Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st December 2006, 21:43   #1  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
What useful sound output libraries do you know?

I'm currently compiling a list of libraries for a sound output module I might write for Avisynth.

I find the current sound output options a bit tedious (save to WAV, process, encode...) if you have need other options than AVI sound output via vdub. So my basic idea was to write a GUI for encoding sound directly from avisynth - as a plugin.

To get a basic prototype working, I have compiled a list of known open source libraries, that might be interesting as output modules. My current list include:

* LAME (mp3)
* Twolame (mp2) (a fork of toolame)
* libflac (FLAC)
* MAClib (APE/monkey audio)
* libvorbis (ogg)

Standby libs:
* valib/ac3enc from AC3filter (AC3)

Does anybody know any other good sound encoding libraries - I'm especially intersted in:

* WAV - a solid WAVE output library - I'll use vdub if nothing else comes up, but something more standalone might be nice.
* DTS - any DTS libraries out there?
* AIFF - AIFF would be nice, if easily implemented.

Any other library, which compiles under VC++ 8?
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2006, 23:11   #2  |  Link
Pookie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,339
Bass Audio - http://www.un4seen.com/ I believe Austen Forgotten is going to be using this in his update to Tranzcode

Libsndfile - http://www.mega-nerd.com/libsndfile/

BTW, you wouldn't know anyone interested in creating a VST host plugin for Avisynth, would you ?

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=119063

Last edited by Pookie; 22nd December 2006 at 00:30.
Pookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2006, 03:56   #3  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,264
Do you know BeHappy/Bepipe/MeGUI?

- Bass libraries (v2.2) can be used like decoder with the Dimzon's plugin for AviSynth BassAudio.dll.

- AFAIK don't exist a free DTS encoder.

- For Ac3 see Aften.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 22nd December 2006 at 03:59.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2006, 12:55   #4  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
libsndfile and Aften seems like what I'm after.

@tebasuna51: Yes - I know it, and I'm not trying to re-invent the wheel. The main difference is, that the sound export should be done from _within_ AviSynth, thereby making it considerably easier to just save out sound.

Behappy will still be as good for advanced setup and encoding, since it does the entire process for you. I haven't looked at meGUI for some time - maybe that would be a good idea.

It seems like I forgot AAC - I guess there are Coding Technologies AAC encoder and FREE NeroDigital AAC, though I don't like the idea that the user manually has to install them, as I aim for a selfcontained plugin.

Right now, I'm just collecting information, as this might be my "between christmas and newyear"-project.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2006, 00:56   #5  |  Link
ilpippo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Neverland
Posts: 79
For audio recompression lately I use foobar2000 with dimzon's foo_input_avs plugin.
The good thing about foobar is that it allows to configure any kind of commandline encoder and if you need it there's a lot of dsp plugins.
Anyway I have to admit that the possibility to output encoded audio directly from within an avisynth script seems really interesting...
sh0dan, are you planning to make encoders available just as modules/dynamic libraries or could it also be possible to call external encoders that receive the audio from stdin?
ilpippo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2006, 00:19   #6  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
You probably also want to look for some form of Wave64 or ??? to get past the 2Gb and/or 2Gsample limit in standard wave.

Avery has something up his sleave in the VD 1.7 plans.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2006, 16:06   #7  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
@IanB: Yes - exactly my thought. I've looked at Avery's Wave64 implementation in 1.7.0, and it seems pretty straightforward.

It could even be implementable as an output option in the standard distribution.
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 16:27   #8  |  Link
hanfrunz
Registered User
 
hanfrunz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 537
You could also include the BWF Fileformat. And maybe you could use quicktime for export too. And have a look at this AAF Project.

hanfrunz

Last edited by hanfrunz; 28th December 2006 at 16:29.
hanfrunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 17:20   #9  |  Link
sh0dan
Retired AviSynth Dev ;)
 
sh0dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 3,480
@hanfrunz: Do you know any apps, where these formats are used? Also, for the mac people, I guess AIFF would also be interesting - would you know any code that has this implemented?
__________________
Regards, sh0dan // VoxPod
sh0dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2006, 17:41   #10  |  Link
hanfrunz
Registered User
 
hanfrunz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 537
BWF is used by professional harddisk recorders like zaxcom's diva or nagra V. Avid, ProTools, mayby FinalCut can import BWF. AAF is used by avid and ProTools too.
hanfrunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.