Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th December 2002, 09:20   #1  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
AvsCompare 0.1 - try it!

here is a little tool we coded to compare avisynth filters.

hope you like it!

aquaplaning & TheWEF


2 rars in zips so i can upload 'em to this forum


from the readme:
Quote:
AvsCompare 0.1

written by aquaplaning & TheWEF
december 2002
mailto: TheWEF@gmx.net
visit:
http://www.doom9.org
http://forum.doom9.org , we will discuss this in the avisynth forum.
http://gknot.doom9.org , home of gordian knot.


this is a little tool to compare video material and/or the effect of choosen avisynth filters.
to use it you got to learn how to write an avisynth script.



installation:

none - extract the rar to any folder and run AvsCompare.exe
no registry changes.
of course you have to install avisynth, get it from
http://www.doom9.org or
http://www.videotools.net
latest version recommended, docs and tutorials can be found there as well.



getting started:

run the program.
File -> Select Plugin Path (where you got mpeg2dec.dll and all your other plugins).
File -> Select Source (e.g. a d2v or avi file).
press F1.
press F2.
press F5 to compare the two.
arrange the views.
zoom in and out.

i think the gui is pretty straight forward - can't say much - just give it a try!



macros:

in your scripts you can use certain macros. if you want to change one value you don't have to change it in all 4 scripts. they're not case sensitive.

%PlugInPath% = PlugIn Path you selected.

%Source% = depends on the sourcefile you selected, either replaced with AviSource("SourceFile.avi"), mpeg2source("SourceFile.d2v") or DirectShowSource("SourceFile.???").

%AviSource% = AviSource("SourceFile")

%mpeg2source% = mpeg2source("SourceFile")

%DSSource% = DirectShowSource("SourceFile")


you can define 15 more macros in the macro editor (ctrl-M) and use them in you script. might be useful for crop and resize.

%yourMacroIdent% = yourText




capture:

save selected frames to bitmap files. basic functionality, we're going to improve this part in the future.




version history:

0.1 : first release, december 17th, 2002.



license:

GNU General Public License....


have fun!

aquaplaning & TheWEF
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 09:21   #2  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
second file.

wef.

Last edited by TheWEF; 17th December 2002 at 09:24.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 10:20   #3  |  Link
N_F
Do you find me... pretty?
 
N_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 760
Looks interesting. I'll try it as soon as I can.
N_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 11:10   #4  |  Link
springl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 32
I think it only works with avisynth 2.06 & 2.07, not 2.5.
Is it Right?

Regards
Tix
springl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 17:42   #5  |  Link
MaTTeR
AC3 5.1 Addict
 
MaTTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Big Blue Nation_USA
Posts: 2,036
Quote:
Originally posted by springl
I think it only works with avisynth 2.06 & 2.07, not 2.5.
Is it Right?
Looks like your correct, opening a YV12 script makes AvsCompare vanish immediately.

Seems like a very useful tool though. Nice work guys.
__________________
Need AC3 & SPDIF setup info?
MaTTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 19:56   #6  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by springl
I think it only works with avisynth 2.06 & 2.07, not 2.5. Is it Right?
true - will be fixed immediately!

wef.

EDIT: well, we compiled a version for 2.5, it seemes to work fine. but after moving around the slider a little bit it always crashes for some unknown reason. strange exceptions in the dlls somewhere. don't know if this problem can and will be fixed in the near future...

Last edited by TheWEF; 17th December 2002 at 21:23.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 20:18   #7  |  Link
Siku
Registered User
 
Siku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
This tool is awesome! This is the tool I've needed from day one. AvsCompare really helps to determine right filters for my rips.
Very good job!

Regards,
Siku
Siku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 21:36   #8  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by MaTTeR
Seems like a very useful tool though. Nice work guys.
Quote:
Originally posted by Siku
This tool is awesome! This is the tool I've needed from day one.
thank you very much!


off topic:

IMHO incompatibility of avisynth 2.5 is a major problem. afaik you cannot have 2.07 and 2.5 on your system at the same time. i would call the new version avsNext, compile it into avsNext.dll and use .avn as file extension for the script files. has this been discussed yet? why not?

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 21:42   #9  |  Link
MaTTeR
AC3 5.1 Addict
 
MaTTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Big Blue Nation_USA
Posts: 2,036
Having both versions of AVS installed on one system isn't a problem at all. It's been very smooth on both of my encoding machines, one running Win2k and the other XP(uhg).

I do like your idea of a different extension but apparently it's not really a problem since both versions co-exist quite nicely

Edit- The easiest and cleanest way I found to have both versions installed is to have 2 copies of Vdub. One copy of Vdub has the 2.07 dll inside and the other copy of Vdub has the 2.5 dll. Keeps it nice and clean...at least for me.
__________________
Need AC3 & SPDIF setup info?
MaTTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 22:11   #10  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by MaTTeR
Having both versions of AVS installed on one system isn't a problem at all.
how can i have two versions of the same file (with the same name: avisynth.dll) in my \win\system32 folder???

