e

to execute only the SoundOut plugin without other output.

The line help from avs2avi is:

Code:
AVS2AVI v1.39x (c) 2002-2004:
Christophe Paris, David Leatherdale, int21h, Moitah
http://www.avs2avi.org/

   Usage: avs2avi avs_filename [destination_filename] [switches]

   destination_filename is relative to avs_filename, if omitted it will be
   the same as avs_filename but with the proper extension.

   Switches:
      -w          : Overwrite destination file if it already exists
      -P <passes> : Enable multi-pass encoding mode
      -p [0-2]    : Priority (0: Idle, 1: Normal, 2: Above Normal)
      -s <file>   : Save codec parameters to <file>
      -l <file>   : Load codec parameters from <file>
      -c <4cc>    : Use codec <4cc> with default settings ("null" for no
                    recompression)
      -e          : Exit after codec selection (for use with -s)
      -q          : Enable quiet mode for more speed
      -o [format] : Output format (a: AVI (default), l: Log, n: Null)
      -x [a,l]    : Wait until XviD status window is closed (a: for all passes,
                    l: only for the last pass)
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 22:57   #3  |  Link
mitsubishi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 416
Thanks for the answer, I'll see if that's any better, I do need to run through the video though.

I realised I can do this:

script.vcf:
Code:
VirtualDub.Open("Z:\\New Folder (2)\\no.avs","",0);
VirtualDub.RunNullVideoPass();
Then "Vdub /s script.vcf /x"

Although that doesn't output fps, but that not too important.


Edit: Yeah using the avs2avi method doesn't run through the video. Right now I'm just wanting to use the avisynth SSIM filter.

Last edited by mitsubishi; 29th July 2007 at 23:04.
mitsubishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 06:59   #4  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Search for avsutil. The latest version spits out the total time in ms to play the script and the number of frames - easy enough to use some shell commands to calculate fps.
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 19:54   #5  |  Link
mitsubishi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 416
Found avsutil in the avs2qxvid pack, but no documentation.

Both
avsutil no.avs
and
avsutil no.avs -play
return number of frames, but don't step through video or return time.
mitsubishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2007, 00:05   #6  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitsubishi View Post
avsutil no.avs -play
avsutil no.avs play

No hyphen needed.
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2007, 01:03   #7  |  Link
mitsubishi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 416
Thanks, that's done it. And I found a newer version that does output time.
mitsubishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008, 12:55   #8  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,392
squid_80: is your compile still available someplace?

edit: nm, found it.
__________________
certain other member

Last edited by smok3; 22nd July 2008 at 18:23.
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008, 18:25   #9  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
http://members.optusnet.com.au/squid_80/avsutil.zip

That's the current build that I use. I think I modified it to report script errors properly.
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008, 18:29   #10  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,392
tnx, any clues under what license that is?
( related http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...53#post1161653 )
__________________
certain other member
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008, 18:57   #11  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
I just uploaded the latest source code to match (http://members.optusnet.com.au/squid...vsutil_src.zip).

I think the code is simple enough to fall under public domain however the avisynth error checking may mean it has to be GPL. It doesn't rely on avisynth to run (it still works with plain avi files, although it doesn't decompress) so it's not a derived work, but it doesn't communicate with avisynth solely with the interfaces defined in avisynth.h and hence doesn't seem to fit the allowed exceptional case.
Either way, personally I don't care how it is used.
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2008, 22:40   #12  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,392
ok, so if this was part of the avisynth installer (the part that says 'standalone') we are ok with the license? (even if that means it has to turn into GPL?)
__________________
certain other member
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2008, 06:10   #13  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Sure.
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2008, 07:17   #14  |  Link
florinandrei
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
avs2avi one.avs -c null -q -e

to execute only the SoundOut plugin without other output.
Very similar solution to the same problem:

Code:
avs2yuv -frames 1 sd-audio.avs -o NUL
Whereby sd-audio.avs is:

Code:
DirectShowSource("sd.avi")
SoundOut(output="ac3", filename="sd.ac3", cbrrate=192, acmod=2, autoclose=true, wait=0, overwritefile="Yes", silentblock=false)
__________________
Florin Andrei

http://florin.myip.org/
florinandrei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008, 01:57   #15  |  Link
tacman1123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 130
Considerations for a Command Line AVS processor

I usually use HCEncoder for invoking SoundOut (or anything along those lines, something that processes a/v but doesn't create it), but only because that's the one I saw used in a sample script showing how to do it.

Question: If doesn't need the output of a script, what considerations are the for the "best" on to use? Are they all equally as fast? Roughly the same resources?

I'm guessing the biggest consideration would be that the final output could be directed to null (so there's not wasted disk wriging), are there any other considerations?

Tac
tacman1123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2008, 02:01   #16  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacman1123 View Post
I usually use HCEncoder for invoking SoundOut (or anything along those lines, something that processes a/v but doesn't create it), but only because that's the one I saw used in a sample script showing how to do it.

Question: If doesn't need the output of a script, what considerations are the for the "best" on to use? Are they all equally as fast? Roughly the same resources?

I'm guessing the biggest consideration would be that the final output could be directed to null (so there's not wasted disk wriging), are there any other considerations?

Tac
Whatever uses the least RAM idling. VirtualDub... MPC-HC... AvsP... etc.
Ranguvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.