Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th July 2009, 01:45   #2181  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
Quote:
Oops, cheered a bit too fast.
With version 1.1.1.2beta (Vista32), when trying "Codec Configuration" for xvid profile, I get this Error window below.
http://i25.tinypic.com/8x3ok7.png
Maybe the user privilege detection is broke, are you really sure you run it as admin? Please tell me about your environment.

Quote:
Also, what's the meaning of storing templates in the Appdata folder and not in a simple subfolder please ?
The template dir is within the settings dir, the settings dir is defined at the very first startup meaning when StaxRip don't find a settings dir while startup it will pop-up a dialog asking where it should be created. It has a option for the local user dir, for the startup dir in case the startup dir is not within a protected system dir like the program files dir and it has a option for a custom dir, if you define a custom dir and it already contains settings StaxRip won't create new settings but use existing settings. Best way to move the settings dir is closing StaxRip, moving the dir manually, on next startup StaxRip will pop-up the explained dialog where you pick custom and point it to the new location. There are hardly applications giving such great flexibility and usability in this regard, in fact many application are a pain making it hard to even find where the settings are located like it wouldn't make sense to make a backup of the settings.

Quote:
and is there a chance we could get all profiles back please, are you still working on it, or have you decided to slim the down to the bare minimums ?
MeGUI compatibility won't come back because it's hard to maintain and has less benefit since x264 added the new profile, preset and tune features. After the next stable release I try to not break it for as long as possible. Reason why I did break it recently is a lot has changed in x264 and I needed to clean things up ensuring a solid starting point. Generally backward compatibilty is a major effort that could otherwise be invested in new features and better experience, I don't have so much time, consider Win XP support to be dropped very soon for many good reasons.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player

Last edited by stax76; 11th July 2009 at 01:50.
stax76 is offline  
Old 11th July 2009, 02:13   #2182  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Maybe the user privilege detection is broke, are you really sure you run it as admin? Please tell me about your environment.
I'm running as admin, I mean my username is Monty, and it's part of the Administrators group.(I hope that's what you're reffering to)



Quote:
The template dir is within the settings dir, the settings dir is defined at the very first startup meaning when StaxRip don't find a settings dir while startup it will pop-up a dialog asking where it should be created.
OK, I see, My Settings dir is set to "C:\Users\Monty\AppData\Local\StaxRip" allthough the newest betas come a .7z and will extract the Applications in a subdir where we extract it, allthough there also is a Applications folder under the Settings dir, thus this "C:\Users\Monty\AppData\Local\StaxRip\Applications" & also \Downloads subdirs there are now not used/needed anymore with the newer beta's ?

Anyway thanks for your efforts & time !
Betsy25 is offline  
Old 11th July 2009, 04:53   #2183  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
There is a bug in the admin detection, it's a VB.NET bug:

My.User.IsInRole(ApplicationServices.BuiltInRole.Administrator)

The settings dir should only contain the settings file and the templates dir, the applications dir should be in the startup dir because that's how StaxRip is now distributed and StaxRip will find the applications in this location automatically.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player

Last edited by stax76; 11th July 2009 at 04:56.
stax76 is offline  
Old 11th July 2009, 05:10   #2184  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
Here is a fix for the admin issue: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=VE4MXYZB
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 12th July 2009, 03:24   #2185  |  Link
Betsy25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Holland, Belgium
Posts: 324
Thanks stax, works fine and dandy.
Betsy25 is offline  
Old 15th July 2009, 09:37   #2186  |  Link
ceearrashee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
guys, take a long time already to change the resizing method:
target_height = height - crop
target_height = target_height mod 16
target_width = target_height * pixel_aspect_ratio
target_width = target_width mod 4
this principle is selected by me, so long as it represents the most correct method of changing the size. Is it possible to programing or i can make such a filter.
ceearrashee is offline  
Old 15th July 2009, 12:49   #2187  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
@ceearrashee

Please explain much cleaner and more elaborate, thanks.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 20th July 2009, 07:32   #2188  |  Link
Bilskate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Hi, Stax. I've StaxRip 1.1.1.2 beta and since today I'm on Windows 7. And I think it doesn't really work with Windows 7, when I "click on next to add job" I always get this message " Can't register the YV12 decoder. StaxRip hasn't sufficient user privileges to perform the requested operation. In order to gain the sufficient privileges close StaxRip, right-click the StaxRip shortcut or the executable and select 'Run as administrator' from the context menu " .

Of course I did that, and I also run StaxRip with the real (hidden) admin mod account and I got the same message.

Can you confirm me that it's because of Windows 7 or is there a way to solve this problem ?

Also I wanted to install the older version (the executable one) to see if it works, , but I didn't find it.

Cheers,

Ryan.
Bilskate is offline  
Old 20th July 2009, 16:05   #2189  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
Hi, yes there is a issue: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...81#post1306981
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 23rd July 2009, 10:35   #2190  |  Link
Lime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Hi!

