Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th July 2015, 18:54   #32241  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
So NVidia is completely ditching the necessary OpenCL extension for NNEDI3 in Windows 10 drivers? Or is it just early/first official drivers since official Windows 10 release date?
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 18:58   #32242  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
We don't know. Maybe it will appear in a few weeks again (I doubt this), in a few months or never.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 19:15   #32243  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
What's the exact info do I need to submit to NVidia to properly inform them of this problem? I communicated with NVidia a while back regarding madVR and I know NVidia is aware of madVR's importance to HTPC world. They can't ignore it.
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 19:46   #32244  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Either complain in the forums:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...read-7-29-15-/

Or submit a bug report via support form:
http://nvidia-submit.custhelp.com/app/ask
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 19:47   #32245  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
windows 10 WU amd driver seem to fix the bugs in preview drivers. brief test show no artifact, flicker or scalerer not working.
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 20:34   #32246  |  Link
edigee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Either complain in the forums:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...read-7-29-15-/

Or submit a bug report via support form:
http://nvidia-submit.custhelp.com/app/ask
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...7&postcount=14
As you can see something really weird is going on.
I really hope this is not NVIDIA playing dirty.
edigee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 21:05   #32247  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Have you ever tried a remote app for MPC-HC like Remoti.co?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...vsky.mpcremote
I can't live without it Once you started MPC-HC you can do a lot of things with it, like rotating through audio and subtitle tracks and even more. And it won't affect FSE playback.
Thanks, I'll have a look!
KoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 21:27   #32248  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by edigee View Post
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...7&postcount=14
As you can see something really weird is going on.
I really hope this is not NVIDIA playing dirty.
Maybe, but maybe it's just guru3d staff doing things by mistake.
They were also very incompetent when that GTX 970 issue came up. Well, even their reviews suck. But their forums are highly frequented by users and people were complaining there that NNEDI3 stopped working.
My post which disappeared was information about the issue and asked users to complain to Nvidia about it.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2015, 21:44   #32249  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
My render, upload and present queue doesn't get filled (1-3/16) when using 1080p60 no problem if i choose 1080p23 (FSE) in win 10 using AMD card no problem in windowed mode.

Last edited by MSL_DK; 29th July 2015 at 21:48.
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 01:24   #32250  |  Link
bcec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
353.49 hotfix driver is best for this purpose. It's not WHQL, but unlike 353.30, it contains important fixes to prevent driver crashes on the desktop/while surfing.

Edit: Fixed driver numbers.
Is that for Win 10 or Win 7? Is this issue with Win10 only or is Win7 also affected? (sorry, late to the party)

Last edited by bcec; 30th July 2015 at 01:28.
bcec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 01:45   #32251  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 462
nVidia driver 353.62 now available at nVidia's website. Is the same issue of NNEDI3 not working still there?
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 01:46   #32252  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
A new GeForce driver is out to accompany the release of Windows 10, only available on www.geforce.com at the moment:

32-bit GeForce Game Ready Driver 353.62 for Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1
64-bit GeForce Game Ready Driver 353.62 for Windows Vista, 7, 8 and 8.1
32-bit GeForce Windows 10 Driver 353.62
64-bit GeForce Windows 10 Driver 353.62

Has anyone tried these yet to see if they have D3D9 OpenCL interop?
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 01:49   #32253  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcec View Post
Is that for Win 10 or Win 7? Is this issue with Win10 only or is Win7 also affected? (sorry, late to the party)
You can easily find this out by yourself:
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answe...-driver-353.49

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
nVidia driver 353.62 now available at nVidia's website. Is the same issue of NNEDI3 not working still there?
It's the very same driver as provided via Windows Update (just sorts out a control panel issue on x64) and so of course NNEDI3 OpenCL isn't working.
Miracles can happen, but better don't expect a fix anytime soon.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 02:51   #32254  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
You can easily find this out by yourself:
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answe...-driver-353.49


