Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th September 2005, 03:12   #1  |  Link
Episodio1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 197
1pass ABR with TMPGEnc ?

Hi! Id like to encode a movie with 1 pass ABR (from AVI to DVD format), but I only find in TMPGEnc:

"Automatic VBR" and "Constant Quality", which none of them lets me choose the "average bitrate" (only a quality percentage).

So... if I'd want to encode 1pass ABR @ 4000 Kbps should I choose:

max bitrate: 8000
and CQ = 50 %

or is there another way to make 1pass ABR?

Thanks.
Episodio1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 05:56   #2  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
1-pass by nature isn't all that predictible. one thing you can do is use one of those "autoQ" type programs, or figure it out manually.

that is, find a shortish (1000 frame?) chunk of your movie which you consider to be representative of the action/detail level of the entire feature.

then encode it at a guessed Q level. find the average bitrate of it, then do a little maths on it to figure out what Q level you should have used to get the bitrate you want.

one thing - "quality %" isn't a linear thing, so it'll likely take you a couple of goes, or a REALLY good guess to get the bitrate you want.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 09:25   #3  |  Link
stephanV
gone
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,709
With all that guessing and trying you might as well do a two pass...
stephanV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 10:16   #4  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,547
hehe... on a slow enough computer it's actually quicker this way but only just.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 12:21   #5  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,292
CQ mode produces better quality than 2-pass in TMPGEnc. It's a bitch to predict and encode, but there are tools that can help you, for example CQMatic + CalcuMatic. The CQ curve isn't linear which makes prediction very hard.

With CCE you can use tylo's CCEFront, and there's also some program for HC I think.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 18:54   #6  |  Link
Episodio1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 197
Thanks. I didnt want to do 2pass because Im adding hardsubs to the video (with directshow Vobsub). And vobsub doesnt work very well with 2-passes (subs dont appear for a few minutes)


New question then... i tried WinAVI (winavi.com) and the video created matches the DVD size with 1 pass. Ive been checking the video and the bitrate is variable (with the average bitrate I wished). _

I checked a few scenes fading to black and the bitrate used for that scenes was 1000 Kbps, and in fast scenes was 9800 Kbps, so WinAVI got some decent 1pass-ABR algorithm. Which free (or open source) software could do that?
Episodio1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 19:03   #7  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,292
Even if you see bitrates from min to max, it doesn't mean that you have a good distribution of bits. The encoder doesn't know what lies ahead so it may spend too many bits before a high-motion scene which will then look terrible. Any really useful 1-pass mode doesn't have a fixed average bitrate which the encoder would have to keep in mind all the time.

Why don't you try adding the hardsubs in an Avisynth script? There's VSFilter which will do just that.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 20:33   #8  |  Link
Episodio1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 197
Ive configured vobsub to show the subs as I wish (font type, size, colors, position) but the config isn't saved at all. He shows the subs always the same every time I run it.
Episodio1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2005, 21:01   #9  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,292
You can edit the .idx file in Notepad.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.