Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th February 2018, 17:22   #49061  |  Link
ForceX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
10bit X265/HEVC 1080p is very hard to decode in CPU. Do you get the same result when playing H264 videos?
ForceX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 17:24   #49062  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,494
His decoder queues are full which suggests it's not a decoding bottleneck.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 18:18   #49063  |  Link
Apache553
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForceX View Post
10bit X265/HEVC 1080p is very hard to decode in CPU. Do you get the same result when playing H264 videos?
Actually, I get the same result when playing with madVR. No matter what the codec is.
Apache553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 18:46   #49064  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,702
Upload is very slow, odd. Do you have "present a frame for every VSync" enabled? Try changing it. Also try changing "use a separate device for presentation". How does "enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" influence it?

How about f.lux or other programs that interact with the GPU? This looks like Optimus or other odd architecture issue but of course you are using AMD with a dGPU.

Edit: The issue is getting the frame from the decoder to the GPU, usually a memory bandwidth problem (that can be caused by drivers or software along with hardware limitations).
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 19th February 2018 at 18:56.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 18:59   #49065  |  Link
Apache553
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Upload is very slow, odd. Do you have "present a frame for every VSync" enabled? Try changing it. Also try changing "use a separate device for presentation". How does "enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" influence it?

How about f.lux or other programs that interact with the GPU? This looks like Optimus or other odd architecture issue but of course you are using AMD with a dGPU.

Edit: The issue is getting the frame from the decoder to the GPU, usually a memory bandwidth problem (that can be caused by drivers or software along with hardware limitations).
Those options didn't make sense.
There is no other programs that interact with the GPU.

After my testing,I found it that only 10bit videos lag too much.Is that really a memory bandwidth problem?
Apache553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 19:18   #49066  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 212
84% CPU load is too much for smooth playback (imho).
So it looks like a decoder issue to me (10bit => no dxva => cpu too slow). You can try 64bit (Player, Decoder and madVR).
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 19:18   #49067  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,959
"More than 8 bit per component" also means "more than one byte" ... so processing 10 bit may already require twice the memory bandwidth, even if just in a part of the processing.

But a lack of hardware accelleration due to unsupported attributes weights more.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 22:49   #49068  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 883
can someone help me understand this. Star trek 2009, I have a 1080p remux, a 2160p remux and a 2160p HDR remux. I have set MADVR so it only outputs in 2160p so it should only be upscaling the 1080p version, right?. If so then it should take more GPU processing to do this, right?

I'm using lanczos for chroma upscale and NGU sharp medium for image upscale, here are my results on my AMD RX 550.

1080p

GPU 83%
Rendering times 33 ms

2160p

GPU 92%
Rendering times 32ms

2160p HDR

Rendering times - 147ms
GPU - unknown - probably 99%

Something has defo changed with HDR playback, dont know if its MADVR or GPU drivers as I was able to get smooth HDR playback with these settings, now HDR is unwatchable. I went back a few versions in MADVR and it made no difference so I guess it could be drivers.

Anyone else out there with an crappy RX 550 who can share their settings / experiences?

time for a new card maybe, used RX 480/580 maybe.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 22:54   #49069  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
can someone help me understand this.
You'll most likely need to post screenshots of the MadVR OSD for anyone to be able to see what's going wrong.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:19   #49070  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 883
Ive just reinstalled MADVR and i'm back to reasonable rendering times and smooth playback now, getting about 33ms for 4k/4k HDR stuff, still running my card over 90% though, MADVR really doesnt like my RX 550.


what is odd however is if I tick all the perf vs quality ticks it make pretty much zero difference, should this be doing something here?


https://www.dropbox.com/s/6i5qpd5orr...23%5D.jpg?dl=0
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:21   #49071  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
But what are your GPU clock speeds doing? Render time may stay the same but you're using less power.

Also.. Your screenshot doesn't show me anything obviously set up wrong.. Do you have some image processing on?

