Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st September 2008, 15:47   #581  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
mkvmerge can't seem to handle ac3/e-ac3 files that are 2gb or larger. it just does this:

mkvmerge v2.3.0 ('Freak U') built on Sep 17 2008 09:50:38
'E:\1.eac3': Using the AC3 demultiplexer.
'E:\1.eac3' track 0: Using the EAC3 output module.
The file 'E:\1.mka' has been opened for writing.
Muxing took 1 second.

i tried cutting the file so it was just over 2gb and muxing failed. then i tried cutting it so it was just under 2gb and muxing worked fine.
shambles is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 16:02   #582  |  Link
zeropc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 113
here is the os x version of mkvtoolnix 2.3.0.

special thanks to ritsuki for compiling it

http://www.mediafire.com/?nyxccrlz62t
zeropc is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 16:17   #583  |  Link
kurt
sidekick
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: old Europe
Posts: 610
remuxing of evobs (vc1) is not possible, is it?

Quote:
mkvmerge v2.3.0 ('Freak U') built on Sep 20 2008 17:46:07

Error: 'I64d' is not a valid file ID in '--track-order 0:I64d'.
the audio tracks also don't seem to be recognized...

I'm uploading a sample, will edit the link here...
__________________
greets, kurt.
Pioneer PDP-427 XA | Popcorn Hour NMT C-200 | Sony STR-DB 840 QS | Canton Ergo 91 DC

Last edited by kurt; 21st September 2008 at 16:19.
kurt is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 16:19   #584  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by shambles View Post
mkvmerge can't seem to handle ac3/e-ac3 files that are 2gb or larger.
Thanks for noticing, fixed in this build: http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20080921-2.rar
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 21st September 2008, 16:20   #585  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt View Post
remuxing of evobs (vc1) is not possible, is it?
Yes, it is.

Quote:
Error: 'I64d' is not a valid file ID in '--track-order 0:I64d'.
!? I'm guessing you're using mmg. Which Windows version are you using?
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 21st September 2008, 16:35   #586  |  Link
shambles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Thanks for noticing, fixed in this build: http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20080921-2.rar
thanks :D works fine in the new build
shambles is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 16:56   #587  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Loading these files in mmg fails with v2.3.0-build20080921-2.
It worked with v2.3.0-build20080920-1.

sample1
sample2
yonta is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 17:00   #588  |  Link
kurt
sidekick
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: old Europe
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Yes, it is.



!? I'm guessing you're using mmg. Which Windows version are you using?
sorry my fault, I made a mistake during installation. vc1 recognition it is working now
__________________
greets, kurt.
Pioneer PDP-427 XA | Popcorn Hour NMT C-200 | Sony STR-DB 840 QS | Canton Ergo 91 DC
kurt is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 17:23   #589  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
Loading these files in mmg fails with v2.3.0-build20080921-2.
It worked with v2.3.0-build20080920-1.
Thanks, fixed in this build: http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20080921-3.rar
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 21st September 2008, 17:38   #590  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
WOW!
You are fast!

Now mmg doen't hang but reads all tracks except AVC video?
yonta is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 18:10   #591  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
Now mmg doen't hang but reads all tracks except AVC video?
Doh! Fixed in http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20080921-4.rar
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 21st September 2008, 21:49   #592  |  Link
Tima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk
Posts: 170
Some timecode-related issues:

1) I demuxed an AC3 stream from some MKV file, then extracted timecodes for it. When I try to remux this AC3 to separate MKV with it's own (well, corrected) timecodes, after the process completion mkvmerge warns me that frame count in AC3 is greater then count of provided timecodes.

2) I demuxed two AC3 streams and two srt subtitles from the movie to separate MKA file. Now when I try to extract timecodes for any of these two AC3 streams, mkvextract returns a file with header only (no timecodes at all)! When extracting timecodes for these streams from the main movie, it works OK.

3)From mkvmerge documentation:

Code:
In this format each line contains a timecode for the next frame.
Shouldn't 'next' be 'current' here?
Tima is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 21:59   #593  |  Link
Devilman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 102
I try to download this last build (mkvtoolnix-unicode-2.3.0-build20080921-4.rar) but I always receive the message that the file is not found.

