Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th December 2005, 11:46   #1  |  Link
Staz
Registered User
 
Staz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 128
Video in GK Preview Window Appears interlaced but its not??

I have come across a strange thing in Gordian Knot.
I open up the .d2v file inside GK and in the preview window it is easy to see the combing in the picture. Looks as if I need to add a deinterlace filter to the avisynth script correct?

However if I don't add a deinterlace filter to the script, the resulting Xvid encode has NO combing lines in it. Very strange..

Can anybody explain why I see combing in the GK preview but not in my resulting encode, remembering I have applied NO Deinterlace filters.

Last edited by Staz; 26th December 2005 at 02:32.
Staz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2005, 18:30   #2  |  Link
unskinnyboy
Registered User
 
unskinnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NTSC R1
Posts: 2,047
The interlacing could have been due to Telecining. So it means that you shouldn't deinterlace it. IVTC will do the trick and that's what probably happened here. Anyway don't you know in cases like this you should so we know what exactly happened? Also post an untouched VOB sample.
__________________
unskinnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2005, 18:35   #3  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,555
You may want to exame the original source by hand. See www.doom9.org/ivtc-tut.htm for details.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2005, 22:17   #4  |  Link
Staz
Registered User
 
Staz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 128
I've worked it out!

The video is definitely interlaced and the GK preview window was working correctly.

What I did was edit the .avs script so that there was no LanczosResize. I then opened the .avs in virtualdub and voila the interlace lines are present. I have come to the conclusion that after resizing the video it is very hard to notice the interlacing.
Staz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.