Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th November 2006, 14:47   #201  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
exactly. also b-pyramid can be used only for 2 or more b-frames. Otherwise the codec will ignore it.
But as i said, to avoid delays or desynchs, keep the number of Bs as low as possible or dont even use them.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 18:37   #202  |  Link
DeathTheSheep
<The VFW Sheep of Death>
 
DeathTheSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deathly pasture of VFW
Posts: 1,149
...Or delay audio by (Num of B-frames)*(fps).

Or more simply: Add ~25ms (or 30, or whatever your framerate is) for each B-frame you are using. But really, it isn't that necessary-- x264's lag in AVI is hardly noticeable in most cases. And as ST said: Use a fewer number to be safe.
__________________
Recommended all-in-one stop for x264/GCC needs on Windows: Komisar x264 builds!
DeathTheSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 21:20   #203  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
Quote:
But really, it isn't that necessary-- x264's lag in AVI is hardly noticeable in most cases
And in most cases there is not any lag.
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 23:22   #204  |  Link
DeathTheSheep
<The VFW Sheep of Death>
 
DeathTheSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deathly pasture of VFW
Posts: 1,149
Precisely.
__________________
Recommended all-in-one stop for x264/GCC needs on Windows: Komisar x264 builds!
DeathTheSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 04:07   #205  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathTheSheep View Post
...Or delay audio by (Num of B-frames)*(fps).

Or more simply: Add ~25ms (or 30, or whatever your framerate is) for each B-frame you are using. But really, it isn't that necessary-- x264's lag in AVI is hardly noticeable in most cases. And as ST said: Use a fewer number to be safe.
Delay audio by (Num of B-frames)*(1/fps). E.g.:
For NTSC Film (23.976fps) frame duration is ~41.7ms
For PAL (25fps) frame duration is 40ms
For NTSC TV (29.97fps) frame duration is ~33.36ms
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 12:25   #206  |  Link
akupenguin
x264 developer
 
akupenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,393
Quote:
6) have I-Frames in coincidence with IDR Frames
Or just not set the keyframe flag on non-IDR I-frames, just like you do in any other container. If keyframes are set incorrectly, that's just a bug in x264vfw, not a limitation of VfW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
3) works but it's a hackery... also do not set too much reference frames when trying to use this option...
Number of reference frames has nothing to do with any of the limitations of VfW or AVI. The fact that you can use multiple reference frames is what promped H.264 to distinguish between I-frames and IDR-frames. But if you treat keyframes correctly, then it doesn't matter to AVI whether you use 1 ref or 16. And B-pyramid exacerbates the general B-frame problems because it increases the amount of re-ordering, not because it adds referenced B-frames.

Last edited by akupenguin; 26th November 2006 at 12:31.
akupenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 14:09   #207  |  Link
GodofaGap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 823
Quote:
2) no, i meant what i said. the problem is avi doesnt like VBR streams.
For video this is absolute nonsense. Setting dwsamplesize to 0 means VBR in AVI and this works fine. There are no problems.
GodofaGap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 14:30   #208  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,175
The problem is with editors, not players. For playback, avi just works, once the necessary changes are made to the splitters to seek properly.

However, avi editors are mostly dumb as rocks compared to directshow splitters like haali's and even microsoft's; virtualdub only just recently started supporting vbr, avidemux has for a long time, but premier, AE, aviedit, and all the other avi cutters and editors that I've used just freak out on vbr. Some crash, some output garbage, some timeshift like vdubmod, and so on. This is avi's legacy, and combining that wide support base with avi's loose specs gives a lot of interoperability problems.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order. ~ Ed Howdershelt
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 14:51   #209  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
If you put little effort into your avi importing functions and rely on the AVIFile API (which really shouldn't be a bad thing, it is part of win32 after all) you've got no hope when it comes to VBR audio.
squid_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 14:51   #210  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
The problem is with editors, not players. For playback, avi just works, once the necessary changes are made to the splitters to seek properly.

However, avi editors are mostly dumb as rocks compared to directshow splitters like haali's and even microsoft's; virtualdub only just recently started supporting vbr, avidemux has for a long time, but premier, AE, aviedit, and all the other avi cutters and editors that I've used just freak out on vbr. Some crash, some output garbage, some timeshift like vdubmod, and so on. This is avi's legacy, and combining that wide support base with avi's loose specs gives a lot of interoperability problems.
Use Avidemux and be happy
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2006, 20:56   #211  |  Link
DeathTheSheep
<The VFW Sheep of Death>
 
DeathTheSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deathly pasture of VFW
Posts: 1,149
This is VBR audio we're talking about here, right? In terms of video, VBR has been supported since before VfW even came into existence. It practically MUST be VBR.

