Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > PC Hard & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th June 2007, 16:49   #1  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
"The file 'Asms' on Windows XP Professional CD-ROM is needed"

"The file 'Asms' on Windows XP Professional CD-ROM is needed" error message when I install Windows XP

i followed all these steps:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/311755#appliesto

but can't seems to work any.


any helps plz i would love to fix my error


also can't get screenshot because it's on other computer. sorry!

plz help me also i hope it belongs to this sections.

thx a lot waiting for solutions. plz plz help me

Last edited by salman1; 11th June 2007 at 17:07.
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 17:25   #2  |  Link
SvT
Never Grow Up !
 
SvT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: EU
Posts: 131
Before we can help you, we need more information.

Is your disk FAT32/NTFS and what happens when you try the solution for your configuration ?

Are you upgrading ? Did you format your drive ?

When I google I find lots of people with the same problem but most people are able to fix it with the "311755" artikel.

Please give as much info as possible ! Thanks.
SvT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 17:32   #3  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
sure

i have window xp now i tried to make window xp pro with that cd by fomating drive so evrything will new u no what i mean. i have NTFS drive with 80 gb. i tried all steps nothing seems to work. need anythung just reply and thx a lot
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 17:51   #4  |  Link
SvT
Never Grow Up !
 
SvT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: EU
Posts: 131
Can you open up regedit and did you check the filesize in the asms folder ?

Perhapse you can copy the I386 folder from the CD to the installation partition on your hard drive and run winnt.exe from there ?

Goodluck ! Let us know !
SvT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 17:54   #5  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
i can't even open regedit file also can't able to copy as well to hd drive? thanks
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 18:07   #6  |  Link
SvT
Never Grow Up !
 
SvT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: EU
Posts: 131
Strange....

Do you get a prompt or not ? How did you format your drive ? Was this an option when you inserted the XP-prof disk ?

You can always try to format again......
SvT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 18:16   #7  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvT View Post
Strange....

Do you get a prompt or not ? How did you format your drive ? Was this an option when you inserted the XP-prof disk ?

You can always try to format again......
yes i get prompt. it gave me option to format my drive so i just click there and it start formating also it is letting me to format my drive again but i end up with same error over and over. thanks is there any ways to get my old vertion that i originlly had back. which was WINDOW XP HOME. Thanks!
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 18:24   #8  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
You didn't answer the important questions that SvT asked you. What exactly happens when you follow the Microsoft procedure for your configuration and what is your configuration?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 18:24   #9  |  Link
SvT
Never Grow Up !
 
SvT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: EU
Posts: 131
This starts to sound like a bad disk.... I once had to adjust my cd-rom drive settings in my BIOS to get windows to install right. You can check for something like that in your system.

About getting back to XP there must be a way using the "recovery console"

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307654/

Goodluck

P.s. have to go now. Anybody feel free to step in. Later.....
SvT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2007, 18:40   #10  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
Thanks!! bye take care

@neuron2

nothing happen.
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 01:58   #11  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
i tried this method http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310994/

but end up with this error:

Error: Write Fault
Do you want to attempt to create this floppy again?
Press Enter to try again or Ese to exit.

i tried like 50 0r more times. but same error over and over.

thanks a lot for help
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 03:39   #12  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,177
Retrying a bad floppy isn't going to make it a good floppy; if you really need one you should buy a small pack of new ones. They go bad all the time.

The original problem does sound like a scratched or corrupt CD, you're not having much luck with media lately. There are many ways to re-acquire cd media, mainly your cd manufacturer (for OEM) or Microsoft (for retail), usually if you pay a shipping fee. Of course those won't include a key, you need to have that. If you have a retail key, it should be very easy to find another copy of a retail CD to install from.

It's also possible it could be the hard drive, but a full format should have picked that up.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2007, 03:47   #13  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
ya but no luck for me thanks for help
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.