It's the very same driver as provided via Windows Update (just sorts out a control panel issue on x64) and so of course NNEDI3 OpenCL isn't working.
Miracles can happen, but better don't expect a fix anytime soon.
In case NVidia ditches the needed extension, is there a chance madshi will create a work-around via Direct Compute or something similar? I mean its obviously NVidia's problem, but that means Windows 10 will not be viable for madVR for NVidia users, which is like watching a cute red panda die , but we all kow madshi would never let a red panda die .
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809

Last edited by XMonarchY; 30th July 2015 at 03:01.
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 03:08   #32255  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by metadethrax View Post
Guys, I really need your expertise with a problem I am encountering.
First, lots of thank you's to madshi for his continuous work, now a few words about my setup: I am using a GTX 970, i5-760, 8 GB RAM for watching 1080p-only high quality mkv encodes. I am also using mpc-hc x64 with latest madvr and LAV Filters. I am sending the video signal through HDMI from my computer to an Onkyo receiver that is connected to a 46" Samsung TV set.
madvr's settings are as follows: chroma upscaling super-xbr (sharpness: 100, anti-ringing and SuperRes filters checked), image downscaling Catmull-Rom (anti-ringing and scale in linear light checked), image doubling always super-xbr sharpness:100, image upscaling Lanczos (3 taps, activate anti-ringing filter checked), upscaling refinement SuperRes (strenght 4, radius 0.66, refine the image only once after upscaling is complete and apply SuperRes first checked). I don't know if these are the best settings for 1080p encodes and for my system, any recommendation is welcomed, but without ReClock I am having a lot of repeated frames, one frame at 40+ seconds. ReClock is not an option for x64 and for my setup in particular, as LAV Audio bitstreams the audio to the receiver, therefore ReClock won't work, even when using x86 versions of mpchc and madvr. I have attached a screenshot, maybe you will be able to tell me what to do with the repeated frames problem.
Thank you for your help!
movies are usually 24000/1001 hz (it is called 23p) not 24 hz, you should use 23p not 24p for this file in question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
In case NVidia ditches the needed extension, is there a chance madshi will create a work-around via Direct Compute or something similar? I mean its obviously NVidia's problem, but that means Windows 10 will not be viable for madVR for NVidia users, which is like watching a cute red panda die , but we all kow madshi would never let a red panda die .
http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=32210

wasn't he clear enough?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 03:16   #32256  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
movies are usually 24000/1001 hz (it is called 23p) not 24 hz, you should use 23p not 24p for this file in question.



http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=32210

wasn't he clear enough?

In the past there was another similar issue that was NVidia's fault, but madshi found a way around it and NVidia never fixed it...
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 03:17   #32257  |  Link
baii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 180
Can't you like dump the dlls into the player's folder for it to work? noob question~
baii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 05:21   #32258  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
I am unable to play any videos using MPC-HC nightly and MadVR latest in Windows 10 (Yeah I know it's only just come out as final etc). I get a Direct3D creation error. I have tried fresh installs of both and set MadVR to FSE off etc. AMD R9 290 BTW with latest Catalyst drivers for Win10.

If you need more info let me know but yeah it does it on all 3 monitors.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 10:12   #32259  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
My render, upload and present queue doesn't get filled (1-3/16) when using 1080p60 no problem if i choose 1080p23 (FSE) in win 10 using AMD card no problem in windowed mode.
Ok . It's Direct3D 11 that's causing the problem. Newest driver from AMD on Windows 10 PRO x64

No problem in windowed mode.

EDIT: Have to mention, no problem with win 7 on the same machine.

Last edited by MSL_DK; 30th July 2015 at 12:50.
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2015, 14:00   #32260  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
Ok . It's Direct3D 11 that's causing the problem. Newest driver from AMD on Windows 10 PRO x64

No problem in windowed mode.

EDIT: Have to mention, no problem with win 7 on the same machine.
Same issue here on Win10Pro/CCC15.7.1, but I think it's cosmetic because I've watched 2 complete movies (almost five hours) and had only one dropped frame in each and that was at playback startup.

fwiw, in Windowed mode, it would drop a frame about every 3 minutes even though queue stats were "full" reported.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.