Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th October 2009, 10:14   #9401  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xorp
madshi any chance you could integrate an open source AAC decoder like libfaad2? I know Nero has better quality but is the difference really that dramatic?
What you talking about. Both decoders follow aac standard, both have exatcly same bit indentical output. FAAD is used in foobar2000 and i don't see point someone need Nero Decoder while is there full free implementation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi
I can't use libfaad2 because eac3to is not GPL and so I can't use any GPL libs. I can only use LGPL.
Maybe you can use CT AAC decoder from winamp??

Last edited by shon3i; 12th October 2009 at 10:18.
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 10:37   #9402  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,757
Quote:
Originally Posted by allak View Post
Would you consider adding a flag like -simpleoutput to disable console text colouring and console character position handling ?
Again: I could do this. But have you actually contacted the Wine programmers about this? It's *their* bug and not mine. Why should I implement workarounds for other software's bugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
Maybe you can use CT AAC decoder from winamp??
Is it a winamp plugin? I wouldn't know how to communicate with it in that case...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 12:38   #9403  |  Link
honai
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
If I do that, the next person will come and say: "You write Apple Lossless files, you should also be able to read them". It's a never ending circle, I guess...

Currently my focus is on madVR, so eac3to will have to make do with bugfixes and minor improvements for a while.
Ok, I understand.

A while back you mentioned that you were working or had implemented a plugin system for eac3to with support for plugging custom filters. Would that suit my needs (I'm a programmer myself)? Any documentation for it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 15:06   #9404  |  Link
dat720
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 870
Fair enough, I just wanted to put forward some suggestions, your choice whether you run with them or not.
dat720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 15:23   #9405  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
hooray! madshi!

i have the Freedom bluray set and i would like to remux the english versions but eac3to can't do it correctly, as the playlists use only parts of certain m2ts files. it's the only bluray where i've seen such playlists.

the main m2ts for each episode has the title sequence in japanese followed by the main body, so the japanese version uses the whole m2ts file, but the other language versions have their own title/credit sequence m2ts files, and only use the main body from the main m2ts.

i uploaded the japanese and english version playlists for the first disc here: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=d...4e75f6e8ebb871
shambles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 16:58   #9406  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,182
@madshi : any chance to update the lavc lib ? there are EAC3 Spectral & AAC LATM patches floating around in the FFmpeg-dev ML...

Last edited by Kurtnoise; 12th October 2009 at 17:00.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 16:59   #9407  |  Link
Xorp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hmmmm... I think I'm reporting dialnorm in the same way for both AC3 and DTS. Dialnorm is rare for DTS, anyway. Do you have a DTS track where you know for sure that eac3to's dialnorm information is incorrect?
I don't have the disc anymore, but eac3to reported the US Warner version of Watchmen to have -4dB DN on the DTS-MA track.
Xorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 21:38   #9408  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint-francis View Post
BTW, Why couldn't eac3to handle this on it's own?
Sorry. I don't mean to be a pest, but, can anyone shed any light on this? I have little grasp on how I got that process to work, no idea why it didn't work out of the box and I'm concerned that I'll need to do it again and will again be dependent on the good souls on this forum.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 23:29   #9409  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xorp View Post
I don't have the disc anymore
We can't help you with this now, per forum rule 6.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2009, 00:06   #9410  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,373
My Aeon Flux Blu-ray shows something similar:

Quote:
G:\Encoding Tools\eac3to>eac3to.exe "H:\" 1)
M2TS, 1 video track, 6 audio tracks, 4 subtitle tracks, 1:32:52, 24p /1.001
1: Chapters, 14 chapters
2: MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
4: DTS, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -4dB
5: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: AC3 Surround, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
8: AC3 Surround, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
9: Subtitle (PGS), English
10: Subtitle (PGS), English
11: Subtitle (PGS), French
12: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2009, 19:32   #9411  |  Link
zn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by zn View Post
Did you compare SSRC with SoX Resampler (GPL)? Code is under active developement right now.
The SoX resampler's "VHQ Linear Phase" configuration looks virtually identical to eac3to's SSRC implementation in the comparison site linked to above. I don't have done direct comparison tests with real audio files, though. So I can't really judge. Why don't you compare for yourself?

eac3to cannot use SoX' resamplers because eac3to is not open source and thus cannot use GPL code.
I was little bit inaccurate, libsox is library under LGPL, so it can be used
zn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 01:39   #9412  |  Link
Chumbo
Registered User
 
Chumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You mean with MKV containers? That would not be easy because I'd have to add a full FLV bitstream parser. Possible, but too time consuming right now. Maybe somewhen in the future...
It's good to see you back. I hope you're doing well.