Anyways, DeathTheSheep United is now http://DeathTheSheep.Uni.cc
Fitting, isn't it?
__________________
Recommended all-in-one stop for x264/GCC needs on Windows: Komisar x264 builds!
DeathTheSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 05:24   #212  |  Link
celtic_druid
Registered User
 
celtic_druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,173
If I recall correctly there was a modified version of avs2avi which could encode via x264 taking bframes into account.
celtic_druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2006, 07:32   #213  |  Link
servass
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
I got "Can not Connect VidCompressor To AVIMux..." if I start capturing from tv-card with this x264?
I think I have vfw in use...
Another 264er (lead) run's without error, but on playing the captured video with vlc there is only black noise ...
Has someone a suggestion?
servass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 06:55   #214  |  Link
snow_xmas
Registered User
 
snow_xmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tianjin, China
Posts: 41
There are many missing in x264vfw encoder. The original version confused "bitrate variability" with "qcomp". it said that if you change the "bitrate variability" to 100, the qcomp will be "1.00". And the "ratetol" is 4.00 forever whatever is set in "bitrate variability".
And "Const Quality" is important too. So I think the source of vfw requires to update.It is not enough that adding "fast p skip" and "DCT Decimate" only. Can the VFW encoder has all of options in MeGUI?

Last edited by snow_xmas; 20th April 2007 at 12:24.
snow_xmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 12:54   #215  |  Link
Irwin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_xmas View Post
There are many missing in x264vfw encoder. The original version confused "bitrate variability" with "qcomp". it said that if you change the "bitrate variability" to 100, the qcomp will be "1.00". And the "ratetol" is 4.00 forever whatever is set in "bitrate variability".
And "Const Quality" is important too. So I think the source of vfw requires to update.It is not enough that add "fast p skip" and "DCT Decimate" only. Can the VFW encoder has all of options in MeGUI?
For me x264vfw is best way to encode in h264. DeathThe Sheep when new version?
Irwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2007, 12:02   #216  |  Link
snow_xmas
Registered User
 
snow_xmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tianjin, China
Posts: 41
I have built the newest x264 vfw encoder. Some options what is not in vfw before have been added. And the logo of "x264" have been removed by me because it is a waste of space and useless.
But I can't assure it have no bug. Anyone Who want it may tell me your email and I will post the source and the install package to you.
Let's keep x264 vfw together!
snow_xmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2007, 18:55   #217  |  Link
dtomoyo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seoul, South Korea
Posts: 4
hi ^^ i need new x264vfw

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_xmas View Post
I have built the newest x264 vfw encoder. Some options what is not in vfw before have been added. And the logo of "x264" have been removed by me because it is a waste of space and useless.
But I can't assure it have no bug. Anyone Who want it may tell me your email and I will post the source and the install package to you.
Let's keep x264 vfw together!
e-mail: dtomoyo at empal.com

sorry, wrong email address. ^^;

Last edited by dtomoyo; 22nd April 2007 at 07:19.
dtomoyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2007, 20:17   #218  |  Link
Romario
Registered User
 
Romario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Qetchua mountains in Peru, and Klingon battlecruiser D'Mar
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_xmas View Post
I have built the newest x264 vfw encoder. Some options what is not in vfw before have been added. And the logo of "x264" have been removed by me because it is a waste of space and useless.
But I can't assure it have no bug. Anyone Who want it may tell me your email and I will post the source and the install package to you.
Let's keep x264 vfw together!
email: akostic5 at yahoo.com

Thank you.
__________________
Live long and prosperLive long and prosperLive long and prosper
Romario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2007, 01:41   #219  |  Link
plane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 44
Email: ultima0 at yahoo.com

plane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2007, 10:48   #220  |  Link
DarkZell666
aka XaS
 
DarkZell666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 1,122
@snow_xmas: Why not just upload your packages to some webhost somewhere and post a link here ? Megaupload or others (not rapidshare plz) are sufficient for that sort of thing, and I bet your ISP offers a small webspace where you can upload your stuff too.
__________________

Q9300 OC @ 3.2ghz / Asus P5E3 / 4GB PC10600 / Geforce 8600 GTS
DarkZell666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.