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 22:19   #11  |  Link
MaTTeR
AC3 5.1 Addict
 
MaTTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Big Blue Nation_USA
Posts: 2,036
Just put the 2.5 AVS dll into the Vdub folder itself. Leave your 2.07 dll in the win/sys32 folder if you like. The idea is that your going to need "two" seperate Vdub folders, use one for AVS 2.5. and the other for 2.07. The dll files dont "have" to be in the system folder to work properly. Hope this makes sense and I'm not confusing you
__________________
Need AC3 & SPDIF setup info?
MaTTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2002, 22:32   #12  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
i see.
of course you cannot use your avs systemwide then, e.g. watch it in mediaplayer.
i don't know too much about avisynth internals. i just think that something like "avsNext" could be a big chance, leaving old ballast behind and finally solving some basic avisynth problems - e.g. the problem with apps like cce not accepting avs as avi (no idea if that's possible with the current design?).

don't get me wrong - it's not my project. these are just some thoughts that came to my mind when realizing the incompatibility. just don't listen...

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 00:11   #13  |  Link
drebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Athens,Hellas
Posts: 152
@wef

...or the opposite:if one prefers yv12 output most of the time but wants to have the yuy2 option,avisynth(2.5).dll could be left in system32 directory(in order to open a yv12 avs from ANY FOLDER),and place the avisynth(2.07+).dll in virtualdub(AND-OR)nandub's folder PLUS in the windows media player(mplayer2 i think) folder if a preview through GordianKnot is needed

PS: In my configuration ,i've changed windows media player with media player classic(more options,configurable filters..),simply by changing the name and replacing mplayer2(it the replacement is not allowed,one could try it through "safe mode").That way GordianKnot calls mplayer classic instead..

regards,
george


Last edited by drebel; 18th December 2002 at 00:22.
drebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 10:27   #14  |  Link
wotef
Registered User
 
wotef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 272
question - is this version just meant to show off the concept?

the script windows are non-editable

i.e. if i select an avi as source, i can't seem to edit the actual scripts in any of the windows to make any of them different from each other; effectively i'm looking at the original, unfiltered avi in two windows

Last edited by wotef; 18th December 2002 at 10:47.
wotef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 11:11   #15  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by wotef
the script windows are non-editable
just close the view window (press F1-4), edit the script, reopen it (press F1-4 again).

i thought it's better to make the memo control read only while the associated view is open so that you always know what you're currently looking at.

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 11:30   #16  |  Link
wotef
Registered User
 
wotef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 272
oh i see, thanks

i think it would be clear enough to the user what they are looking at, as the number (1,2) is stated in the menu bar of the appropriate video window, closing/editing/re-opening adds steps...but then again i've gotten very used to virtualdubmod's immediate editing, save and refresh with F5
wotef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 12:17   #17  |  Link
kilg0r3
! - User - !
 
kilg0r3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
well, we compiled a version for 2.5, it seemes to work fine. but after moving around the slider a little bit it always crashes for some unknown reason. strange exceptions in the dlls somewhere.
is this the one attached above? when opening a yv12 script i immediatly get an access violation in avsWarp.dll.
kilg0r3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 12:22   #18  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by kilg0r3
is this the one attached above? when opening a yv12 script i immediatly get an access violation in avsWarp.dll.
the version you can download here works with avisynth up to 2.07

aquaplaning might post a version for 2.5 if he get's it to work (don't forget the 2.5 is alpha) - guess it doesn't make sense to post a crashing program...

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2002, 19:28   #19  |  Link
OvERaCiD23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 90210
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally posted by wotef
i.e. if i select an avi as source, i can't seem to edit the actual scripts in any of the windows to make any of them different from each other; effectively i'm looking at the original, unfiltered avi in two windows
for this, just use VirtulDubMod and have two separate instances of it running. you can edit the avs and hit refresh and it will change it on the spot. after using AVSCompare, I still prefer this method. AVSCompare is still good, but it's too many steps to alter the avs on the spot.
OvERaCiD23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2002, 01:48   #20  |  Link
TheWEF
Gordian Mod.
 
TheWEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally posted by OvERaCiD23
...you can edit the avs and hit refresh and it will change it on the spot. after using AVSCompare, I still prefer this method. AVSCompare is still good, but it's too many steps to alter the avs on the spot.
so you are saying the press F1 - edit - press F1 is too many steps?
well, if you want i could change that and you could edit the script while the window is open.

is it possible to switch the views in VirtulDubMod like with the F5 key in AvsCompare? i think that's the most important part in AvsCompare to really see the difference...

wef.
TheWEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.