No not MKV but FLV files, i.e., file.flv that contains the video and audio stream. Using eac3to to get info and demux would be ideal, but you're right, you'd probably need a full parser for this. If you have time and decide to implement this in the future that would be great. Thanks for considering it.
__________________
Chumbo
Chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2009, 04:17   #9413  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

> Originally Posted by Nnoitra
> I notice that in some movies, like Kill Bill 1&2,
> forced subtitles are not detected.

Probably the Blu-Ray player fetches some additional information from somewhere else. Maybe the menus have it hard coded or something. eac3to reads out the default fields. If the information is not available there, there's nothing more eac3to can do.
SupRip can determine which subtitles are forced, with no other information than what is in the SUP file.
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2009, 14:17   #9414  |  Link
jmonier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73ChargerFan View Post
SupRip can determine which subtitles are forced, with no other information than what is in the SUP file.
So can eac3to, but both it and SupRip use the forced flag which is not always there. Sometimes there is a separate subtitle track that is selected on the disc by means external to the track with no indication in the track (i.e. no forced flag) of it's function.

Last edited by jmonier; 17th October 2009 at 14:21.
jmonier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2009, 14:30   #9415  |  Link
9700PRO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
sorry but I forgot that this checkactivate.dll file is also required.

Atak_Snajpera please help!
checkactivate.dll file i didn't find. Where is he?
And please, give me advice - TMT 3.0.1.133 Patch doesn't exit anymore. Where is could be dtsdecoderdll.dll version 1.1.0.5.
Thanks you, very much.
9700PRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2009, 15:28   #9416  |  Link
Paddy97
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 70
Is there any way to demux DVB subtitles with eac3to?
I've tried several ways but get that the conversion is not supported. So if anyone can give me either a tip on a commandline or inform me if I am trying something that is impossible I would be happy.

eac3to shows the following when applying it to the DVB ts file so it can see the subtitles at least.

TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 4 subtitle tracks, 0:14:34, 50i
1: h264/AVC, 1920x1088 50i (30:17)
2: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
3: Subtitle (DVB), Swedish
4: Subtitle (DVB), Danish
5: Subtitle (DVB), Norwegian
6: Subtitle (DVB), Finnish
Paddy97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 12:25   #9417  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
I have a problem with Pixar Shorts Blu Ray. It can see all the mpls but when trying to do a movie only, it cannot find anything about video, audio, subs etc.

It has 13 titles that are seamless branched which eac3to finds but that is far as I go. I have been using it with clown_bd but that is not the problem, as HdBrStream Extractor does the same.

eac3to v3.17
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
1) 00037.mpls, 0:55:27
[35+37+38+36+7+11+8+6+12+14+10+13+9].m2ts
- Chapters, 15 chapters
- h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
- RAW/PCM, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- RAW/PCM, Spanish, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, Spanish, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, Catalan, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz

2) 00038.mpls, 0:55:27
[35+37+38+36+7+11+15+6+41+14+40+13+39].m2ts
- Chapters, 15 chapters
- h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
- RAW/PCM, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- RAW/PCM, Spanish, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, Spanish, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, Catalan, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz

3) 00039.mpls, 0:37:47
[35+37+38+36+7+11+42+6+43+14+45+13+44].m2ts
- Chapters, 14 chapters
- h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
- RAW/PCM, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- RAW/PCM, Spanish, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, Spanish, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, Catalan, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz

4) 00014.mpls, 00029.m2ts, 0:23:33
- Chapters, 12 chapters
- MPEG2, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
- AC3, English, stereo, 48khz

Choosing 1, 2 or 3 prodcues this error.

eac3to v3.17
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
This playlist contains m2ts parts with different track properties (2). <WARNING>
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 15:59   #9418  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Is the first m2ts in the playlist a copyright message or something? Anyway, if this is the case you might have to do this the hard way and specify the individual files yourself, excluding the one that eac3to doesn't like.

Code:
eac3to.exe 00037.m2ts+00038.m2ts+00036.m2ts+...etc.
Thinking about it, you said this is Pixar Shorts. Are the playlists that don't work the "play all" ones? If so you could look for the playlists for each individual short instead and do them separately.
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 22:22   #9419  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
Yes it is the play all that do not work. Each m2ts is a short.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2009, 22:51   #9420  |  Link
TinTime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 403
Unfortunately in that case I think you're going to have to process each short separately. eac3to doesn't support track changes during processing.
TinTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.