Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th December 2001, 23:12   #1  |  Link
tai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 32
CCE closed straight away when opening avisynth file ?

Does anyone know why CCE close straight away after I opened a avs file ? In my avs file, I used directshowsource to open a dv footage because avisynth gave me an error if I used avisource. The strange thing was I could open the avs file with virtualdub! The avisynth.dll version was 1.05. Did anyone got did problem before ?
tai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2001, 18:46   #2  |  Link
Stars556
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20
Audio included ???

Did you frameserve video AND audio ???
CCE closes when audio is missing ...


Stars556
Stars556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2002, 00:14   #3  |  Link
tai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 32

Thank you for your advice, I managed to make it work now. I used directshowsource command that was why the audio was not included. I had to use ResampleAudio command to make dummy audio signal.
tai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2002, 06:32   #4  |  Link
azurenights
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 76

thank you so much for that tidbit Stars556

Just one more thing about CCE, is the one on doom's site the demo or full version??? if it is the demo what pop ups occur to show that it is a demo???

do people think cce is better than tmpg?? or the tmpg better than cce??
azurenights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2002, 10:56   #5  |  Link
ritmo2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 134

CCE is many times faster, but lacks in audio quality.
CCE does produce better video quality in my book.
Watch your encoded vid, youll see a watermark if you gots demo.
__________________
jlc
ritmo2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2002, 21:45   #6  |  Link
BuffDaddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 6
Slower please
I've a divx movie w/ mp3 sound and wrote the following .avs file like suggested in a Guide:

AVISource("D:\SVCD\WFW\WFW.avi").BilinearResize(480,576)

...to convert it to a PAL-SVCD.
But CCE closes when I try to open the .avs file.
When the .avs is opened in WMP, I can see the resized Video but no Sound is played.
Where's my mistake?

Last edited by BuffDaddy; 1st January 2002 at 21:47.
BuffDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2002, 21:55   #7  |  Link
ritmo2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 134

I just started playing with avisynth scrpits, so I cant help.
What version of CCE are you using? And trust me, CCE is many times faster then tmpg...

C+ya,
__________________
jlc
ritmo2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2002, 23:31   #8  |  Link
tai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 32

BuffDaddy: try to add ResampleAudio(44100) to your avs file. It may work for you. Your avs file should be:

AVISource("D:\SVCD\WFW\WFW.avi").BilinearResize(480,576)
ResampleAudio(44100)
tai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2002, 00:30   #9  |  Link
BuffDaddy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 6
@tai
thx a lot, now it works
Another question. My source avi is 640x352 (black borders cropped).
In the DVD2SVCD .avs File it says:

BiCubicResize(480,432,0.00,0.75)
AddBorders(0,72,0,72)

Will I have to use this too to get the right aspect ratio when watching the SVCD?
Thx 4 your help
BuffDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2002, 23:14   #10  |  Link
paul2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5
avs problem

hi.

i have another problem with cce sp 2.62 using avs file. the file works well in wmp. the source is a dv video typ 1 without sound.

DirectShowSource("E:\xxxxx.avi")
ResampleAudio(44100)

cce tells me that it is not an avi file. where is my mistake. thx in advance for your help

cu
paul
paul2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 00:43   #11  |  Link
Stars556
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20
Use CCE SP 2.50

Hi paul2,

your mistake is to use CCE 2.62 ...
You have to use CCE 2.50 ... newer versions are not able to handle avisynth frameserver files ...


Stars556
Stars556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 09:22   #12  |  Link
paul2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5
dv source

hi.

thanks for your answer. i tried the 2.5 but when it starts encoding i have an exception under w2k. i canīt get this version running. that was why i used the 2.62. is there another way to feed cce with dv source captured with microsoft direct show dv codec?

cu
paul
paul2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 10:18   #13  |  Link
ritmo2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 134
Research your script maybe

I am only learning here myslef, i am new to these scripts, but DVD2SVCD uses cce 2.5, and feeds it an avisynth script. i have it working on 2k, and XP! Maybe your script is wrong.

Post your script!

HTH,
__________________
jlc
ritmo2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 10:45   #14  |  Link
paul2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5

hi ritmo2k.

it is realy simple:

DirectShowSource("E:\xxxxx.avi")
ResampleAudio(44100)

i think there is nothing wrong or difficult. any ideas are wellcome.

cu
paul
paul2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 10:55   #15  |  Link
ritmo2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 134

I see your frustration! How big is the AVI?
Is it private? Can I try for you? Maybe its sys specific?
God knows, I work with computers for a living, and sometimes they can be proper bitches for no explainable reason!

Let me know,
__________________
jlc
ritmo2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 17:00   #16  |  Link
paul2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5
thanks for your offer. yes itīs a private video, but the footage is more than 5 gig large, so it is impossible to send. by the way it is not my last project, so i need a resolution for myself.

thx
paul

ps
i found a resolution for my problem. installing the panasonic dv codec, exporting the file from premiere as normal avi file with the panasonic codec. this file is accepted by cce. fine.

Last edited by paul2; 5th January 2002 at 18:41.
paul2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2002, 21:59   #17  |  Link
ritmo2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 134

Cool, I wouldnt mind that codec iether, anychance you could get it to me? Email me offline.


Thanks,
__________________
jlc
ritmo2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2002, 23:18   #18  |  Link
tai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 32

paul2:
I knew that we can use another dv codec to make CCE work but when I tried Main concept dv codec it got more noise than using ms codec. May be - if you wouldn't mind - send me that panasonic codec so that I can try to see whether it's better than Main concept codec. Also if you want to use MS codec you can try the following trict, it worked for me.

- Encode video in CCE:
. use your orginal avs file:
DirectShowSource("E:\xxxxx.avi")
ResampleAudio(44100)
. use avisynth 1.05 or better (if available)

- Encode audio in Tmpegenc
. use avisynth 0.3 (this version produce sound, the 1.0 or upper does not produce sound if you use DirectShowsource command)

One more thing, I don't think you need to export the file with panasonic codec. When you open the file using any program, panasonic codec will replace ms codec by default. You can check that by open the file in virtualdub and select File/File information
tai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2002, 18:11   #19  |  Link
paul2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5
panasonic codec

i think there are different opinions about the main concept codec, but anyway, there is an interesting site about switching codecs

http://home.hetnet.nl/~jackwburger/

i havenīt used the tool to switch codecs but it may help someone. on this site there is also a link to the japanese site of panasonic to download the codec. hope that helps.

cu
paul
paul2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.