Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th February 2015, 09:48   #41  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Are_ View Post
I guess I did nothing wrong:
[...]
And indeed the output for opt=4 is wrong, chroma missplacement to the right and interlacing artifacts.
Oops. There was a mistake in the FMA4 functions. I replaced the links.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2015, 13:37   #42  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 321
No problems now. Even if the output is not bit identical, neither is the one from opt=1 with the one from opt=2, I can't spot a single difference.

Code:
16bit2opt
Output 2001 frames in 37.40 seconds (53.50 fps)
Output 2001 frames in 37.48 seconds (53.39 fps)
16bit4opt
Output 2001 frames in 32.51 seconds (61.55 fps)
Output 2001 frames in 32.62 seconds (61.35 fps)
8bit2opt
Output 2001 frames in 31.70 seconds (63.12 fps)
Output 2001 frames in 30.97 seconds (64.61 fps)
8bit4opt
Output 2001 frames in 25.44 seconds (78.67 fps)
Output 2001 frames in 25.32 seconds (79.03 fps)
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2015, 00:24   #43  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
Only 25% speed difference between 8 and 16bit- looks like a good result.

So can we have yadifmod now working at 16bit?
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2015, 01:04   #44  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolak View Post
So can we have yadifmod now working at 16bit?
Yadifmod supports 9-16 bits since r2.

Edit: also, here's the appropriate thread: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171028

Last edited by Reel.Deel; 18th February 2015 at 02:55.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2015, 23:38   #45  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,843
Heh- I had a long break from avisynth/vapoursynth. I can remember now (I was chasing for it). Great!
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2015, 14:03   #46  |  Link
MonoS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Are_ View Post
No problems now. Even if the output is not bit identical, neither is the one from opt=1 with the one from opt=2, I can't spot a single difference.
It's expected for the output to not be bit identical cause FMA instruction have higher precision than a mul followed than an add [that's because the fpu have infinite precision while fp register have finite precision IIRC]
MonoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2015, 21:12   #47  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
v3 is here.

Code:
   * Use FMA (fused multiply-add) instructions in some functions. Speeds up the float paths a bit.
   * Add another SIMD function for a little more speed with 16 bit input.
   * Automatically select the best functions if opt=True, use only C functions if opt=False.
   * Don't embed the weights into the DLLs. "nnedi3 weights.bin" needs to be in the same folder as the DLL.
"nnedi3 weights.bin" can be downloaded from Github: https://github.com/dubhater/vapoursy...%20weights.bin It's the same file that's embedded in the Avisynth plugin.

There is theoretical support for architectures other than x86 now. Little endian ones. If anyone wants to run nnedi3 on something big endian, that can be arranged too, I think. You'll just have to volunteer to test it a bit.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2015, 19:33   #48  |  Link
mawen1250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 103
With 9-16bit input and FMA3 opt, nnedi3 produces corrupt result. From what I observed, the pixels interpolated by nn predictor are either white or black.

Last edited by mawen1250; 6th March 2015 at 19:35.
mawen1250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2015, 20:00   #49  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Here is v4.

Code:
   * Fix copy-paste error in the FMA functions
   * Rename "nnedi3 weights.bin" to "nnedi3_weights.bin"
Due to an unforeseen limitation of Automake, the weights file has been renamed. v4 expects the new name.

The broken output reported in the post above is fixed.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2015, 20:08   #50  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Here is v5.

Code:
   * Adjust the frame durations when doubling the frame rate.
   * Fix buffer overflow with images wider than 8192 pixels or so (inherited from the Avisynth plugin).
   * Hopefully prevent crashes with images that require more than 2 GiB per plane.
   * Refuse to create clips longer than INT_MAX (often 2**31-1).
   * Use the _FieldBased frame property to determine each frame's field order, for sources where it changes.
If the _FieldBased property is present in the input clip and you need to force a different field order, use std.ModifyFrame to overwrite the _FieldBased property.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2015, 01:33   #51  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
the separate link for nnedi3_weights.bin file is broken in the download page
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2015, 10:47   #52  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
the separate link for nnedi3_weights.bin file is broken in the download page
Thanks. Fixed it.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2015, 20:07   #53  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
it works now, the underscore is missing in the downloaded bin file name, and I'm also getting a "libwinpthread-1.dll is missing" error message

Last edited by lansing; 30th April 2015 at 20:10.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2015, 23:02   #54  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
it works now, the underscore is missing in the downloaded bin file name, and I'm also getting a "libwinpthread-1.dll is missing" error message
The link is in the v3 release notes, so I made it point to the version of the file that works with v3, which has a space instead of underscore. I'll add links to the v4 and v5 release notes too.

I uploaded new builds of v5. The error message is no more.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2015, 00:09   #55  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
I'd encounter problem again. I got a "no attribute with the name nnedi3 exists" error with v5. With v4, the video loads fine but crash on seek.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2015, 00:39   #56  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 321
Try with vapoursynth R27.
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2015, 01:47   #57  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
I installed vapoursynth R27 rc1 and it gave me a series of error on startup on plugins
Code:
VapourSynth plugins manager: Failed to get pointer to the plugin Plugin1!
VapourSynth plugins manager: Failed to get pointer to the plugin Plugin10!
...
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2015, 11:28   #58  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
I installed vapoursynth R27 rc1 and it gave me a series of error on startup on plugins
Code:
VapourSynth plugins manager: Failed to get pointer to the plugin Plugin1!
VapourSynth plugins manager: Failed to get pointer to the plugin Plugin10!
...
That comes from the editor. Please report it here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=170965&page=5

Does it still crash when seeking?
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 11:59   #59  |  Link
jeremy33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 172
Hello,

I try to use nnedi3 with VapourSynth on Linux and this is what I get :



What can do this ?
I'm on Netrunner 14 x64 (Kubuntu derivative) with nvidia 349.16 drivers, MPV 0.91 and VapourSynth 27 from this ppa https://launchpad.net/~djcj/+archive/ubuntu/vapoursynth
jeremy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2015, 12:08   #60  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy33 View Post
Hello,

I try to use nnedi3 with VapourSynth on Linux and this is what I get :



What can do this ?
I'm on Netrunner 14 x64 (Kubuntu derivative) with nvidia 349.16 drivers, MPV 0.91 and VapourSynth 27 from this ppa https://launchpad.net/~djcj/+archive/ubuntu/vapoursynth
Pretty. Please post your VapourSynth script. Also, what version of nnedi3 is that? Does it happen with opt=False?
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.