Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th February 2006, 23:32   #1  |  Link
Defenestration
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Resultant XviD is a bit jerky when camera pans

After converting a few DVD's to XviD format using AutoGK, I have been impressed with the ease of AutoGK and the results. One slight problem I've noticed though is that the movie can become a bit jerky on some of the XviD's when the camera is panned across the scene. I'm thinking that it might be to do with different frame rates from the source and destination, which results in either some frames being dropped or some being added to the resultant XviD.

Any idea how I can make this jerky problem go away, or is it just an artifact of converting some DVD's (hence it cannot be removed) ?
Defenestration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2006, 05:14   #2  |  Link
CWR03
Custom User Title
 
CWR03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,739
Not unless you upload a sample of a problematic encode. You can use BaDonGo.com to upload for free, then just paste the supplied link here so you won't have to wait for moderator approval.
CWR03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2006, 14:26   #3  |  Link
Barns66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Defenestration you are correct. I also have the same problem. It most certainly is to do with FPS. I am guessing you have problems with encodes that are from 29.970 FPS source DVDs.
A problem i to experiance.
Annoying yes, but i don't think there is anything we can do about it as AGK is so automated. If the source is detected as "hybrid" from the comp test then you can "force IVTC" in the advanced settings which can help. If the source is detected as anything else i don't think there is anything we can do.

Last edited by Barns66; 18th February 2006 at 14:31.
Barns66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2006, 21:37   #4  |  Link
CWR03
Custom User Title
 
CWR03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barns66
If the source is detected as anything else i don't think there is anything we can do.
Sure there is: switch to the full Gordian Knot.
CWR03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2006, 02:59   #5  |  Link
Barns66
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWR03
Sure there is: switch to the full Gordian Knot.
Not an option for me as full GK results in undersized files on 2nd pass EVERY rip i attempt.
And no amount of reinstalling of software or XviD codec will fix it for me.
Barns66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2006, 06:18   #6  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,555
As, Manono pointed out in http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...734#post746734 in December, you seem to be improperly using GK's compression test.

In in the log in that thread, I note:
Code:
Quality:            0.188 bits/(pixel*frame).
CompCheck3:         0.000 bits/(pixel*frame).
CompCheck5:         0.156 bits/(pixel*frame).
. If I'm reading that correctly, you attempted to create a file with 120% of the b/p*f of your compression test. You will never reach your intended file size, since the test shows a maximum obtainable b/p*f of 0.156 at that resolution.

I know you've searched and read a lot; perhaps you've missed this sticky in the DivX Encoding forum; its applicable to XviD also: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=24584

Best practice among the members seems to be aiming for a value in the 60-80% range (AutoGK aims for 75%). Doom9's guides recommend 40-60%, and those should provide acceptable results.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2006, 06:32   #7  |  Link
pojke
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWR03
Sure there is: switch to the full Gordian Knot.
I'm using the full Gordian Knot and have what I think is a similar problem (see thread)

What settings in GK could solve this issue?
pojke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2006, 20:41   #8  |  Link
CWR03
Custom User Title
 
CWR03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by pojke
What settings in GK could solve this issue?
If it's a film, follow the detailed instructions on the Ripping tab of Gordian Knot.
CWR03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.