I use StaxRip to convert MPEG2 TV captures to XviD. I have a DVB-T TV card which means I can get minor signal issues which leads to ProjectX errors like

Video
!> dropping GOP# 4673 @ orig.PTS 00:47:00.360 (253832400), errorcode: 24
!> Pics exp/cnt 13/12, inGOP PTS diff. 0ms, new Timecode 00:45:55.520
!> PTS difference of 46800 (00:00:00.520) to last exported GOP detected
!> dropping useless B-Frames @ GOP# 4674 / new Timecode 00:45:55.520
Audio
!> missing syncword @ 1206529, @ 00:00:32.808
!> found syncword @ 1207112
!> 2 frame(s) (48ms) inserted @ 00:00:32.856


What can the effects be, if I ignore running ProjectX and not fixing my captures before running DGIndex? Just Open File -> Process in DGIndex -> StaxRip.
Lime is offline  
Old 23rd July 2009, 10:56   #2191  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
Hi and welcome,
DGIndex had sync issues but I didn't test if it was fixed in recent years.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 23rd July 2009, 15:36   #2192  |  Link
flebber
Practising Schemer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 791
Stax are you dropping Win Xp support before or when 7 is released? I am currently on Win XP and am avoiding the upgrade to the mess that is Vista until 7 is released.
flebber is offline  
Old 23rd July 2009, 16:09   #2193  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
For now I can resist to drop it but won't waste time to make things look nice, there are two minor issues on XP I know of, the slider in the x264 dialog don't fit the color of the background. The other thing will be introduced in the next version, the big buttons that had a bold title and a small description use now standard text without bold on XP and native CommandLinks on Vista/Win 7, these are default Win32 buttons with a new style introduced with Vista.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player

Last edited by stax76; 23rd July 2009 at 16:14.
stax76 is offline  
Old 23rd July 2009, 20:34   #2194  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
1.1.1.3 beta
  • Vista CommandLink buttons enabled, looks worse on XP now...
  • Updated x264 to 1184 and added new AQ mode Auto-variance
  • Added reset button in external applications dialog to reset the location
  • Added checkboxes to setup dialog to control what to setup
  • Added context menu in x264 dialog to copy the command line
  • Fixed bug user privileges wrong detected leading to fail registering YV12 decoder
  • Fixed setup issues on Win XP
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 29th July 2009, 13:04   #2195  |  Link
FrankTho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I had the older Beta StaxRip.beta.0406.1936 installed. Now i wanted to install the new 1.1.1.3beta. In the zip file i only get the staxrip.exe and the app folders, but no installer. So i moved the files into my staxrip's program folder. But when i start it, i get this error:
"System.InvalidCastException: FieldContainer cannot be converted to FieldContainer.
at StaxRip.SafeSerialization.Deserialize(....)
..."

How must i handle this beta?

I have XP SP2 running.

regards, Frank

Last edited by FrankTho; 29th July 2009 at 13:08. Reason: wrote in german :)
FrankTho is offline  
Old 29th July 2009, 13:24   #2196  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
It fails loading old settings or projects or templates. You could remove the old stuff but it's gone then of course. I was hoping it can load most of the old stuff, maybe you can upload the old StaxRip version somewhere along with the diagnstic file, maybe I can fix it.
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline  
Old 29th July 2009, 14:01   #2197  |  Link
FrankTho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
ah just found out what you write. I removed the old stuff, then it works. i set up my profiles vie screenshots. Works now, so dont bother with my problem anymore, thanx for answering!!
FrankTho is offline  
Old 2nd August 2009, 05:40   #2198  |  Link
Ramscoop
Registered User
 
Ramscoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
I just updated from 1.1.1.0 to 1.1.1.3b. I saved some time with the packaged external apps! Thanks!

What happened to the x264 anime encoding profiles that were available in 1.1.1.0?
__________________
- Intel i7 930,ASRock x58,6GB G.Skill RAM,WD VelociRaptor,(2x)WD Black 2TB,(2x)EVGA GTX470
- (2x)Intel Xeon 5450,Intel 5000-sumthin' MOBO,12GB Unbuffered Kingston RAM,PNY Quadro FX 580,WD Black 1TB
Ramscoop is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 14:01   #2199  |  Link
yanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Does anyone know if StaxRip will support or does support ass subs enhanced features?
yanger is offline  
Old 16th August 2009, 19:49   #2200  |  Link
TBKHomeworld!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9
...helpful link..

So I get asked by a lot of folks how to extract video content from a source (vob) and convert to Xvid (my codec of choice). I got tired of explaining it to all of them so I made a video on how to use Staxrip.

Anyway, for those of you who are not technically savvy here is a quick and dirty video 'how to'.

http://www.tbkhomeworld.com/staxrip

Enjoy!
~TBK
TBKHomeworld! is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
gui, h.264, h.265, hevc, mkv, x264, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.