Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th December 2001, 10:38   #1  |  Link
poydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7
Divx Encoding Speed and Time

Hi,
I'm curious to know how fast everyone else is being able to encode their DVD's.

I am using Xmpeg 4.2a
doing a 2-pass 624x480 crop, divx 4.11, 128bit mp3 audio.

As of now it requires about 5 1/2 hrs for a complete DVD 4.0gigs.
Can anyone else post how fast they are encoding? or a faster speed with good quality?

My computer is a
1.0 ghz athlon, 256mb ram, raid-0 striped.
poydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2001, 15:58   #2  |  Link
formentz
Registered User
 
formentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 10

Hi, I used an Athlon 800 @1000 and I used to encode at 13-14 fps without audio.
The Fraunhofer MP3 codec is slower that lame, so I always process the audio with separate programs than XMpeg (vob2audio, azid, lame).

Are you using the YV12 color depth? It will be faster.

Now I use an athlon xp 1600+ and encode at 25-27 fps (no audio).

The format is 512x???, height is sometimes 288 and sometimes 204, depending on the input film format.

Ciao
Formentz
formentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2001, 20:11   #3  |  Link
poydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7

hmmm...

the funny thing is it only tells me 12-13 fps when i do a 1-pass
but when i do a 2-pass it doesn't show the fps.

I'm using WinXP and YV12 like you said.

1-pass onlyh takes about 1 hr and 20 minutes. so why does 2-pass take so long?

i've noticed the quality is much better with 2-pass, does deinterlace make everything slower?
poydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2001, 08:07   #4  |  Link
MickImoto
Registered User
 
MickImoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spain
Posts: 13
An example: Shrek

Hi to everyone.
I've an Athlon 900, 512Mb, 2xSeagate Barracuda ATA 100 7200rpm with W98se and Xmpeg 4.2a.

Iīve encoded Shrek with 2 pass, bicubic filter (most slow, but most quality), YV12 color depth, Fraunhoffer mp3 160Kb/s...

...........8 hours for whole process....

But I was sleeping ......
MickImoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2001, 13:31   #5  |  Link
Znarf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: France (Paris)
Posts: 25
An other time

Hi everyone,

I use an Athlon 1ghz, 256Mo SDRAM, IBM ATA100 7200.
I compress with XMpeg 4.2a in high quality (everything high), in RGB (I have a TNT2 ).

It took me about 7 hours for the return of the momy.

And I wasn't able to sleep, there was too much noise . . .
then I did it while I was working !
__________________
Divx ?? You said Divx ??
Znarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2001, 08:47   #6  |  Link
poydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7

Is RGB high quality?

How about YV12?

I'd like to know if using high quality will make it a larger file. IF not then i should be doing everything in higher quality!
poydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2001, 09:11   #7  |  Link
MickImoto
Registered User
 
MickImoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spain
Posts: 13
High quality...

Hi. I usually say high quality when I use a process that will make a DivX with filters like Bicubic. This filter makes a perfect conversion of every frame while encoding resizes images, althoug it's very slow. I've compare many filters on the same film and I use Bicubic in every DivX I make.

Then, encoding process will compress following your selected bitrate. If this bitrate is not enough, macroblocks will appear, but if you selected a good bitrate, and used Bicubic Filter, the film will be a perfect translation and it wouldn't grow too much.

Mick Imoto.
MickImoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2001, 12:21   #8  |  Link
Znarf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: France (Paris)
Posts: 25
RGB mode

Yes, I agree with Mick Imoto.

About the RGB's question, I use RGB because my graphic card is a TNT2. Then I can't use YV12 or other mode (you need a recent card as Geforce).

I don't know if there is a difference in quality (they say no on other site), but the RGB mode is the slowest mode.

I have to buy a Geforce . . . to make divx fastest and to play a lot . . .
__________________
Divx ?? You said Divx ??
Znarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2001, 16:50   #9  |  Link
poydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7

hmm... this is rather interesting. I took your suggestions and fired up RGB and used the bressenham filter, I will try the bicubic later to see what the difference is.

I got the divx 4.xx bitrate calculator and now i'm encoding at 1200kps bitrate. The quality seems superb now compared to before. Leaving it One-pass its encoding at ~9.0fps but it only takes 3 hrs!
Is 2-pass that much better? If this is already good quality then why should i use 2-pass?

Another question, is bressenham filter that much worse than the bicubic filter?