Bye

Carlo
Devilman1 is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 22:08   #594  |  Link
Mtz
Registered User
 
Mtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On The Beach
Posts: 713
Maybe Mosu is working on a new build. Have some patience.

enjoy,
Mtz
Mtz is offline  
Old 21st September 2008, 22:09   #595  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tima View Post
Some timecode-related issues:

1) I demuxed an AC3 stream from some MKV file, then extracted timecodes for it. When I try to remux this AC3 to separate MKV with it's own (well, corrected) timecodes, after the process completion mkvmerge warns me that frame count in AC3 is greater then count of provided timecodes.
I cannot reproduce this. I always get exactly as many timecodes in the extracted-timecodes-file as there are frames in the extracted AC3 file. Muxing the extracted AC3 files with the extracted timecodes does not result in a warning.

Quote:
2) I demuxed two AC3 streams and two srt subtitles from the movie to separate MKA file. Now when I try to extract timecodes for any of these two AC3 streams, mkvextract returns a file with header only (no timecodes at all)! When extracting timecodes for these streams from the main movie, it works OK.
Are you perhaps using the wrong track IDs during extraction of the separate MKA files? They're definitely not the same as they're in the "big" original MKV file.

Quote:
3)From mkvmerge documentation:

Code:
In this format each line contains a timecode for the next frame.
Shouldn't 'next' be 'current' here?
Depends on your point of view I'm more of a "the next frame that will be read" person than a "I'm working with the current frame" thinking person. Anyway, each frame gets one timecode from the file.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 21st September 2008, 22:10   #596  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilman1 View Post
I try to download this last build (mkvtoolnix-unicode-2.3.0-build20080921-4.rar) but I always receive the message that the file is not found.
Doh, stupid me. That's because I built it, but I forgot to upload it. That's been fixed now
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 22nd September 2008, 17:52   #597  |  Link
Tima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
I cannot reproduce this. I always get exactly as many timecodes in the extracted-timecodes-file as there are frames in the extracted AC3 file. Muxing the extracted AC3 files with the extracted timecodes does not result in a warning.
I can cut the source file. If an issure will remain with the smaller sample, I can upload it to you -- if you need.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Are you perhaps using the wrong track IDs during extraction of the separate MKA files? They're definitely not the same as they're in the "big" original MKV file.
Yes, I'm aware of this, and used correct IDs for extraction.

I cut a small sample and uploaded it to your ftp -- the file is called 'no-timecode_sample.mka'. It contains only one AC3 stream, and there's no timecode extracted for track with ID 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Depends on your point of view I'm more of a "the next frame that will be read" person than a "I'm working with the current frame" thinking person. Anyway, each frame gets one timecode from the file.
Maybe it'd be okay to change 'next' to 'correspondnig' then? It seems to be a person_type-independent solution
Tima is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 18:33   #598  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tima View Post
I cut a small sample and uploaded it to your ftp -- the file is called 'no-timecode_sample.mka'. It contains only one AC3 stream, and there's no timecode extracted for track with ID 1
Thanks. I found the problem Fixed in http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20080922-1.rar
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:14   #599  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 563
Hello Mosu, thank you for the new version of mkvtoolnix.

Here is a little interface bug in mkvmerge that's been present in 2.2.0 and probably before, and could be easily fixed. It's not critical, but hey !

How to reproduce it:

a) 2 mkv files that have the segment title set (and not to the same value) are needed. So, for instance fileA.mkv which has only one segment, and the segment title is "Title A", and fileB.mkv which also has only one segment, and its segment title is "Title B".
b) take fileA.mkv and drop it in mkvmerge.
c) in the "Global" tab, "Title A" can be seen in the "File/segment title" input field.
c) in the "Input" tab, we press either the "remove" or "rem all" button
d) if we go to the "Global" tab again, we see the "File/segment title" input field still shows "Title A"
e) while in the "Input" tab, we drop fileB.mkv in mkvmerge
f) in the "Global" tab, "File/segment title" input field still shows "Title A" (hasn't been updated to "Title B")

So, that would be it. I'm using mkvmerge on Windows, but I guess this behavior is not platform dependent.

What should happen is:
1. on pressing "remove" or "rem all", the "File/segment title" input field should be cleared
2. after such a remove operation, mkvmerge should still set the "File/segment title" input field when adding mkv files that have it to the input box
KoD is offline  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:51   #600  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 3,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoD View Post
What should happen is:
1. on pressing "remove" or "rem all", the "File/segment title" input field should be cleared
2. after such a remove operation, mkvmerge should still set the "File/segment title" input field when adding mkv files that have it to the input box
No, I don't agree (and I've argued this point time and again). If you want to start over then you'll have to chose "File -> New". This will remove all tracks and clear all input fields. If you only use "Remove all" then mmg assumes you want to keep all the other settings as they are. There are people using mmg exactly that way, and I won't change this behaviour. Sorry
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v56.1.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.