Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th July 2011, 22:03   #121  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
Try this one:
Code:
*INFILE           h:\work\hcenc bug\_chromosphere_test_480i.avs
*OUTFILE          H:\work\hcenc bug\test_output.m2v
*BITRATE          4600
*MAXBITRATE       9200
*FRAMES           0 3565
*PROFILE          best
*GOP              15 2
*INTERLACED
*TFF
*INTRAVLC         2
*MATRIX           mpeg
and:
Code:
AVISource("_chromosphere_test_480i.avi")
ConvertToYV12()
Seems the *CHROMADOWNSAMPLE command screws up, don't know why ATM.
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2011, 06:09   #122  |  Link
Trixter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
I'm afraid that .ini just makes things worse. Now it just hangs earlier in the 2nd pass, with a different error message:



Were you able to reproduce this on your setup? What does my file package do on your test/development machine?
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2011, 17:58   #123  |  Link
TheSkiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 632
@Trixter You're still feeding HCenc with YUY2 (4:2:2), add ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true) at the end of your AVS script. This way HCenc can skip the chroma downsampling (as the chroma gets downsampled by AviSynth).

I'm going to download your file package and try to encode the thing.

Edit: OK, downloaded it. Changed ConvertToYUY2() to ConvertToYV12(true) and used your HCenc settings. Error at 86% (total) "underflow, fixing VBV", freezes.
Then I removed *CHROMADOWNSAMPLE from the ini, still the same error.
Then I used Hank's settings (GOP 15-2), which gives me the same error that you get, "VBV at critical level".

Last edited by TheSkiller; 26th July 2011 at 21:59.
TheSkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 15:42   #124  |  Link
Trixter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
Yeah, I was pretty sure *CHROMADOWNSAMPLE wasn't the problem; the issue is with bitrate (you can see the VBV buffer empty right when the problem happens). Besides, the sample clip has no chroma info anyway ;-) (joking, I'm sure that has nothing to do with it, it's a high-contrast clip with a lot of motion which is obviously difficult to encode)

Hank, any thoughts, progress?
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2011, 00:36   #125  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
@trixter

If I use the next HC.ini file:
Code:
*INFILE           G:\hcenc bug\_chromosphere_test_480i.avs
*OUTFILE          G:\hcenc bug\out.m2v
*LOGFILE          G:\hcenc bug\out.log
*BITRATE          4600
*MAXBITRATE       9200
*FRAMES           0 3565
*PROFILE          best
*GOP              15 2
*INTERLACED
*TFF
*INTRAVLC         2
*MATRIX           mpeg
and AVS script:
Code:
AVISource("_chromosphere_test_480i.avi")
ConvertToYV12()
The encode finished without a problem.

This is a source which is pretty tough for MPEG2, quantizers are very high.
Just look at the next links:
HCenc encode
CCE encode

If the *CHROMADOWNSAMPLE command is added, HCenc freezes at 69% in pass 2.
That's weird because the down sample routines aren't used, the source is already YV12.
Still investigating, I thought this would be an easy one but it's not
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2011, 04:11   #126  |  Link
Trixter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
I tried these settings exactly and it worked. Since that chunk of footage is actually part of a much longer video, I then used those settings with the full video and it hung :-(

I'm not sure what else to tell you. I certainly can't upload the 141G source file for you to test...
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2011, 04:13   #127  |  Link
Trixter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
BTW in your screenshots you show a program called MPEG Analyzer Pro. Where can I download that program? I searched google for a while but couldn't find anything that looked like that program.
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2011, 22:07   #128  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
Still investigating but I have to admit my time for it is very scarce ATM

MPEG analyser Pro is a pretty old program which I still use to analyse MPEG2 streams.
Development has stopped AFAIK, developer is Jean-Luc Pons, I don't know if it's available for download.
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2011, 16:32   #129  |  Link
Trixter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
It's not available for download, could you make it available somewhere?
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2011, 21:36   #130  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
http://www.labdv.com/software/encoding-en.html

You must register for downloading
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2011, 23:08   #131  |  Link
TheSkiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 632
MPEG Analyser looks neat. But is it just me or is registering on that site not free? "Download service is restricted to VIP user. // Register for 1 year $$$39.90"
TheSkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2011, 19:19   #132  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Looks like, yes. 3 months is USD 19.90.
It's just the only link I found for downloading. I don't have it myself.
If you should find 9 more useful downloads there it's 2 USD each

Last edited by Sharc; 27th September 2011 at 19:22.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 12:50   #133  |  Link
techreactor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by hank315 View Post
Still investigating but I have to admit my time for it is very scarce ATM
Any luck with the new version ??, I see 0.26beta only.
techreactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 06:41   #134  |  Link
techreactor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 180
@hank, Also are there any plans to have a 64bit version of HC enc ?

