Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th March 2011, 12:00   #16741  |  Link
ceb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 68
In a custom installation of the AMD Catalyst drivers, there's an option called "wmv9/vc-1 video playback", is it of any use to MPC-HC? My video card is an ATI 5770.
In the description it says it's hardware acceleration, but I don't use DXVA because my CPU is powerful enough (Intel Core i5 2500), and anyway, even if I wanted to it doesn't work properly.

Last edited by ceb; 30th March 2011 at 12:21.
ceb is offline  
Old 30th March 2011, 22:15   #16742  |  Link
Ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanWillem32 View Post
@Ger: I've made corrections to the default scalers. It will be integrated in the next tester build, but I don't know for sure it will solve the problem.
OK. As I said it's not important to me as long as A=-1.00 is working, but I'm happy to test the other two anyway, and will report back once the next tester build is released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanWillem32 View Post
About the chroma up-sampling: I've written several shaders that work wonders on raw chroma data. It's currently available in the flavors blur (simple bilinear), Spline4 and Spline5. http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=157634
The "optimized path for up-sampling floating point surfaces" folder contains an optimized chain of up-sampling shaders to use in combination with FFPP or HFPP.
I still need to write a proper OP with a guide how to add and use shaders...
Understood, but as you can see from the last three posts before my last one, people are noticing a regression in EVR-CP when no shaders are used (which will surely be the case for most EVR-CP users out there).

This comment made me start looking through the archives to figure out when the problem started:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien147 View Post
1.5.1.2903 also works fine.
@JanWillem
While it's true that the above build is fine, it's actually a bit misleading though, since that particular official/stable build is missing some commits that a trunk r2903 would have, as you can see from the blue OSD background color that was changed in r2863. So I used alexins' archive (xvidvideo.ru) and narrowed the regression down to the revision range 2834-2840. In other words, r2833 is fine, but r2840 and later have very blocky reds. Tested up to and including r2994, and also your r2993 tester build. There are no archived trunk builds available between r2833 and r2840 from either alexins or xhmikosr, so I can't narrow it down further.

In that range I think r2837 and r2839 are the most likely culprits, both are AFAICS mostly your patches, so I think you would be the guy to talk to for the people hoping to get it fixed (without having to resort to shaders or another renderer).

With a relatively low res red logo upscaled to fullscreen I can clearly see the difference between r2833 and r2840 (old default 8-bit chain used, but the problem is not limited to 8-bit). As you can see the logo in the middle has noticeably uglier/blockier reds than the other two, proving it was broken between those two revisions.

I stole the red/black/letters idea from madshi's second post in the madVR thread and found a usable logo in a low res xvid upscaled to fullscreen with Bicubic A=-1.00.

For anyone interested I also uploaded all original fullscreen screenshots, including some with other renderers for reference/curiosity reasons (madVR, EVR Sync, EVR) and a couple from the 2993 tester build with some additional options like HFPP, 10bOut and dithering in addition to one with the three shaders from "optimized path for up-sampling chroma on floating point surfaces" in shader pack 24. All four MPC-HC builds used during these tests are also included in that archive, in case xvidvideo.ru goes down again (was down for a while yesterday).

All tests done with ATI 5770, Win7 x64 SP1, 32-bit MPC-HC.
Ger is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 01:20   #16743  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 225
Ger has a point about the ''~when the osd color changed''(I thought it was a problem too).I don't know if it's intended but now when using ffdshow(with default settings) I get different output(and different bad chroma result),NV12 instead of rgb32 when using internal decoder.This doesn't happen with 1.5.1.2903,stays rgb32.In general thumbs up for the changes,can't wait for the final result.
Screenshot with default settings.

Looks the same as described in Ticket #915(I don't know with nvidia) but without the necessity of dxva usage.

evr cp,win7 64bit sp1,ati 4850(11.4 preview),mpc-hc 32bit

Last edited by Damien147; 31st March 2011 at 02:10.
Damien147 is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 04:07   #16744  |  Link
bobdynlan
Beyond the Corn Border
 
bobdynlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 4th Roman Empire
Posts: 93
Test-drive this build featuring some new internal software decoder options.
More info in the readme. Also see ticket 719.

bobdynlan is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 07:06   #16745  |  Link
pdanpdan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 145
@bobdynlan
It seems it's working fine here (win7 64, ATI HD2400Pro, Cat 11.4) - now it's working for non DXVA also.
Thank you.
pdanpdan is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 08:35   #16746  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdynlan View Post
Test-drive this build featuring some new internal software decoder options.
More info in the readme. Also see ticket 719.
Is BT.601/BT.709 detection done automagically like in ffdshow's HQRGB32?
fastplayer is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 09:58   #16747  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,123
@bobdynlan
Working fine so far !
Why isn't your other patch, (for the GUI, AKA BE Mod) in the SVN cause is working fine here?
__________________
Windows 10 x64 CU, HD7790 Crimson 17.6.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4
Mercury_22 is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 12:29   #16748  |  Link
bobdynlan
Beyond the Corn Border
 
bobdynlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 4th Roman Empire
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastplayer View Post
Is BT.601/BT.709 detection done automagically like in ffdshow's HQRGB32?
For now it's not, just dumb resolution enforced, but it could be improved.
YV12/NV12 are still the recommended output formats, RGB32 only gets there quality wise if Chroma to RGB is on 'Full' (with the huge performance drops). At least now there are some options, and as a side effect can overcome some issues until the renderer patches of JanWillem32 get stable. Reading the readme it's a must.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercury_22 View Post
@bobdynlan
Why isn't your other patch, (for the GUI, AKA BE Mod) in the SVN cause is working fine here?
That's based on a old sketch source and I do not support it. I will reboot that mod soon - and now I mean it
bobdynlan is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 12:38   #16749  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdynlan View Post
For now it's not, just dumb resolution enforced, but it could be improved.
YV12/NV12 are still the recommended output formats, RGB32 only gets there quality wise if Chroma to RGB is on 'Full' (with the huge performance drops). At least now there are some options, and as a side effect can overcome some issues until the renderer patches of JanWillem32 get stable. Reading the readme it's a must.
That's based on a old sketch source and I do not support it. I will reboot that mod soon - and now I mean it
Ok Can't Wait !

