Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Decrypting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th April 2007, 18:14   #1  |  Link
QuePaso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Guide: Decrypt Blu-Ray Movies with a PS3 WITHOUT keys

Guys, i will elaborate with pics and much more later, but i thought you guys would like the gist of it so you can get started. Here is how i do it.

1. Install SAK (Swiss Army Knife) to the PS3 OtherOS and boot into it. I use the network connection and do it via the ps3 instead of the web browser and transfer the ISO over the network. You can hook up a FAT32 hard drive and get the ISO that way as well.

2. If you put the ISO on FAT32 hard drive, join them into 1 big iso with copy /b, then put it into a directory. If you did a network connection, then go to step 3.

3. Install Nero Premium v7.8.5.0 and once installed, go to StartSmart, Extras Tab, make sure its in Advanced Mode and then choose Mount ISO image. Mount the ISO of the blu-ray movie you have. It is VERY important to use nero, as Daemon Tools DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY FOR THIS METHOD.

4. Install AnyDVD HD 6.1.3.6. Once installed, go to windows explorer and check the mounted ISO drive to see if the AACS Directory has been renamed to SLY!. If so, you should be good.

5. In AnyDVD HD, right click on the icon in the taskbar, and you will see: Rip Video HD-DVD / Blu-Ray to Hard disk. Choose that, make sure the drive being chosen is the one with the Nero mounted Blu-Ray image and let it rip. I suggest not doing much while it works its magic.

5a. Now, a lot of people talked about how AnyDVD HD has errors with blu-ray, but that is because they fixed the ripping in the latest version ONLY if you use the special rip tool. If you go to windows explorer and copy over the files to your hard drive, THEY WILL ERROR. This is the ONLY way to do it properly, and i will show you how to verify next.

6. Once complete, you should have the full blu-ray in your hard drive and ready to go. As a test, close AnyDVD HD and try to play any of the .m2ts's on the image mounted, THEY WILL NOT WORK. But the ones off of the hard drive you decrypted will. Now, you need to check for errors. Most blu-ray movies come with MPEG2 Trailers which are ~100-300 megs a piece for other blu-ray movies. Copy 2-3 of them into a empty directory. You will need to check these for errors. When AnyDVD HD errors, it happens on every file, so you want to check at least 2-3 files for errors and make sure they are ok using MPEG2Repair.

7. MPEG2Repair WILL NOT accept Decrypted .m2ts files. You need to convert them to .ts. The program i use is called: m2tstots. It is command line based and lightening fast. Once you convert those files you have, go ahead and run them through MPEG2 repair, 1 by 1. You will have a stream error, dont worry about that, its because ALL blu-rays give that error. Once done, the only thing you want to look for is errors in the video/audio areas. I did this with 4 different movies i had no keys for and they worked perfectly.

If you guys have any issues i will be back later to help, but that is how ive SUCCESSFULLY decrypted blu-ray movies WITHOUT ANY ERRORS using no keys at all!!! Credit goes out my VERY good friend mart who without his help getting started, none of this would have been possible. Enjoy!
QuePaso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 18:30   #2  |  Link
Doom9
clueless n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 10,583
Haven't I seen a similar procedure (just with AnyDVD and BackupBluRay swapped out) before
It'll get interesting once the whole thing can be done on the PS3 proper.. wouldn't it be hilarous if Sony's trojan horse into the HD market would turn out to be a trojan horse for Sony and enable the millions of PS3 owners to back up their Blu-ray discs.
__________________
For the web's most comprehensive collection of DVD backup guides go to www.doom9.org
Doom9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 18:32   #3  |  Link
FoxDisc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuePaso View Post
install AnyDVD .... that is how ive SUCCESSFULLY decrypted blu-ray movies WITHOUT ANY ERRORS using no keys at all!!!
When you installed AnyDVD it would have provided the required keys. If it's AACS encrypted, and almost all theatrical releases are, you need keys to decrypt. I must admit, I am surprised that this works, as I wouldn't expect an iso image to have the Volume ID.
FoxDisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 18:33   #4  |  Link
arnezami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 390
This is amazing! What is most interesting is that apparently a BD ISO (created by the PS3) also holds the Volume ID somehow and that AnyDVD/Nero is able to retrieve it. Thats incredible.