Last edited by ryrynz; 19th February 2018 at 23:30.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:22   #49072  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
If you are using HDR -> SDR conversion, perhaps it was set to low quality for preserve highlights before?

Last edited by mytbyte; 19th February 2018 at 23:25.
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:31   #49073  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
The new high quality preserve hue doesn't use much above the processing that was required for low/normal quality.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:35   #49074  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 883
I have a HDR TV so i'm passing through, i'm not doing any processing, using stock settings apart from those already mentioned. Playback is smooth even though its hammering my card.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:39   #49075  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 883
actually, i'm using dithering ED 2 which does add about 5 ms on top of ordered and 10ms on top of no dithering but I always use this.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:40   #49076  |  Link
mytbyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
The new high quality preserve hue doesn't use much above the processing that was required for low/normal quality.
Not so sure, say, on s GTX 960, it's the same as has always been with HFS HDR - stuttering, render times too high for 60 fps video...
mytbyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2018, 23:57   #49077  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 883
what is it that most effectively determines the power of a GPU in MADVR, processing units, shaderss?, looking at these stats should I expect a more than double performance out of an RX470, how do we think these cards scale real life, worth the upgrade?


Radeon RX 570 Radeon RX 550
GPU Name Ellesmere (Ellesmere PRO) vs Polaris 12 (Baffin XT)
Fab Process 14 nm vs 14 nm
Die Size 232 mm² vs 0 mm²
Transistors 5,700 million vs unknown
Shaders 2048 vs 640
Compute Units 32 vs 10
Core clock 926 MHz vs 1125 MHz
ROPs 32 vs 16
TMUs 128 vs 40
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2018, 00:00   #49078  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 883
although now is clearly not the time to be buying a GFX card....
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2018, 00:01   #49079  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
lavfilter can't decode DVD by it self it is using the MS decoder.
Thanks, I did not know that. Just so we're clear, you do mean video decoding, and not the navigator? Does that also apply if the DVD is deCSS'd?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post
Perhaps el filou has some truly progressive PAL DVDs? A run through mediainfo would reveal the truth?
I checked 2 of the last DVDs I bought (= format was mature & they probably were mastered correctly): No Country for Old Men, and Zodiac; both R2 french.
MediaInfo says progressive for all VOBs of NCfOM, and if I play the main feature from the start it indeed plays as progressive ("deinterlacing off (says upstream)"), like in the screenshot of the Paramount Vantage logo intro I took of it for steakhutzeee).
For Zodiac, MediaInfo says interlaced for the 1st VOB but progressive for the others. If I play the main feature from the start it plays as interlaced ("deinterlacing on (says upstream)"), but if I play the second VOB directly it plays as progressive.
I know MediaInfo only looks at the start of the file, and there's a ~12 second Warner logo intro clip at the start, I guess it's probably flagged as interlaced even though it isn't (no artifacts when I force weave on it).

I suspect what's happening is the decoder isn't detecting when the frame flags change from interlaced to progressive, like when you go from the menu to the main feature or when a main feature has interlaced intro clips, and that's why I have to stop after the feature has started and then resume from where I left to have my DVDs automatically play as progressive.
I clearly remember when I used the old NVIDIA PureVideo MPEG2 decoder 10 years ago, it was switching between interlaced and progressive on the fly with my DVDs.
I'll continue this discussion in the LAV thread to ask nevcairiel.

(for the anecdote, I have only one PAL DVD in my collection that I can't watch in progressive: The Abyss Extended Edition, R2 belgian. I don't know what the hell happened when they mastered that thing Edit: actually I know, only the extended sequences are interlaced, and they're true interlaced because I get jaggies)
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti

Last edited by el Filou; 20th February 2018 at 01:27.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2018, 03:03   #49080  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
actually, i'm using dithering ED 2 which does add about 5 ms on top of ordered and 10ms on top of no dithering but I always use this.
By picture processing I'm meaning Sharpening, RCA, AR etc. Check both before (device) and after upscaling. Might be best to just switch your settings out and test fresh.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.