Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th September 2015, 19:03   #33241  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
madVR v0.89.5 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* cleanup image borders can now optionally only crop black bar borders
* implemented "move OSD and subtitles into active video area" option
* madVR OSD now respects screen masking
* optimized OSD APIs to allow media players to respect screen masking
* optimized subtitle positioning for internal MPC-HC/MPC-BE subtitle renderer
* added APIs for media players to set zoom/position modes
* added IMadVRCommand::SendCommandInt("keyPress") support (J.River MC)
* some render code cleanup (fully removed AMD interop hack etc)
* fixed: one cause for shutdown crash with native DXVA decoding
* fixed: OSD fused different luma/chroma NNEDI3 neurons into "image"
* fixed: image enhancements "restore defaults" set LumaSharpen "clamp" wrong
Had planned to include some more changes, like some new file tags, or an up-to-date AdaptiveSharpen build, but ran out of time. Tried to update XySubFilter subtitle positioning, but will need a new XySubFilter build for that. Hopefully I can resurrect the developer for that at least, but I have my doubts. We'll see...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 19:05   #33242  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
No problems here. Does the OSD show anything? Frame drops, presentation glitches, anything? Does the problem go away after some time or does it stay "forever"?
OSD doesn't show anything interesting (I think there's just a small bug with Windows 10 or NV driver which makes it sometimes fail to read out the render queue right, it's then half of the present queue).
I also sometimes notice that there is flickering for one or two frames after pausing in windowed mode.
It might be still a NV driver bug, the flickering disappears when showing a menu or the seekbar of MPC HC. We already had this in an even worse shape during Windows 10 beta.

Last edited by aufkrawall; 28th September 2015 at 19:08.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 19:37   #33243  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.89.5 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* implemented "move OSD and subtitles into active video area" option
* optimized subtitle positioning for internal MPC-HC/MPC-BE subtitle renderer
Had planned to include some more changes, like some new file tags, or an up-to-date AdaptiveSharpen build, but ran out of time. Tried to update XySubFilter subtitle positioning, but will need a new XySubFilter build for that. Hopefully I can resurrect the developer for that at least, but I have my doubts. We'll see...
Do you mean this allows for subtitles rendering on black bars or that you couldn't do it due to support from XySubFilter's dev?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 19:38   #33244  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
If I added every bit information to the OSD that anyone ever asked for, the OSD would have 300 lines by now.
Are you remember my wishes of text mode control for this? Or maybe hotkey for copy of this info into clipboard in text form?
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 21:55   #33245  |  Link
kongfl888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks for another release.
kongfl888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 22:04   #33246  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
OSD doesn't show anything interesting (I think there's just a small bug with Windows 10 or NV driver which makes it sometimes fail to read out the render queue right, it's then half of the present queue).
I also sometimes notice that there is flickering for one or two frames after pausing in windowed mode.
It might be still a NV driver bug, the flickering disappears when showing a menu or the seekbar of MPC HC. We already had this in an even worse shape during Windows 10 beta.
Can't reproduce it here on Windows 8.1. Suppose it's probably a Windows 10 NVidia GPU driver problem. Hope they'll sort it out soon. But D3D9 works ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Do you mean this allows for subtitles rendering on black bars or that you couldn't do it due to support from XySubFilter's dev?
Couldn't do any changes due to XySubFilter's API support being incomplete. Need a new XySubFilter version. I've already implemented all necessary code in madVR, but can't activate it yet, doesn't work with currenty XySubFilter build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post
Are you remember my wishes of text mode control for this?
Text mode control? Not sure what you mean.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 22:05   #33247  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
@media player devs

Please have a look at this PDF:

http://madshi.net/89notesForDevs.pdf
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 22:32   #33248  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Can't reproduce it here on Windows 8.1. Suppose it's probably a Windows 10 NVidia GPU driver problem. Hope they'll sort it out soon. But D3D9 works ok?
Yes, so far no problems with D3D9.
And FSE seems to be working fine with D3D11, so it's not a big issue after all. But people should be aware of this.
I suppose it would disappear if I installed a pre r352 Nvidia driver, but they are from quite some time before the Windows 10 release.

Edit: With version 89.5, my issue regarding shown chroma scaler with doubling/quadrupling has been solved.

Last edited by aufkrawall; 28th September 2015 at 23:02.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2015, 23:25   #33249  |  Link
XRyche
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

The good news is that it's a log from the right build now.
Well at least there is that. I thought is was progressively getting stupider every-time I want to the restroom lately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

The bad news is that although it's still the same as before, I'm more confused than ever about why it's happening. It's a slightly different location than I had anticipated. Will need to create another test build to get to the bottom of this. But not today. Hopefully you'll be around for testing next weekend?
Yes, I'll be around next weekend for testing. No problem.

P.S. With the new build NNEDI3 chroma upsampling is visually working as it should, no discolouration (green tinge) but still heavy fps skipping before I get an image. NNEDI3 image doubling remains unchanged.