So far it has been impossible to retrieve the Volume ID through the official (and seemingly blocked) AACS-Auth way. This seems to completely bypass that. So its really interesting to see what is going on here.

Great work !!

arnezami

PS. I guess technically its possible AnyDVD contains tons of VUKs but I doubt it...

Last edited by arnezami; 17th April 2007 at 18:37.
arnezami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 18:43   #5  |  Link
FoxDisc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnezami View Post
PS. I guess technically its possible AnyDVD contains tons of VUKs but I doubt it...
Or even tons of Volume IDs, but I doubt that too. It would be interesting to look at the iso to see if the Volume ID is there and to know whether AnyDVD is communicating to a database that might include it.
FoxDisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 18:47   #6  |  Link
QuePaso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Guys, AnyDVD HD isnt allowed to talk to the internet on my pc, so it is not going to a outside network. Believe me, i was as shocked as anyone when i got to the point of it working. Also, AACSKeys doesnt work because when you use AnyDVD HD, it renames the AACS directory!! Also, i forgot to mention, when you load up the ISO and have AnyDVD HD running, you can load up PDVD and watch the movie 0 problems. Works greats. But when you try to use Windvd 8, it never works. I wanted to use WinDVD 8 and grab the keys, but it just doesnt play. More food for thought!
QuePaso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 18:57   #7  |  Link
arnezami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 390
I'm starting to think AnyDVD have found a general way of reading some (lead-in?) area on the disc that works with all drives and contains some (obfuscated?) volume id. And they might also have done this for HD DVDs but there I really wouldn't know how they would have pulled this off because (without our "hack") the xbox hd drive doesn't seem to give up lead-in area secrets...

Hats off to AnyDVD . And what role does Nero play here?

Much food for thought and testing/sniffing indeed.

Last edited by arnezami; 17th April 2007 at 19:24.
arnezami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 19:11   #8  |  Link
zeroprobe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 155
Im gonna try Nat Geo : Relentless Enemies as no key has been published and its quite a new release.
zeroprobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 19:13   #9  |  Link
FoxDisc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnezami View Post
Hats off to AnyDVD . And what role does Nero play here?
And what role does SAK play? It seems that SAK would have to read the lead-in to put that in the iso, if it's really there, but you'd expect access to the lead-in to be blocked.

This is very interesting.
FoxDisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 20:13   #10  |  Link
mrazzido
Registered User
 
mrazzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
it worxx!! I test it with DVD DECRYPTER , read the Hole Bluray disc as an iso to HD ,

then mount with NERO image drive.

installed new any dvd version!

M2ts workx fine in VLC !




And sometimes for testing purposes i burned many CRYPTED BLURAY Discīs!!!

READ iso with DVDDECRYPTER and burned directly to BD DISC:

these disc workxx fine too!!!

Last edited by mrazzido; 17th April 2007 at 20:43.
mrazzido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 20:35   #11  |  Link
arnezami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 390
I think that this would mean that if we can figure out how the Volume ID is extracted from/stored inside the ISO and given the fact that the PS3 can read these parts of the orignal disc (since the ISO was created on the PS3) it should be possible to create a tool that would retrieve the Volume ID on the PS3 itself (and thus do direct playback on the PS3 ). Which would make an awful lot of people very happy...

@mrazzido: i'm assuming you're doing all this with a PC BD drive right?

[edit]
The question is: will this work for HD DVD too...

Can somebody try to make an ISO of an HD DVD disc and try the same thing?

Last edited by arnezami; 17th April 2007 at 21:01.
arnezami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 20:44   #12  |  Link
mrazzido
Registered User
 
mrazzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
UPDATE :

Test it with new version of Daemon Tools too , mount the image workx!!


Watch my video ehhe CLICK DL


yeah i read the Hole iso with a BD PC drive...
mrazzido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 20:48   #13  |  Link
mrazzido
Registered User
 
mrazzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
this post was wrong i test something yet..
mrazzido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 20:59   #14  |  Link
FoxDisc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnezami View Post
if we can figure out how the Volume ID is extracted from/stored inside the ISO
Questions:
1) Is the Volume ID really stored in the ISO?