P.S. Cum e vremea la mare ( de 1 mai ) ?
__________________
Windows 10 x64 CU, HD7790 Crimson 17.6.2, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4
Mercury_22 is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 12:41   #16750  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdynlan View Post
For now it's not, just dumb resolution enforced, but it could be improved.
YV12/NV12 are still the recommended output formats, RGB32 only gets there quality wise if Chroma to RGB is on 'Full' (with the huge performance drops). At least now there are some options, and as a side effect can overcome some issues until the renderer patches of JanWillem32 get stable. Reading the readme it's a must.
What's the purpose of RGB15/16? If anything, RGB24 would make more sense IMO.
Anyway, I like the idea of taking more advantage of swscale and overcoming some of the deficiencies of the internal renderers.
fastplayer is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 13:28   #16751  |  Link
Damien147
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 225
Quote:
@bobdynlan
Working fine so far !
+1

..but I'm using ffdshow

As I said I get nv12 output with everything when using ffdshow,is it ok to use YV12 chroma upsampling shader for now?Any drawbacks?I like to keep things ''pure''.Changing renderer is not an option for me because I need color management.

Last edited by Damien147; 31st March 2011 at 13:40.
Damien147 is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 14:10   #16752  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdynlan View Post
Test-drive this build featuring some new internal software decoder options.
Need a reset button.
v0lt is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 14:40   #16753  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdynlan View Post
Test-drive this build featuring some new internal software decoder options.
More info in the readme. Also see ticket 719.

I would suggest removing the error resilience and idct options. Normal users should never need to change those.
Threads option is also pretty pointless since all ffmpeg decoders used by MPC are single-threaded.
Default input levels should be 16-235. Only formats like Fraps are 0-255, and that isn't even supported by the internal decoder.
clsid is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 15:11   #16754  |  Link
bobdynlan
Beyond the Corn Border
 
bobdynlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 4th Roman Empire
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Threads option is also pretty pointless since all ffmpeg decoders used by MPC are single-threaded.
Default input levels should be 16-235. Only formats like Fraps are 0-255, and that isn't even supported by the internal decoder.
I've only added what's on the right side. Threads option now works at least for swscaler, it will slice the image horizontally into n=nr. of threads, creating n swscontexts. And color defaults are on Auto = 16-235. The 0-255 option is there for some bad authored sources or broken renderers.
bobdynlan is offline  
Old 31st March 2011, 18:12   #16755  |  Link
khagaroth
Registered User
 
khagaroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 104
It would be probably a good idea to nuke all the RGB options (except RGB32). They did that in ffdshow too and I really don't see the point for them, or is there something that uses it.
khagaroth is offline  
Old 1st April 2011, 01:24   #16756  |  Link
mindbomb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 578
I have a few questions:
The option for maximum texture resolution for subtitles - does this effect text based subtitles, image based, or both?
And why is it best to set it to desktop, aren't the resolution of subtitles considerably lower than that?

And about the yv12 chroma upsampling shader, if im using a dxva filter, there should already be hardware chroma upsampling, so i shouldnt need this in general, right?
mindbomb is offline  
Old 1st April 2011, 03:01   #16757  |  Link
mikleemy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Could something explaine the 'Jitter' mean ?
I got jitter 0 in MadVR but 8 for output setting to EVR ( custom preset ).
mikleemy is offline  
Old 1st April 2011, 04:13   #16758  |  Link
betaking
Fantasy Codecs writer
 
betaking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yang Zhou,Jiang Su,China
Posts: 392
is this a bug?
http://mpc-hc.svn.sourceforge.net/vi...1&pathrev=3002
Based on the original Media Player Classic v6.4.9.0 (C) Gabest
Based on the original Media Player Classic v6.4.9.0 � Gabest
Copyright (C) 2002-2011 see AUTHORS file
Copyright � 2002-2011 all contributors, see AUTHORS file
Attached Images
 

Last edited by betaking; 1st April 2011 at 04:56.
betaking is offline  
Old 1st April 2011, 15:51   #16759  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,986
Just a note for those who requested it: I've just re-added the "D3D Fullscreen" option for madVR (use revision 1.5.2.3005 or newer).
madshi is offline  
Old 1st April 2011, 19:44   #16760  |  Link
HoP
Registered User
 
HoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 90
i unchecked "Keep history of recently opened files"
but mpc remember the last file...why?
my mpc version:mpc-homecinema.1.5.2.3004_(x64)_msvc2010
i didn't have this problem with old versions
__________________
[ sorry for my bad english...i can read it very well but cant write it very well :D]
HoP is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
dxva, h264, home cinema, media player classic, mpc-hc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.