EDIT: Actually NNEDI3 is visually correct for chroma upsampling only when you activate the SuperRes filter.
__________________
Intel i5 3470, EVGA GTX 1050Ti SC ACX 2.0, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, 16 GB 1600 mhz DDR3 RAM

Last edited by XRyche; 29th September 2015 at 00:20.
XRyche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 00:51   #33250  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
madVR v0.89.4
Option "disable desktop composition (Vista and Windows 7)" is not working.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Strange, haven't changed anything in that code area for *ages*. Could you check which is the last madVR version which still has that working?
The problem started with v.0.88.6
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...55#post1722055

Ups... Sorry. I checked again - the problem started with madVR-0.88.2

madVR-0.88.1 -- OK
madVR-0.88.2 -- "disable desktop composition" is not working

Last edited by zveroboy; 29th September 2015 at 02:10.
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 04:19   #33251  |  Link
Stan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
I updated from .2 to madVR v0.89.5 today and since then I cannot move an already playing video frame (mpc-hc) to a second monitor. The picture just freezes but the sound continues to play.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 05:04   #33252  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan View Post
I updated from .2 to madVR v0.89.5 today and since then I cannot move an already playing video frame (mpc-hc) to a second monitor. The picture just freezes but the sound continues to play.
Any more specifics? This works fine on my system:

Win10 x64, 980Ti with 355.98, MPC-HC 1.7.9 x64, D3D9 overlay, madVR v0.89.5. I also tested D3D9 windowed and had no issues with it either.

I can drag it back and forth while playing without any trouble.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 06:31   #33253  |  Link
Stan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Any more specifics?
Win8.1 x64, 980Ti with 355.98, MPC-HC 1.7.9.165 (nightly) x64, madVR v0.89.5, not sure about the overlay mode, can't find that setting atm. I tried with the last mpc-hc final release and it still happens with it. I reset madVR settings, still happens. Using mpc-hc's EVR works. madVR 0.89.3 and .4 work so I'm pretty sure I nailed it down to .5 breaking it for me.

Last edited by Stan; 29th September 2015 at 06:50.
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 10:43   #33254  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Can't reproduce it here on Windows 8.1. Suppose it's probably a Windows 10 NVidia GPU driver problem. Hope they'll sort it out soon. But D3D9 works ok?
There is definitely some weirdness with D3D11 in Windows 10.
I couldn't say whether it's the NVIDIA drivers, DWM changes, the introduction of virtual desktops/aero snap changes, or something else which is causing it.
I had to reduce the queue sizes to 6 to at least minimize how often things would occur.
I would end up with out-of-order frame presentation (looked like movement was jumping back and forth), screen tearing, or dropped frames.
And when playing multiple videos in succession in JRiver, it would "lose focus" after the first video and play in FSW rather than FSE - despite being in front of all the other applications.

None of this was consistently reproducible, which is why I haven't filed a bug report.
Due to those issues with madVR, and a lot of issues with other applications - including the OS itself - I've had to return to Windows 8.1.
10 really feels like a beta release right now, and I don't have the time to spend troubleshooting it at the moment.
There are definitely some things that it improves upon compared to 8.1, but it just doesn't feel finished.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 13:02   #33255  |  Link
FreeFall
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 72
Quote:
* implemented "move OSD and subtitles into active video area" option
Is this a user configurable option? I can't find it in the zoom control settings tab or anywhere else, using Windows 7 x64 Pro.

Thanks.
FreeFall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 13:04   #33256  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,506
Guys, can I test chroma upscaling with image comparison like madshi did with luma in this post? http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...th#post1730855
If yes, then can you provide an image for this? Or a test clip with the same image which was compressed lossless?

Regarding to this question, I have been using Jinc+AR for chroma upscaling:
1. do you recommend super-xbr+AR for this instead?
2. do you recommend to turn on superes 1 pass (I don't have the power for 2 passes) for chroma upscaling?

And thanks for the new version!
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 16:27   #33257  |  Link
mrbinky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Out of memory since upgrading to v0.89.5

After upgrading to v0.89.5, when I try to use Madvr to scale any video, the process quickly eats up my available memory, and then the video stops playing. At which point, my video player (latest 64 bit MPC-HC and 64 bit LAV) or video driver (latest catalyst beta) might crash.. If the later happens, then I need to reboot to recover. I am running Windows 10, 16 GB with plenty of free memory.

I tried deleting the OpenCL key in regedit to no avail.

I tried going back to v0.89.4, to no avail. I suppose I could try deleting OpenCL key again, but I was impatient to watch my movie, so I switched to EVR, and everything was fine.

I noticed that I can play a video at it's native resolution with Madvr active, but as soon as I start scaling it up, even just a bit, memory starts getting eaten. Even if I turn off NNEDI3 everyplace.

Hopefully next update will fix this. I might be able to do some additional troubleshooting or get some logs after I get some from work, but since the whole family relies on this for watching movies, and they are impatient, I cannot promise anything. Might just need to stay away from Madvr until it is usable again.
mrbinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 16:33   #33258  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
It's bug of the latest Catalyst 15.9 beta driver, happens also with browsers:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...5&postcount=11
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 16:38   #33259  |  Link
mrbinky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
It's bug of the latest Catalyst 15.9 beta driver, happens also with browsers:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...5&postcount=11
I forgot to mention that I had also tried downgrading my video driver to the official release, and it made no difference.

EDIT: I forgot that you have to actually uninstall AMD's beta upgrade. Now it seems to be working. Thanks!

Last edited by mrbinky; 29th September 2015 at 17:05.
mrbinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2015, 17:04   #33260  |  Link
MS-DOS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
madshi,

Zoom control doesn't work for me with native DXVA decoding. Is that intended or I should make a bug report ?
MS-DOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.