Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd January 2007, 10:13   #121  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
i suggest to use the new AutoMkV !

it is more stable and offer both an "AutoCrop Only" (in width) or Resize NONE

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2007, 10:37   #122  |  Link
Eles10
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Cool, thanks...
Eles10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2007, 15:13   #123  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: George.org.za
Posts: 665
Does MkvMagic support batch processing with the 'modified' Const-Quantizer BR ?

I've just started using AutoMKV to encode the 'Band of Brothers' series into Mkv Avi... using constant-quality quantizer. After much experimentation it dawned on me that the modified-quantizer is not working in batch-mode. Batching is quite important since I run the series through at, let say, Q24 and then again if the result is too big/small for a single 4.5GB DVD. I can also modify the resolution up or down for best results.

I encoded the entire series with Dr DivX 1 & VirtualDub many years ago (also onto 1 DVD) and again with Dr DivX 2 more recently ... I'm eager to compare the results with H264 and MP4 audio.



Pascal
delacroixp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2007, 16:15   #124  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@delacroixp

wrong thread ?

mkvmagic is a ended project.

i suppose you mean automkv, so this post is for automkv...

anyway mkvmagic doesn't support batch or queue

about your issue i can suggest to modify the x264 CRF profile ( ConstantQuality-CRF.xml ) the <BitrateQuantizer>18</BitrateQuantizer> to your value

i will look to this issue

thanks

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2007, 20:32   #125  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: George.org.za
Posts: 665
@ buzzqw

Well I'm using AutoMKV though I've downloaded MkvMagic which looks really gr8... I'm quite happy with AutoMKV 0.76 though I do need the batching.

I do change the quantizer from the default 18 to 24, or even 16 (RAW Avi) but if I enqueue and run the queue it can't remember the 24 (even when I tick the 'Advanced Profile Editing' box and the saved xml file has the correct quantizer).

I should reiterate that 'modified quantizers' (other than 18) work flawlessly in single, direct encodes and the results are truly awesome.

wierd


Pascal

Last edited by delacroixp; 10th March 2007 at 20:45. Reason: Last thought
delacroixp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2007, 18:17   #126  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: George.org.za
Posts: 665
MkvMagic... the real deal !!!

So I suppose MkvMagic is still the Real Deal... and the best H264 GUI...


Pascal
delacroixp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2007, 22:47   #127  |  Link
salman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 156
i can't unpack this file and this is not in rar file
salman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2007, 05:06   #128  |  Link
movmasty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 970
Hi, in the wide resize section of Mkv i dont see the Bell filter,

i'm using it with good results for pics, so would be nice to have for movies too,

or maybe some filter that i dont know gives same results of Bell?(removing noise but sharper than bilinear)
movmasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2007, 12:43   #129  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: George.org.za
Posts: 665
@movmasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by movmasty View Post
Hi, in the wide resize section of Mkv i dont see the Bell filter,

i'm using it with good results for pics, so would be nice to have for movies too,

or maybe some filter that i dont know gives same results of Bell?(removing noise but sharper than bilinear)
Bells are all good and well but I use LimitedSharpenFaster and RemoveGrain(mode=2) (sse2) for all my up-scaling and oversampling encodes...
in a quest for true absolute quality with H264...

LoL



Pascal
__________________
HDConverToX Xtreme
delacroixp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.