2) If the Volume ID is stored in the ISO, then is it in the lead in area, or somewhere else? I was under the impression that you couldn't write the lead in area to prevent bit-for-bit copying. Even if an ISO has a simulated lead in area, how can a burned copy be decrypted by AnyDVD if the burned copy does not have a burned lead-in with the Volume ID. Could the Volume ID be stored in multiple places on a disc (seems unlikely ..... hmmmm)

3) If the Volume ID is not stored in the ISO, then where is AnyDVD getting it? Could there be a database inside AnyDVD (assuming no network access as reported)?

The internal database concept, as unlikely at it originally seemed, now strikes me as most consistent with the ability to decrypt a burned encrypted copy. I presume these burned encrypted copies won't play with regular software like WinDVD/PowerDVD. @mrazzido - would you test that?

Last edited by FoxDisc; 17th April 2007 at 21:05.
FoxDisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 21:00   #15  |  Link
mrazzido
Registered User
 
mrazzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
hey!!!

i burned a BD-RE with some ( 3 GB )crypted files , with the original AACS FOLDER
i used nero!!


Anydvd works here to!!
mrazzido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 21:03   #16  |  Link
arnezami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrazzido View Post
hey!!!

i burned a BD-RE with some ( 3 GB )crypted files , with the original AACS FOLDER
i used nero!!


Anydvd works here to!!
So only files right? No ISO burn?

We need more precise details... (3 GB only??)
arnezami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 21:06   #17  |  Link
mrazzido
Registered User
 
mrazzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
yeah thats right!! no iso burn !!

AACS Folder

+ BDMV folder ( inclusive all files )

+ CERTIFICATE Folder

in the stream folder i delete the main movie because it a DUAL LAYER Movie ) disc is yet only 3gb. ( trailers... some extras ).


...

i made a new test yet disc is burning :-)

I made a Mixed Disc some Crypted files fron movie a and some files from movie b . and the aacs folder from one movie .

looking what happend later . ehhe.

Last edited by mrazzido; 17th April 2007 at 21:09.
mrazzido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 21:08   #18  |  Link
arnezami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrazzido View Post
yeah thats right!! no iso burn !!

AACS Folder

+ BDMV folder ( inclusive all files )

+ CERTIFICATE Folder

in the stream folder i delete the main movie because it a DUAL LAYER Movie ) disc is yet only 3gb. ( trailers... some extras ).
That certainly indicates some kind of database of VUKs/VIDs. Because the Volume ID isn't present in the files.

OR some HUUUUUGE breaktrough... (very very unlikely)

Starting to put my hat on again. This is starting to look like "plain" VUK based decryption.

arnezami

@QuePaso and @mrazzido: what movies are we talking about here: common or relatively new/rare ones?

Last edited by arnezami; 17th April 2007 at 21:17.
arnezami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 21:15   #19  |  Link
mrazzido
Registered User
 
mrazzido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 114
i test it with 3 crypted movies.

CASINO ROYAL

KINGDOM OF THE HEAVEN

FULL METAL JACKET

i read some times ago the hole images to HDīs , for testing.

some crypted iso i burned on BD-R for testing ( with aacskeys ) to get volume id ( from a BD-R / RE) we talked about but it was all 000000000....


the only thing is Anydvd must have yet a Databse with some keys inside ?? all keys posted sometimes in the Threads.
mrazzido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 21:18   #20  |  Link
arnezami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrazzido View Post
i test it with 3 crypted movies.

CASINO ROYAL

KINGDOM OF THE HEAVEN

FULL METAL JACKET

i read some times ago the hole images to HDīs , for testing.

some crypted iso i burned on BD-R for testing ( with aacskeys ) to get volume id ( from a BD-R / RE) we talked about but it was all 000000000....


the only thing is Anydvd must have yet a Databse with some keys inside ?? all keys posted sometimes in the Threads.
Yeah. This seems to based on a database of VUKs. Possibly taken from this site...

Maybe AnyDVD uses this as a "fallback position" in case their Device/Host Private Keys don't work (anymore). Which is why they can claim old (known) discs will keep working of the HRL gets updated but thats just because of the database assembled here. Bah...

Its still a valid solution for PS3 owner though. Although we should make sure our own (open source/free) decrypters work on the PS3 properly (based on VUKs).

Last edited by arnezami; 17th April 2007 at 21:24.
arnezami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.