With the new release of FFMpeg which has fixed many bugs and is available in 64bit version. FFMpeg has come hairline close to HCenc in terms of Bare eye Quality and encoding speeds have also improved drastically.

Hope to get the 64bit of HCenc someday.
techreactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 08:11   #135  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,392
@techreactor: care to share some complete ffmpeg command lines?
__________________
certain other member
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 10:45   #136  |  Link
AlanHK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 237
I encode in batch files and like to put all the parameters on the command line, and use "-noini" to make it independent of any ini file.

I'm just trying the lossless option, which you can set with "-lossless", but there does not appear to be an option to set the path of that or of HC's database. It then defaults to HC's program folder, and I don't have enough room to put a lossless file there.

Can you add -llpath and -dbpath to the batch options?
AlanHK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2013, 22:39   #137  |  Link
zambelli
Doom9ing since 2001
 
zambelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 2,002
Has anyone run into issues with 4:2:2 sources? When I use any YUY2 Avisynth source (regardless of whether I pick 4:2:0 or 4:2:2 output), HCEnc just crashes on me immediately. I've tried both 0.25 and 0.26beta versions.

Here is my config:
Code:
*INFILE           d:\videos\sources\foo.avs
*OUTFILE          D:\Videos\Sources\foo.m2v
*BITRATE          50000
*MAXBITRATE       50000
*FRAMES           0 10439
*PROFILE          best
*AUTOGOP          15
*DC_PREC          10
*INTERLACED
*TFF
*CLOSEDGOPS
*LASTIFRAME
*INTRAVLC         2
*MATRIX           mpeg
*LUMGAIN          1
*COLOUR           1
*PRIORITY         low
*CHROMAFORMAT     422
Note that I'm actually trying to use the 4:2:2 mode to produce 50 Mbps 4:2:2 mezzanines, so ConvertToYV12() in Avisynth is not an acceptable workaround.

Last edited by zambelli; 17th January 2013 at 22:50. Reason: Comment
zambelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2013, 18:39   #138  |  Link
Carpo
Registered User
 
Carpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,368
Any news on an update version of this great app or is the beta the last we will see of development Hank?
__________________
The Internet: where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI Agents
Carpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2013, 22:03   #139  |  Link
Fishman0919
FishmanMod Android Dev
 
Fishman0919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere else, maybe Arizona Bay
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by smok3 View Post
@techreactor: care to share some complete ffmpeg command lines?
Here's one I've used with ffmpeg and a sim ver with Mencoder... works well with encoding above 4500k

Code:
ffmpeg.exe -i "3.avs" -framerate 23.976 -aspect 16:9 -dc 9 -g 12 -qmin 1 -qmax 31 -maxrate 7500k -q:v 2 -b_strategy 1 -bf 2 -pre_dia_size 3 -dia_size 3 -me_range 24 -b_qfactor 1.0 -i_qfactor 1.0 -b_qoffset 0 -mbd rd -mbcmp 2 -cmp 2 -subcmp 2 -preme 2 -precmp 2 -subq 2 -skipcmp 2 -qcomp 0.7 -qblur 0 -scplx_mask 0.2 -p_mask 0.5 -last_pred 4 -bidir_refine 4 -deblock 0:0 -pass 1 -passlogfile ffmpeg -an -f mpeg2video pass1.m2v

ffmpeg.exe -i "3.avs" -framerate 23.976 -aspect 16:9 -dc 9 -g 12 -lmin 0.01 -mblmin 1 -qmin 1 -qmax 31 -qsquish 1 -maxrate 7500k -b:v 5000k -bf 2 -pre_dia_size 3 -dia_size 3 -me_range 24 -b_qfactor 1.0 -i_qfactor 1.0 -b_qoffset 0 -trellis 2 -flags:v +mv0+cbp -mbd rd -mbcmp 2 -cmp 2 -subcmp 2 -preme 2 -precmp 2 -subq 2 -skipcmp 2 -qcomp 0.7 -qblur 0 -scplx_mask 0.2 -p_mask 0.5 -last_pred 4 -bidir_refine 4 -deblock 0:0 -pass 2 -passlogfile ffmpeg -an -f mpeg2video pass2.m2v
__________________
"Cinderella story, out of nowhere,
former greenskeeper, now about
to become the Masters champion.
It looks like a mirac- it's in the hole!"

Last edited by Fishman0919; 23rd January 2013 at 04:56. Reason: Fix command line
Fishman0919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 10:08   #140  |  Link
zambelli
Doom9ing since 2001
 
zambelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 2,002
Also, has anyone done quality comparisons of HCEnc vs x262 encoder?
zambelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.