Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th July 2018, 10:40   #1  |  Link
alexx7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Crop for DV

Need to make a Crop for the video. Video 720x576 50 i (YUY2). In order to make a crop and again to restore it to 720x576 in compliance with the proportions need to cut at the same length?
For example :
SeparateFields()
crop(20,20,-20,-20)
Lanczos4Resize(720, 288)
#Spline64Resize(720,288)
Weave()
Right?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by alexx7777; 28th July 2018 at 10:42.
alexx7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2018, 12:03   #2  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,967
DV does not have square pixels so you should not be cropping by the same amount all around. Furthermore, it may (should) or may not include nominal analogue blanking, which means the "active picture width" is only 702 pixels (for PAL, which this is).

You should not separatefields() and then resize vertically - avoid resizing vertically at all, if you can, but if you must, use (at the very least) bob(), or something much better, like yadif() for speed or qtgmc() for best quality. Then use separatefields(), selectevery(4,0,3) (or 4,1,2), and weave() to reinterlace it.

What's the desired output here? A file to play on a computer? DVD?
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2018, 12:58   #3  |  Link
alexx7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhorman View Post

What's the desired output here? A file to play on a computer? DVD?
Thank you!
To reproduce on a computer. The final result I want to translate into progressive 50p.
Trim the video and restore it to 720x576.

Last edited by alexx7777; 28th July 2018 at 13:00.
alexx7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2018, 17:54   #4  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,817
The attached image don't help at all.

Load the video in VirtualDub2 and File -> Export -> Single Image... Sample.png

If you want progressive 50p:
Use QTGMC to deinterlace, crop after as you need ( I only need a 0,0,4,0 -> 720x572) and encode without resize with x264/x265 using a --sar 13:12 (at least with my sources) to restore the aspect ratio (DV does not have square pixels).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2018, 12:18   #5  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,642
I suppose the only thing the image does confirm is that your 720x576 'Digital Video' source is 4:3 and not 16:9.

So if you want to re-encode with square pixels you could use 768x576.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2018, 16:31   #6  |  Link
alexx7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I suppose the only thing the image does confirm is that your 720x576 'Digital Video' source is 4:3 and not 16:9.

So if you want to re-encode with square pixels you could use 768x576.
Yes, the source is 720x576, I want to crop the black edges and restore the image to 720x576 again.
alexx7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2018, 16:34   #7  |  Link
alexx7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The attached image don't help at all.

Load the video in VirtualDub2 and File -> Export -> Single Image... Sample.png

If you want progressive 50p:
Use QTGMC to deinterlace, crop after as you need ( I only need a 0,0,4,0 -> 720x572) and encode without resize with x264/x265 using a --sar 13:12 (at least with my sources) to restore the aspect ratio (DV does not have square pixels).

After QTGMC I want to video Deshaker. Before stabilization (after deinterlacing) the video will be encoded by Lagirith.

The picture was reduced by half (50%) in Paint. The source was larger in size
Attached Images
 

Last edited by alexx7777; 29th July 2018 at 16:37.
alexx7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2018, 08:51   #8  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexx7777 View Post
Trim the video and restore it to 720x576.
With black bars added back? Probably not.

After cropping, my guess is it'll be 704x576. You didn't follow instructions about how to create a useful picture, so I'm only guessing. Can't you use that for your final encode? You won't be resizing so no degradation of the quality because of the resizer used.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2018, 09:53   #9  |  Link
alexx7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by manono View Post
You didn't follow instructions about how to create a useful picture, so I'm only guessing.
What instruction should I do?
alexx7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2018, 11:23   #10  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by manono View Post
After cropping, my guess is it'll be 704x576.
For PAL it should be 702x576.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2018, 19:41   #11  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexx7777 View Post
What instruction should I do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Load the video in VirtualDub2 and File -> Export -> Single Image... Sample.png
(Padding so I can post the quotations)
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.