Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th December 2001, 23:03   #1  |  Link
Deathman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Problem Ripping Audio on some movies

Hi all

I got a problem with a few movies lately when i rip the audio out of some movies...

when i try to import the ac3 audio into maestro it says the the ac3 file has an inconsistent bitrate and refuses to import it... the latest one i had a problem with was pearl harbor region 2.
has anyone else had this problem or is it something on my system?

Thanks in advance
Deathman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2001, 23:15   #2  |  Link
fruitbat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 25

Same problem with The Score (R1)

Both Spruce Up & Scenarist refuse the audio file.

Is this a new anti-copy device ???
fruitbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2001, 09:59   #3  |  Link
Derrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 898

It depends on how you rip the audio stream.
You can rip it with AC3 Header or without (with vstrip)

For re-authoring you will need it without AC3 Header's!

You can use VobEdit to demux audio streams, too.
Derrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2001, 10:27   #4  |  Link
fruitbat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 25

I used smartripper and ripped it as a seperate file. All
the other discs by this method have been ok so far.
fruitbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2002, 17:38   #5  |  Link
ultrabrutal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 49
Did you ever find a fix for this?

I'm ripping Pearl Harbor R2.

Tried demuxing AC3 with Smartripper 2.41, vStrip 08e and VobEdit 0.2. All AC3 files gave me this error:

"Inconsistent bitrates were found among audio frames. Bitrate should be consistent throughout the stream. (0xc1070052)"

It happens at 99%.

I know Maestro makes a .PAR file when it has checked the media assets. Is there a way to fool Maestro into use a fake PAR file and this way not scan the media assets?

Running the stream through AC3FIX:

Starting. Input file is test.ac3, output file is testfix.ac3
Frame length is 1536
Checking frame 329240: Wrong frame length, expected 505709568, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -256 bytes
Checking frame 329241: Wrong frame length, expected 505711360, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -512 bytes
Checking frame 329242: Wrong frame length, expected 505713152, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -768 bytes
Checking frame 329243: Wrong frame length, expected 505714944, got 1536
Writing frame
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 512 bytes
Checking frame 329244: Wrong frame length, expected 505716736, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 256 bytes
Checking frame 329245: Wrong frame length, expected 505718528, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 0 bytes
Checking frame 329246: Wrong frame length, expected 505720320, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -256 bytes
Checking frame 329247: Wrong frame length, expected 505722112, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -512 bytes
Checking frame 329248: Wrong frame length, expected 505723904, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -768 bytes
Checking frame 329249: Wrong frame length, expected 505725696, got 1536
Writing frame
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 512 bytes
Checking frame 329250: Wrong frame length, expected 505727488, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 256 bytes
Checking frame 329251: Wrong frame length, expected 505729280, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 0 bytes
Checking frame 329252: Wrong frame length, expected 505731072, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -256 bytes
Checking frame 329253: Wrong frame length, expected 505732864, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -512 bytes
Checking frame 329254: Wrong frame length, expected 505734656, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -768 bytes
Checking frame 329255: Wrong frame length, expected 505736448, got 1536
Writing frame
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 512 bytes
Checking frame 329256: Wrong frame length, expected 505738240, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 256 bytes
Checking frame 329257: Wrong frame length, expected 505740032, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is 0 bytes
Checking frame 329258: Wrong frame length, expected 505741824, got 1536
Writing frame
Current wrongness is -256 bytes
Checking frame 329259: ERROR: fread seekSync failed
ERROR: seekSync failed at position 505743616, exiting

Clearly something is wrong with the AC3 stream
ultrabrutal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2002, 19:19   #6  |  Link
ultrabrutal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 49
I proceeded to examine the info smartripper displays. I noticed a strange chapter 45 which is very small. It's not 16:9 like the rest of the movie and it only has black video and appears to have no sound.
I debuxed the m2v and ac3 with smartripper excluding this chapter 45, and then continued to import the new ac3 file.

Now Maestro did not complain anymore! This could be an attempt from the author of Pearl Harbor to make some sort of copy projection, I don't know. Silly protection, but enough to give some people problems when trying to back the movie up.
You can see this chapter 45 if you play the movie. Nothing there. Maestro reports that my new AC3 is one frame shorter than my movie. So it seems it's just one black frame with some audio (or no audio) with another bitrate than the rest of the movie.

I cannot say if this is the same problem as with "the score" since I do not own this movie to try it out.