Also should i use divx fast-motion or regular divx 4.11? I'm encoding a lot of action anime scenes.
poydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 16:18   #10  |  Link
MickImoto
Registered User
 
MickImoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spain
Posts: 13
Two passes better than only one.

Hi again.

In the beggining, fast motion was the best codec for fully action movies. But is clear that movies usually have slow motion scenes. Then someone make a system to mix both codecs in the same video string. And now, DivX 411 codec includes slow and fast capabilities in microcode. By this, 4.11 codec encodes a whole movie with good quality in slow scenes as well as fast scenes.
But the best method uses two passes. In primary one, the codec write statistics about every scene to apply this values in second pass. This method balances quality and size to store every frame with the best ratio, and can save extra memory in static or slow scenes to increase bitrate in complex ones.

I always use this method. And if I get wrong with bitrate and film grows a lot, I use statistics made in the first pass to make another second pass and correct bitrate.

And give a chance to Bicubic Filter. Itīs really great.

Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Mick Imoto.
MickImoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 16:27   #11  |  Link
superflex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 19

i have an intel 850 100fsb. i get between 10 w/audio to 16 w/o audio.
gf2 mx200 im happy with my set up as i just leave it on all night and when i get done its over. glad that xmpeg does both 1,2 pass all that once so i dont have to manually set up the 2nd pass. thats the only one i use and nothing else.
superflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 16:43   #12  |  Link
MickImoto
Registered User
 
MickImoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spain
Posts: 13
What filter?

OK, but.. do you select bressenham filter or bicubic filter or what?

My Athlon 900 gets 12-16 fps (no audio) with bressenham filter, but only 7-8 with bicubic. Itīs is desesperately slow, but the best.


Bye.
MickImoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 18:10   #13  |  Link
poydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7

Hey, just wanna say thanks first of all for answering all my questions! I know i'm a newbie but i'm getting the hang of it, it certainly is a lot of fun. =)

One last question... I dunno of if Xmpeg 4.2a messed up on me or what but i used all the same settings before except used a bicubic filter and low and behold it Took 10 hrs like you said.

The problem is. when it was all done, there was my file and it was only 67mb!!!!! and i couldn't play it! there's obviously something wrong but i have no idea what happened? did i mess up my codec or something?
poydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2001, 22:04   #14  |  Link
formentz
Registered User
 
formentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 10

I think you encoded with 2 pass (1st pass), but you did only the 1st pass.
Check the DivX options, you should use 1 pass to make the film in one pass, and set up the 2nd pass plugin to use the 2 pass method.
For this method check The Guides section, it is very well explained (thx to Doom9!!).

Ciao
Formentz
formentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2001, 17:43   #15  |  Link
poydog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 7

haha! Success!

RGB/BIcubic/1200kbs bitrate/128 audio/2-pass=Beautiful quality!

Man i thought the first ones looked good, but this is serious stuff.
it takes 13 hrs for a 1:10:44 movie but it's worth it. NOw i just have to look to getting a new processor =)
poydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2001, 22:50   #16  |  Link
Mr. Smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5
RE: Speed

On my dual AthlonXP 1800+ machine w/ 1GB RAM, I'm getting somewhere between 40 and 60 fps w/ Bess., 2-pass DivX 4.11 encoding, w/ 160kbit MP3 Audio. I'm working with progressive 29.97 16:9 DVD's scaled to 640x??? with a source-consistent AR, cropped.

Quality: outstanding.
Speed: Spectacular.

Now, I either need a player that pre-amps the audio or we need to get Xmpeg's audio settings working correctly.
Mr. Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2002, 07:44   #17  |  Link
smelly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
DivX Encoding Time

Greetings ppls,

I've got a - pentium 4, 1.3 Ghz
- 128 Mb RaM

I encoded shrek using 2 passes, ripped the audio, joined audio and
video. Total process took 5 Hours and 40 minutes.

Here are the following programs and codecs I use:

- DivX 4.11 Codec
- Virtual dub 1.4.8
- DVD2AVI 1.76
- VFAPI 1.04 Beta

and ac3decgui to rip the audio from the vobs.

Take care ppls.
smelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2002, 09:08   #18  |  Link
Toejam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 28
How can I select a timeframe of video to rip?

Hey,

I have an Athlon XP 1600 (1.4 GHz) w/ 512 DDR Ram and it says I can do the whole Matrix in 3 hours.

How can a select a certain timeframe (crop for time) a video segment, instead of having to rip the whole DVD? I just want a certain few minutes. Can this be done with XMPEG?
__________________
------
Toejam
Toejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.