Neither CCE or Maestro complained about anything strange about the m2v, so it seems to only be a problem with the audio...

UPDATE: It also contained 2 subtitle pictures. Both blanks and clearly after the end of the movie.

Last edited by ultrabrutal; 17th February 2002 at 19:29.
ultrabrutal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2002, 23:50   #7  |  Link
Areku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 134
Having same exact problem with Snow White region 2...

Any workaround?

Tried demux audio with DVD2AVi, Vstrip and SmartRipper...

Any ideAS?!
Areku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2002, 00:32   #8  |  Link
ghetto pornstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: toronto
Posts: 47
okay, i understand that the audio has to be without headers. let's say that i've demuxed the audio + video using dvd2avi, now i have an .ac3 file with an inconsistent bitrate.

is there anyway i can fix it without re-ripping using an alternate to dvd2avi? i prefer dvd2avi and would like to know enough about ac3 files to fix them regardless of how they were demuxed.
__________________
"and like that...he's gone."
mindrampage.com
ghetto pornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2002, 22:42   #9  |  Link
s0nyguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 70
I finally managed to get proper ac3 audio from matrix r2, I had tried DVD2AVI, bbdmux etc.

The only one that worked for me, Smartripper. It stripped the stream straight out np. And DVD Maestro reported no problems on importing.

~s0ny
s0nyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2002, 08:45   #10  |  Link
oceansky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 48
HI, s0nyguy, would you show me the procedure using smartripper to strip the stream since I tried using your method and the result are vob files, the question these are the files only contain audio part, right? Or wrong since how could I convert these vob files to ac3. Or, you can strip the stream as result of ac3 files from smartripper, right?

Please let me know as i tried to look a worked way to rip the ac3 file maybe because of ntsc or interlace dvd movie, such as snowwhite.

thanks.
oceansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2002, 10:05   #11  |  Link
s0nyguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 70
use smartripper to rip the ac3 stream directly from the original source,

if you have a vob file at the end use vobtool to open then demux ac3 track, although i dont think you need to do this part as smartripper will extract ac3 direct.
__________________
~s0ny
s0nyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2002, 23:44   #12  |  Link
oceansky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 48
Thanks s0ny, this is a big help as dvd2avi always has problem with ac3, probably some movies. But this is direct one way to have accurate audio (though I haven't conclude it as movie not done yet). However, it is acceptable now from DVD Mestro, so I can say this is legitible method to have good working format for dvd mestro.
And one think if it is true, no more need to fix or convert from ac3 to wave and wave to ac3. Release the hassle thing to do.

oceansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2002, 23:48   #13  |  Link
s0nyguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 70
No probs dude ,

I dont know why dvd2avi had a problem with mine either, but it was very frustrating, took me a while to figure it out.
__________________
~s0ny
s0nyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2002, 01:53   #14  |  Link
oceansky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 48
Oh, if you read the previous postings, then you know dvd2avi has problem with ac3 files with some movies because of the last chapter.

The dvd2avi may not be the problem, is just the movie structure cause the demuxing incorrectly the ac3 file. I think so!

However, I still need ac3fix since i also want to demux for the bonus link and they have different chapter. If i use the smartripper, there will be multi ac3 file, of course i want to get one file. And using dvd2avi, the ac3 file has problem again with dvd mestro, just like my movie ac3 file, couldn't import it.

You know any program to add ac3 files altogehter, or ac3fix will help.
oceansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2002, 19:03   #15  |  Link
bgates222
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 92
cant rip sound at all

im trying to rip the audio on the move THE OTHERS ive tried vstrip,dvd2avi,smartripper,vobedit and i cant rip the sound with any of them, smartripper creates an ac3 with 0kb as does vobedit and dvd2avi and vstrip create nothing. anyone have this problem?
bgates222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2002, 19:06   #16  |  Link
ghetto pornstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: toronto
Posts: 47
have you tried the latest version of dvd decrypter?
__________________
"and like that...he's gone."
mindrampage.com
ghetto pornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2002, 20:07   #17  |  Link
bgates222
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 92
yeah but i already have the files on the hard drive is there a way to run it off the hard drive with decrypter
bgates222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2002, 15:22   #18  |  Link
ghetto pornstar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: toronto
Posts: 47
i'm not sure, i guess doom9's dvd decrypter guide would be the best place to check.
__________________
"and like that...he's gone."
mindrampage.com
ghetto pornstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.